The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

Four-tenths-mile clay oval with 10-degree banking in turns


Friday night, March 27, and Saturday night, March 28


World of Outlaws Late Model Series

800-horsepower, Super Late Model Stock Cars

Support Division:

CRASHCars, an entry level division for production vehicles featuring cartoon-style themes, are part of the action on both Friday and Saturday nights.

Purse and Awards:

$200,000 with $50,000 earmarked for the winner of the Circle K Colossal 100 on Saturday night. Each starter in the 36-car field for the 100-lap finale is guaranteed a minimum of $2,000.

Tentative Schedule:

Friday, March 27

1:00 p.m. Pit Gate Opens

5:00 p.m. Spectator Gates Open

6:30 p.m. WoO Late Model Hot Laps

7:10 p.m. CRASHCar Heat Races

7:30 p.m. WoO Late Model Group Qualifying

8:15 p.m. Opening Ceremonies

8:25 p.m. CRASHCar Feature (15 laps)

8:40 p.m. WoO Late Model Heat Races

10:10 p.m. C Features (Top 2 transfer to B Features)

Saturday, March 28

1:00 p.m. Pit Gate Opens

4:30 p.m. Early Entry for Circle K Driver Autograph Session (Guests must have ticket and a Thirst Buster Cup of any size) 5:00 p.m. Spectator Gates Open 6:30 p.m. Opening Ceremonies 6:40 p.m. CRASHCar Heat Races 7:20 p.m. B Features 8:20 p.m. CRASHCar Feature (15 laps) 8:40 p.m. CHARLOTTE 30 (30 laps) 9:00 p.m. Circle K Colossal 100 Feature (100 laps)


The top-three finishers in each of the eight heat races advance directly to the main event and they will draw for starting positions. There will be two C Features. Cars finishing first and second will advance to one of the two B Features. Cars finishing first through fourth in each of the B features will advance to the championship event, and cars finishing fifth through 18th will transfer to the Charlotte 30, a 30-lap non-qualifiers race that pays $2,000 to win.


More than 80 of the nation's top dirt late model drivers are expected to compete in the Circle K Colossal 100. The entry list reads like a "Who's Who" of dirt late model racing and includes: Scott Bloomquist, Billy Moyer, Donnie Moran, Josh Richards, Steve Francis, Rick Eckert, Shannon Babb, Chub Frank, Clint Smith, Shane Clanton, Earl Pearson Jr., Darrell Lanigan, Dale McDowell and Ken Schrader.

Event History:

Dirt-racing legend Steve Francis collected a $50,000 first-place paycheck as the 2008 Circle K Colossal 100 winner. The Ashland, Ky., driver started from the pole, and managed to stretch his fuel mileage to lead the entire race.

Francis survived 16 caution flags to take the win and became the first driver to lead the Circle K Colossal 100 from start to finish. As Francis was cruising at the front, Chris Madden was charging through the field and settled for the $20,000 runner-up prize for the second-consecutive year, while Josh Richards started 13th and earned $10,000 for finishing third.

Track History:

The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway is a state-of-the-art, stadium-style motorsports facility with a seating capacity of more than 14,000. Opened in May of 2000, the track plays host each season to the nation's top touring dirt-track series. The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway is located 12 miles north of downtown Charlotte, directly across Highway 29 from Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Autograph Session:

Circle K will host a driver autograph session starting at 4:30 p.m. on Saturday, March 28. In order to gain admission to the Circle K Pit Party, fans must present an event ticket along with a Thirst Buster Cup of any size, which can be purchased at any area Circle K store.

Ticket Info:

Reserved tickets for both Friday and Saturday nights of the Circle K Colossal 100 are $39 for adults and $10 for children ages 12 and under.

Single-day adult tickets are $15 for Friday and $35 for Saturday. Children are admitted for $5 on Friday and Saturday. Tickets can be purchased by calling 1-800-455-FANS or online at www.charlottemotorspeedway.com/colossal.