NASCAR NEXTEL All-Star Challenge Fast Facts

Location: Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

Date: Saturday, May 21, 2005

Time: 9:00 p.m. (EDT)

Sanctioning Body: NASCAR, Daytona Beach, Fla.

Series: NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series - Special Non-Points Event

Companion Races: NEXTEL Open - NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Circle K CRASHCars presented by Full Throttle Energy Drink 600 Racing Legends Cars

Distance: 90 laps, 135 miles (run in three segments of 40 laps, 30 laps and 20 laps). Teams must make a mandatory green-flag, four-tire pit stop during the first segment. This stop must be made after the completion of lap 14 and before the completion of lap 16. Pit stops made during cautions will not count toward this pit stop requirement.

Between segment 1 and segment 2, there will be a 10-minute break during which a random drawing will determine if as few as six or as many as 12 cars will be inverted. Teams will pit and may elect to change tires, add fuel and make normal chassis adjustments. Changing of springs, shock absorbers or rear-ends will not be permitted.

Between segment 2 and segment 3 there will be a yellow flag during which teams may elect to pit. They may add fuel, change tires and make normal chassis adjustments. Teams pitting will not retain their position and will restart at the rear of the field in the order they leave pit road. Only green flag laps count during the third segment. All restarts will be double file and lapped cars will start at the rear.

Purse: $3,216,700 (event record) NEXTEL All-Star Challenge winner's purse: $1,004,350 Segment Winner Bonuses: 1st, $75,000; 2nd $20,000; 3rd, $10,000

Radio/Television: Motor Racing Network (MRN) will broadcast the race live to its affiliate stations beginning at 6:45 p.m. (EDT). MRN's broadcast can also be heard on XM Satellite Radio channel 144. Cable channel FX will televise the NASCAR NEXTEL All-Star Challenge live. Pre-race coverage begins at 7:00 p.m. (EDT) and will also include coverage of the NASCAR NEXTEL Open.

2004 Winner: Matt Kenseth, Dewalt Tools Ford

Qualifying: One round of qualifying will be held Friday, May 20, at 7:10 p.m. (EDT). Each driver will run three laps with a mandatory four-tire, pit stop. The total elapsed time will comprise each team's qualifying effort and the pole-winning team will earn $50,000.

2004 Pole Sitter: Rusty Wallace, Miller Lite Dodge, 123.998 seconds, 130.647 mph Total elapsed time of three laps, including a four-tire pit stop

Eligibility List:
Dale Earnhardt Jr. -- 2004 Daytona 500, Daytona Beach, Fla.
Matt Kenseth -- 2004 Subway 400, Rockingham, N.C.
Jimmie Johnson -- 2004 Carolina Dodge Dealers 400, Darlington, S.C.
Kurt Busch -- 2004 Food City 500, Bristol, Tenn.
Elliott Sadler -- 2004 Samsung/Radio Shack 500, Ft. Worth, Texas Rusty Wallace -- 2004 Advance Auto Parts 500, Martinsville, Va.
Jeff Gordon -- 2004 Aaron's 499, Talladega, Ala.
Mark Martin -- 2004 MBNA 400, Dover, Del.
Ryan Newman -- 2004 DHL 400, Brooklyn, Mich.
Tony Stewart -- 2004 Tropicana 400, Joliet, Ill.
Greg Biffle -- 2004 GFS Marketplace 400, Brooklyn, Mich.
Jeremy Mayfield -- 2004 Chevy Rock & Roll 400, Richmond, Va.
Joe Nemechek -- 2004 Banquet 400, Kansas City, Kan.
Carl Edwards -- 2005 Golden Corral 500, Hampton, Ga.
Kevin Harvick -- 2005 Food City 500, Bristol, Tenn.
Terry Labonte -- 1996 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Champion Dale Jarrett -- 1999
NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Champion Bobby Labonte-- 2000 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Champion Michael Waltrip -- 1996 NASCAR NEXTEL All-Star Challenge Winner TBD -- 2005 NEXTEL Open Winner TBD -- Fan Vote

Tickets: Tickets for the NASCAR NEXTEL All-Star Challenge start at $33 and include the NEXTEL Open and a pre-race concert by The Black Crowes. To purchase tickets, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS or online at