Jess Mattox used his front bumper to move leader Chrissy Wallace out of the way coming out of the final turn, but it was not quite enough as the two crossed the stripe in a dead heat Tuesday during the Cabarrus Family Medicine Legends Car Semi-Pro division feature on opening night of the 12th annual Hardee's Summer Shootout at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Track officials reviewed digital video of the finish several times before declaring Mattox of Waycross, Ga., and Wallace, daughter of NASCAR veteran Mike Wallace and a Concord, N.C., resident, co-winners of the race that was shortened to 14 laps due to time constraints.

Casey Dohm had the best seat for the last-lap battle as he crossed the stripe third with Keith Breasbois and Jake Crum next under the checkered flag in the 28-car field.

With a record 217 cars jamming the pit area, third-generation racer Chase Pistone topped the 20-lap feature for the Centex Homes Legends Car Pro division and it was only fitting that Bobby Wallace drove the red-white-and-blue bus to victory in the wild-and-wacky RACEceiver school bus battle.

Pistone started eighth in the 27-car Pro division feature and battled bumper-to-bumper and fender-to-fender with Michael Van Wingerden for much of the race. However, that battle came to an end when Van Wingerden was hit from behind by another car and spun, leaving Pistone to claim the victory over Ben Stancill and Beau Slocumb. C.E. Falk II and Tolliver Smith completed the first five at the pay window.

Doing double duty, Van Wingerden had better luck in the 20-lap feature for the Duragloss Thunder Roadsters as he emerged from a three-wide battle on lap four and cruised to victory. Ryan Zeck turned in the drive of the evening, moving from the 19th starting spot to take runner-up honors. Thomas Van Wingerden, the winner's brother, finished third with Darel Krentz and Mark Miller completing the top five.

Randy Thornton took the lead on lap two and held off Brain Wiemer to win the 20-lap feature for the Verizon Wireless Legends Car Masters division. John Barilka finished third in the division for drivers 40 years of age and older with Eddie Harwell and George "Cotton" Spry completing the top five. Defending champion Clay Hair charged back from a lap-one spin to finish sixth in the 22-car field.

Eleven-year-old Darrell Wallace Jr. of Concord, N.C., went wire-to-wire in winning the 20-lap feature for the Lucas Oil Bandolero Bandits. Wallace Jr. started from the pole in the 28-car field and was never seriously challenged. Austin Hill claimed runner-up honors with Max Gresham third and Nicholas Stroupe fourth. Ryan Blaney, son of NASCAR NEXTEL Cup driver Dave Blaney, sliced through the field from the 21st starting spot to finish fifth.

Brandon McReynolds, the 14-year-old son of former NASCAR crew chief and current FOX commentator Larry McReynolds, was the class of the field in the 20-lap finale for the Lucas Oil Bandolero Young Guns. The Mooresville, N.C., driver lined up second in the 26-car field, took the lead on lap four and never looked back. Cole Miktuk settled for second with defending Young Guns champion Tyler Green, son of NASCAR veteran Mark Green, third. Mitchell Coble and Josh Butler completed the top five as the race was shortened to 13 laps due to the time limit.

Following in the tire tracks of several top drivers from the Keystone state, Eric Redmond of Girard, Pa., emerged from a three-car battle to win the 20-lap feature for the Lucas Oil Bandolero Outlaw division. Defending champion Bruce Benson II settled for runner-up honors with Randy Spencer third under the checkered flag.

The 12th annual Hardee's Summer Shootout continues Tuesday night, June 21, with Amoco Ultimate hosting the action. In addition to the regular racing divisions, Charlotte Motor Speedway's radical CRASHCar division will make its Hardee's Summer Shootout debut. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30.

The results:

Centex Homes Legends Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Chase Pistone; 2. Ben Stancill; 3. Beau Slocumb; 4. Thomas Van Wingerden; 5. C.E. Falk III; 6. Tolliver Smith; 7. Jason Reisman; 8. Tim Andrews; 9. Chris Eggleston; 10. John Gottsacker; 11. Josh Waring; 12. Jeremy Colangelo; 13. Jesse Bunnell; 14. Daniel Kraus; 15. Alex Haase; 16. Brent Seeley; 17. Max Smith; 18. Scott Knox; 19. Tiffany Daniels; 20. Mark Whitley; 21. Derek Frohlich; 22. Michael Van Wingerden; 23. Chris Rogers; 24. Travis Pennington; 25. Davin Scites; 26. Louis Hawkins; 27. Jason Oswald.

Duragloss Thunder Roadster Feature (20 laps): 1. Michael Van Wingerden; 2. Ryan Zeck; 3. Thomas Van Wingerden; 4. Darel Krentz; 5. Mark Miller; 6. Jim Gresham; 7. Hunt Dyer; 8. Andrew Rogers; 9. David Sugg; 10. Chrissy Wallace; 11. Jim Fluharty; 12. Tom Van Wingerden; 13. Scott Whitaker; 14. Terry Horak; 15. Adam Welch; 16. Roger Simons; 17. Chase Hitchcock; 18. Jon Michael; 19. Ashleigh Wilkins; 20. Eric Harrington; 21. Kyle Beattie; 22. Buddy Compton.

Cabarrus Family Medicine Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (14 laps): 1. Chrissy Wallace and Jeff Mattox (dead heat); 3. Casey Dohm; 4. Keith Breasbois; 5. Jake Crum; 6. Andrew Carlsen; 7. Brennan Poole; 8. Kyle Fowler; 9. Kory Abbot; 10. Drew Denham; 11. Collier Jones; 12. Josh Sell; 13. Steven Abbey; 14. Dustin Genebacher; 15. Chris Buescher; 16. Corey LaJoie; 17. Patrick McVay; 18. Travis Beam; 19. D.J. Vanderlay; 20. Matt Bowers; 21. Brandon Weber; 22. Ryan Jernigan; 23. Kevin Eskew; 24. Trevor Bayne; 25. Brandon Thomson; 26. Jordan Anderson; 27. Steven Daniels; 28. James Buescher.

Verizon Wireless Legends Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. Randy Thornton; 2. Brian Wiemer; 3. John Barilka; 4. Eddie Harwell; 5. George "Cotton" Spry; 6. Clay Hair; 7. John Sossoman; 8. Phil Sharpe; 9. Dr. Mark Moskowitz; 10. Todd Johnson; 11. Jan Ingram; 12. Jeff Jordan; 13. Chris Carlsen; 14. Dennis White; 15. Bobby Pence; 16. Ronnie Laney; 17. Bill Gardner; 18. Roger Hefner; 19. Jeff Turner; 20. Bill Mathers; 21. Chuck Dohm; 22. Tom Van Wingerden.

Lucas Oil Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Eric Redmond; 2. Bruce Benson II; 3. Randy Spencer; 4. Kara Clarke; 5. Jason Haynes; 6. Ryan Salomon; 7. Marcus Limehouse; 8. Tim Keener; 9. Ashleigh Wilkins; 10. Benny Mingo; 11. Duke Furr; 12. Tina Johnson; 13. Artie Clever; 14. Tyler Winters; 15. Chris Morgan; 16. Charles Long Jr.; 17. Jennifer Spain; 18. Dawn Eagens; 19. Robin Metdepenningen; 20. Derrick Long.

Lucas Oil Bandolero Young Guns Feature (13 laps): 1. Brandon McReynolds; 2. Cole Miktuk; 3. Tyler Green; 4. Mitchell Coble; 5. Josh Butler; 6. John Ellenburg; 7. Ryan Glenski; 8. Daniel Hemric; 9. Nick Hoffman; 10. Justin Kraemer; 11. Austin Dillon; 12. Sam McAulay; 13. Kenny Brown; 14. Christopher Moore; 15. Ty Dillon; 16. Bailey Freeman; 17. Trevor Cauble; 18. Josh Jenkins; 19. Clay Winters; 20. Trevor Farbo; 21. John Stancill; 22. Amanda Harrell; 23. Jake Morris; 24. Kenny Brown; 25. Matthew Stover; 26. J.R. Allen; 27. Ryan Rust; 28. Robby Innella.

Lucas Oil Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Darrell Wallace Jr.; 2. Austin Hill; 3. Max Gresham; 4. Nicholas Stroupe; 5. Ryan Blaney; 6. Matthew Linker; 7. Blake Eden; 8. William Nelson; 9. Jordan Phillips; 10. Peyton Durflinger; 11. Casey LaJoie; 12. Jacob Harrell; 13. Derrick Ramey; 14. Landon Bullock; 15. Gerald White Jr.; 16. C.J. Faison; 17. Stephen Bergh Jr.; 18. Corey Gordon; 19. Tyler Pennington; 20. Ronnie Bassett Jr.; 21. Clint King; 22. Matt Wallace; 23. Dax Triplett; 24. Noah Clark; 25. Dillon Bassett; 26. Tyler Reddick; 27. Robert Poole; 28. Meghan Dillner.