When the big money is on the line, dirt late model legend Scott Bloomquist is on top of his game.

And the Mooresburg, Tenn., veteran added $50,000 to his bank account Saturday night, out battling Chris Madden, of Gaffney, S.C., to win the Circle K Colossal 100 for the second consecutive year at The Dirt Track @ Lowe's Motor Speedway.

"That was anything but easy," Bloomquist said in victory lane. "We took our time early. We knew it was going to be a long race, and then the stud broke on the carburetor and I lost my air cleaner. I hoped it wouldn't get too much dirt in it and eat up the motor. But it held together and I don't think it has too much damage."

Madden passed Bloomquist on a lap 73 restart and appeared headed for victory in the 100-lap race. However, another caution flag was unfurled on lap 84 and Bloomquist was able to drive back around his protégé on the restart, taking command for the final time.

"When I slid on the restart before the last one, that kind of made my tires give up a tick and it might have been rough on us had it stayed green," Bloomquist admitted.

Madden, who has three late model victories at The Dirt Track, made a final-lap charge at Bloomquist, but fell short in the 360 OTC World of Outlaws Late Model Series event.

"The car was good in clean air, and whoever could get out front could pick their line," said Madden, who settled for the $20,000 runner-up pay.

While Bloomquist and Madden exchanged the lead five times, Jimmy Owens was slicing through the field like a hot knife through butter. After starting his night in the second C feature, the Newport, Tenn., driver lined up 32nd in the 36-car main event and took third from defending series champion Tim McCreadie on the final lap. In addition to claiming $10,000 for his evening's work, Owens earned a one-year membership in The Speedway Club at Lowe's Motor Speedway for being the race's hard charger.

Interestingly, each of the top three drivers was wheeling a Bloomquist chassis.

"It's pretty nice to have one, two and three with these boys," Bloomquist said. "And to have this order is the way I like it! I've got to take my hat off to Chris and Jimmy. Jimmy came from back, and Chris was really strong."

McCreadie lined up 19th and charged forward to finish fourth with World of Outlaws points leader Shannon Babb completing the top-five.

The 100-lap race was slowed by 11 caution flags for several inconsequential incidents such as spins, flat tires and cars stopping due to mechanical failures.

Veteran Jack Pennington, of Carnesville, Ga., emerged victorious in the first 25-lap B feature that sent the top six finishers to the 100-lap finale. In the second 25-lap B feature, Kellen Chadwick, of Oakley, Calif., held off Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame member Donnie Moran to claim the victory.

The twin 20-lap C features were won by Owens and Chatham, Ill., resident Brian Shirley, driving NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series veteran Ken Schrader's No. 99 entry.

The most serious incident of the evening came during the second C feature when Robert Fletcher flipped violently entering Turn 3. The Catlettsburg, Ky., driver was not injured, but his car was heavily damaged.

Darrell Lanigan's team earned the Motorsports Designs Best Appearing Team Award which recognized the most professional appearing team from among the 92 competitors. The team received $500 cash and $5,000 off of a Motorsports Designs trailer wrap.

Kenneth Deese, of Monroe, N.C., picked up where he left Friday night, wheeling the No. 3 Big Show entry to victory in the 15-lap CRASHCar feature for the second consecutive night.

Deese started fourth and took the lead on lap 10 after a spirited battle with Mike Scarborough in the No. 1 Chowderhead machine and the No. 10 Miss DeMeanor driven by Jennifer Petrea.

Once in front, Deese went on to record his sixth career CRASHCar victory at The Dirt Track in the caution-free event. Scarborough settled for second and Petrea took the checkered flag third.

The Dirt Track returns to action Friday night, May 25, during Coca-Cola 600 Week. The winged sprint cars of the World of Outlaws Sprint Series and the late models of the Goodyear Fastrak Challenge are on the action-packed card.

Tickets can be purchased by calling the Lowe's Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS or online at www.charlottemotorspeedway.com.

The results:

First C Feature (20 laps): 1. Brian Shirley; 2. Shannon Buckingham; 3. Scott Shirey; 4. Jason Dupont; 5. Chris Hackett; 6. Dave Hess Jr.; 7. Darin Duffy; 8. Damon Eller; 9. Furman Parton; 10. Lewis Hudson; 11. Brady Smith.

Second C Feature (20 laps): 1. Jimmy Owens; 2. Greggie Oliver; 3. Ricky Elliott; 4. Jayme Zidar; 5. Al Shawver Jr.; 6. Jill George; 7. Zack Forster; 8. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth; 9. Robert Fletcher; 10. Keith Barbara; 11. Matt Dillard; 12. Brian Nuttall.

First B Feature (25 laps): 1. Jack Pennington; 2. Steve Shaver; 3. Mike Balzano; 4. Billy Moyer; 5. Brian Shirley; 6. Shannon Buckingham; 7. Jeremy Miller; 8. D.J. Miller; 9. Scott Shirey; 10. Jason Dupont; 11. Austin Dillon; 12. Bruce Hall; 13. Brian Birkhofer; 14. Josh McGuire; 15. Ray Cook; 16. Jeff Smith; 17. Eric Jacobsen; 18. Bobby Hogge IV; 19. Ed Basey; 20. Larry Blankenship; 21. David Scott; 22. Jeff Cooke; 23. Robert Sanders.

Second B Feature (25 laps): 1. Kellen Chadwick; 2. Donnie Moran; 3. Eddie Carrier Jr.; 4. Jimmy Mars; 5. Jimmy Owens; 6. Wendell Wallace; 7. Tim Fuller; 8. Rick Rickman; 9. Petey Ivey; 10. Derek Ellis; 11. Danny Breuer; 12. Eddie Rickman; 13. G.R. Smith; 14. Ricky Elliott; 15. Jeep VanWormer; 16. Garrett Durrett; 17. Bob Gordon; 18. Jayme Zidar; 19. Greggie Oliver; 20. Chad Ruhlman; 21. Shane Clanton; 22. Walker Arthur; 23. Doug Sanders.

Circle K Colossal 100 (100 laps): 1. Scott Bloomquist; 2. Chris Madden; 3. Jimmy Owens; 4. Tim McCreadie; 5. Shannon Babb; 6. Steve Francis; 7. Steve Shaver; 8. Earl Pearson Jr.; 9. Mike Balzano; 10. Darrell Lanigan; 11. Michael England; 12. Ricky Weeks; 13. Dale McDowell; 14. Jackie Boggs; 15. Shane Clanton; 16. Ben Adkins; 17. Eddie Carrier Jr.; 18. John Blankenship; 19. Brian Shirley; 20. Clint Smith; 21. Kellen Chadwick; 22. Brian Birkhofer; 23. Wendell Wallace; 24. Jack Pennington; 25. Billy Moyer; 26. Dennis "Rambo" Franklin; 27. Dan Schlieper; 28. Josh Richards; 29. Chuck Harper; 30. Jimmy Mars; 31. Shannon Buckingham; 32. Donnie Moran; 33. Chub Frank; 34. Rick Eckert; 35. Jeremy Clements; 36. Ray Cook.