The world's best sprint car drivers will be in the spotlight on Friday night of Coca-Cola 600 Week as the nomadic World of Outlaws Sprint Series returns to The Dirt Track @ Lowe's Motor Speedway for the May 25 Eckerd Outlaw Showdown.

Among those expected to challenge for the $10,000 first-place prize are 20-time series champion Steve Kinser, defending series titlist Donny Schatz and 2001 champ Danny Lasoski. In fact, the World of Outlaws driver roster currently features the most impressive line-up of regulars since the series began barnstorming the nation's dirt tracks in 1978.

"The Eckerd Outlaw Showdown will feature the most competitive field of sprint cars we've ever had at The Dirt Track," said H.A. "Humpy" Wheeler, president and general manager of Lowe's Motor Speedway. "The winged sprint cars always put on a tremendous show and this event is the perfect way for NASCAR fans to round out their Coca-Cola 600 experience."

Second-generation sprint car driver Joey Saldana has been an early season surprise, winning four World of Outlaws races in the series' first two months. Driving the No. 9 sprint car owned by NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series driver Kasey Kahne, Saldana will be looking to impress his boss with a strong showing in the Eckerd Outlaw Showdown.

Two-time NEXTEL Cup champion Tony Stewart will also be in the pit area on Friday night, May 25, but the versatile driver won't be behind the wheel. Instead, he'll be overseeing the No. 20 sprint car he fields for veteran Paul McMahan.

Daryn Pittman, Craig Dollansky, Terry McCarl, Brooke Tatnell, Tim Kaeding, Kerry Madsen, Jac Haudenschild, Tim Shaffer and Jason Meyers are also among those expected to challenge for the lion's share of the $68,450 in posted prize money.

The late model stock cars of the Goodyear Fastrak Challenge will join the sprint cars during the action-packed program when racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

Reserved seats for the Eckerd Outlaw Showdown on Friday night, May 25, are just $25 for adults and $10 for children ages 12 and under. They can be purchased by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS or online here.