"Singing in the Rain" was the theme Tuesday night as Fractured Prune presented round five of the 15th annual Quaker Steak & Lube Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

A torrential downpour during the preliminary races and continued showers throughout much of the program produced tricky track conditions that forced drivers to use extreme caution and resulted in officials canceling three of the nine main events.

Normally, rain wreaks havoc with hair, but veteran racer Clay Hair disproved that theory as the Mt. Pleasant, N.C., driver sloshed to his third consecutive victory in the 20-lap feature for the Coke Classic Legends Car Masters division.

Hair, the defending champion in the series for drivers ages 40 and over, started fourth in the 24-car field and drove around Hoyt Demis on lap six to take the lead. Once in front, Hair cruised to the 31st feature victory of his Summer Shootout career.

Demis held on to record his best finish of the season in second with Eddie Harwell third under the checkered flag. Despite winning three straight, Hair still trails two-time winner John Sossoman by 27 points in the championship chase.

Justin Grimes proved to be the class of the field in the 20-lap feature for the Vault Legends Car Young Lions division as the North Wilkesboro, N.C., resident claimed his first feature victory.

Grimes started fourth and assumed command following a lap-two caution flag when he used a daring move, diving under leader Sean Shalvoy and second-place Dylan Presnell heading into Turn 1. Once in front, Grimes held off repeated challenges from Austin Leitnes, who ran second most of the race but literally slipped to third on the final lap. Devin Jones ended up second in the division for drivers with limited Legends Car experience.

Unlike the rest of the field in the Cherry Coke Bandolero Outlaws division, Bailey Daniels managed to stay on the race track and captured her first victory of the season in the 20-lap main event for Bandolero drivers ages 16 and over.

Daniels dared to choose the outside lane during a mid-race restart and assumed command after leader Kenny Brown spun in Turn 3 and lost three positions.

Week-one winner Chris Morgan stayed close to Daniels during the closing laps but was unable to pass and settled for second. Kayla Turner was third under the checkered flag.

In the "NASCAR RaceDay" School Bus Challenge, Jimmy Spencer sputtered; Kenny Wallace wobbled; John Roberts retired; and Rutlege Wood was just happy to be here. But in the end, second-generation racer Wendy Venturini celebrated on the victory podium. The SPEED Channel personalities joined Lug Nut, the world's fastest mascot, and "Mean Megan" Hazel in a seven-bus slobberknocker on the quarter-mile frontstretch oval.

Spencer started at the rear of the field, but quickly made his way to the front and traded the point with Kenny Wallace early in the race. But when Roberts stalled in Turn 4 because of engine problems, Venturini pushed her purple flower-power machine past Wallace and cruised to her second career School Bus victory. Wallace settled for second with Lug Nut coming in third in the eight-lap special event.

Daniel Hemric, of Kannapolis, N.C., led every lap en route to his first victory of the season in the 20-lap feature for the Pull-A-Part Legends Car Pro division while Jordon Penninger, of Cornelius, N.C., also visited victory lane for the first time in the 20-lap run for the Coke Zero Legends Car Semi-Pro division.

The wet track conditions forced officials to cancel the main events for the POWERade Bandolero Bandits, Sprite Bandolero Young Guns and Full Throttle Thunder Cars.

Championship battles will begin to bloom Tuesday night, July 15, as Metrolina Greenhouses presents round six of the 10-race Quaker Steak & Lube Summer Shootout Series. In addition to a full slate of Legends Car, Bandolero and Thunder Car racing, the wild and crazy CRASHCars will be back for another fender-banging battle.

Adult tickets are just $7 with children ages 6 to 12 admitted for $3 and kids under 6 are free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7:30. For information, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office or at 1-800-455-FANS or visit www.charlottemotorspeedway.com.

The results:

Pull-A-Part Legends Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. Chris Buescher; 3. Tyler Green; 4. Steven Ross; 5. Jordan Anderson; 6. Steven Abbey; 7. Jesse Bunnell; 8. Christian Pahud; 9. Drew Calhoun; 10. Mitchell Coble; 11. Ryan Bird; 12. Nick Carey; 13. Garrett Lancaster; 14. Thomas Van Wingerden; 15. John Ellenburg; 16. Josh Williams; 17. James Kennedy; 18. Andrew Smith; 19. Michael Van Wingerden; 20. Matthew Stover; 21. Daniel Moskowitz; 22. Trey Poole; 23. Parker Hammons; 24. Jimmy Hansen; 25. Scott Knox; 26. Dusty Davis; 27. Jonathon Ross; 28. John Gottsacker.

Coke Classic Legends Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. Clay Hair; 2. Hoyt Demis; 3. Eddie Harwell; 4. Scott Anderson; 5. Phil Sharpe; 6. Bruce Sawicki; 7. Bill Gardner; 8. Tom Van Wingerden; 9. Chuck Dohm; 10. John Sossoman; 11. Charles Kiser; 12. Dennis White; 13. Todd Johnson; 14. Stephen Carter; 15. Jeff Turner; 16. Dr. Gary Shannon; 17. Bruce Silver; 18. David Denham; 19. Bill Bradford; 20. Clayton Austin; 21. Jan Ingram; 22. Will Cagle; 23. Jimmy Gurley; 24. Todd Adams.

Coke Zero Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Jordan Penninger; 2. Sam McAulay; 3. Austin Hill; 4. Jimmy Heavlow; 5. Michael Brown; 6. Justin Lloyd; 7. Chad Hackenbracht; 8. Kyle Pierce; 9. Cody Blackburn; 10. Bryan Silas; 11. Roger Coss; 12. Zach Zimmerly; 13. T. J. Hicks; 14. Justin Swilling; 15. Ryan Blaney; 16. Dennis Kiser; 17. Bailey Freeman; 18. Kara Clarke; 19. Jeffrey Bolen; 20. Ronnie Milroy; 21. Kyle Plott; 22. Currie Pierce; 23. Jerry Lambert; 24. Brock Baldwin; 25. Joey Mattis; 26. Chase Elliott; 27. Ronnie Bassett Jr.; 28. Michael Cooper.

Vault Legends Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Justin Grimes; 2. Devin Jones; 3. Austin Leitnes; 4. Bryce Walker; 5. Harrison Rhodes; 6. Dylan Sawyer; 7. Dylan Presnell; 8. Scott Hensley; 9. Timmy Hill; 10. Hayden Reeves; 11. Dusty Summers; 12. Robert Kuczmarski; 13. Hunter Bledsoe; 14. Kenzie Ruston; 15. Scott Hubler; 16. Sean Harris; 17. Nick Gill; 18. Kyle Resco; 19. Sean Shalvoy; 20. Jordan Stillwell; 21. Mitchell Taylor; 22. Tyler Hanberry; 23. Derrick Hill; 24. Evan Swilling; 25. Chad Cutting.

Cherry Coke Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Bailey Daniels; 2. Chris Morgan; 3. Kayla Turner; 4. Kenny Brown; 5. John Jones IV; 6. Charles Long Jr.; 7. Scott Beaver; 8. Brett Pepicelli; 9. Tim Keener; 10. Ashley Hillenburg.

Full Throttle Thunder Car Feature: Canceled due to wet track conditions.

POWERade Bandolero Bandits Feature: Canceled due to wet track conditions.

Sprite Bandolero Young Guns Feature: Canceled due to wet track conditions.