Storms were brewing on and off the race track Tuesday night as Vault presented round seven of the 10-week Quaker Steak & Lube Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

As lightning flashed in the distance, there was plenty of thunder in the seven main events that were completed before the clouds opened up.

With a championship within reach, John Sossoman proved he is a man on a mission. The veteran racer from Concord, N.C., started fourth in the 20-lap feature for the Coke Classic Legends Car Masters division and had the lead by the time the snarling pack reached Turn 1 on the opening lap.

Once in front, Sossoman never looked back and ran unchallenged to his third victory of the season in the division for drivers ages 40 and over.

Sossoman entered the night with a slim seven-point lead over Clay Hair in the championship chase. When the checkered flag was unfurled, Sossoman had extended that margin to 17 points as Hair settled for second, ending his four-race winning streak.

Hoyt Demis ran third the entire distance with pole-starter David Denham posting his best finish of the season in fourth.

The Full Throttle Thunder Cars returned to the quarter-mile oval for the first time since round one and the Van Wingerden brothers picked up where they left off.

This time, it was older brother Michael Van Wingerden, of Huntersville, N.C., dominating the 20-lap feature, leading from start to finish en route to his first victory of the season.

Younger brother Thomas Van Wingerden, who won the only other previous Thunder Car race on the quarter-mile track, ran second the entire distance while Kara Clarke came home third. Points leader and three-time feature winner Adam Gay finished fourth.

Jimmy Heavlow, of Galena, Md., made a smart decision that resulted in the 15-year-old racer's second victory of the season in the Coke Zero Legends Car Semi-Pro division.

Starting sixth, Heavlow ran near the top five during the early portion of the caution-filled race that was shortened from 20 laps to 11 due to time constraints.

Running fourth at the time, Heavlow chose the outside lane for the green-white-checkered finish and was able to pull alongside leader Austin Hill to restart second.

As the field charged through Turns 1 and 2 on the restart, Heavlow executed a cross-over move to the inside of Hill and completed the pass down the backstretch.

Heavlow hung on for the victory, but as he crossed the finish line a multi-car wreck occurred directly behind him. When the smoke cleared, Ronnie Bassett Jr. was second with Justin Swilling third. Hill came across the line in fourth.

Mason Massey, of Winston, Ga., edged Kason Plott by half a car length to claim his first POWERade Bandolero Bandits victory of the season in the division for racers ages 8 to 11. Massey started fourth in the 28-car field and took the lead on lap 13 after trading paint with race and points leader Clayton Weatherman.

Plott also passed Weatherman and challenged his fellow Peach State racer numerous times during the final seven trips around the quarter-mile oval. Massey, however, was up to the challenge and Plott had to settle for runner-up honors.

Four-time feature winner Dillon Bassett finished third while Weatherman ended up fourth.

In other feature action, 13-year-old Chad Finchum, of Knoxville, Tenn., visited victory lane for the sixth time in the 20-lap run for the Sprite Bandolero Young Guns; Casey Roderick, of Lawrenceville, Ga., made it two in a row in the Pull-A-Part Legends Car Pro division; and defending series champion Paul Sparrow, of Gastonia, N.C., drove the Invader entry to victory in the 12-lap CRASHCar race.

Heavy rain forced officials to postpone the Cherry Coke Bandolero Outlaws and Vault Legends Car Young Lions features until next week.

Fur is sure to fly next Tuesday night during round eight of the 10-race Quaker Steak & Lube Summer Shootout as several area mascots compete in racing's version of "The Fast and the Furriest."

Lug Nut, the World's Fastest Mascot, will be looking to defend his home turf as the mascots battle in equally prepared go-karts provided by the Richard Petty Driving Experience.

Adult tickets are just $7 with children ages 6 to 12 admitted for $3 and kids under 6 are free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7:30. For information, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office or at 1-800-455-FANS or visit

The results:

Pull-A-Part Legends Car Pro Feature (6 laps): 1. Casey Roderick; 2. Jonathan Ross; 3. Tyler Green; 4. Chris Buescher; 5. Mitchell Coble; 6. Daniel Hemric; 7. Michael Van Wingerden; 8. Garrett Lancaster; 9. Steven Ross; 10. Dusty Davis; 11. Jesse Bunnell; 12. Ryan Bird; 13. Steven Abbey; 14. Daniel Moskowitz; 15. James Kennedy; 16. Trey Poole; 17. Stephen Nederostek; 18. Thomas Van Wingerden; 19. Josh Williams; 20. Drew Calhoun; 21. Matthew Stover; 22. Nick Carey; 23. Jordan Anderson; 24. John Ellenburg; 25. Andrew Smith; 26. Scott Knox; 27. Darrell Wallace Jr.; 28. Parker Hammons.

Full Throttle Thunder Car Feature (20 laps): 1. Michael Van Wingerden; 2. Thomas Van Wingerden; 3. Kara Clarke; 4. Adam Gay; 5. Tom Van Wingerden; 6. Jim Fluharty; 7. Tim Pafford.

Coke Classic Legends Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. John Sossoman; 2. Clay Hair; 3. Hoyt Demis; 4. David Denham; 5. Phil Sharpe; 6. Dennis White; 7. Chuck Dohm; 8. Jan Ingram; 9. John Davis; 10. Will Cagle; 11. Todd Johnson; 12. Charles Kiser; 13. Bruce Sawicki; 14. Eddie Harwell; 15. Chip Ferguson; 16. Stephen Carter; 17. Dr. Gary Shannon; 18. Todd Adams; 19. Bill Gardner; 20 Clayton Austin; 21. Bruce Silver; 22. Bill Bradford; 23. Glen Aikenhed; 24. Tom Van Wingerden; 25. Jimmy Gurley.

Coke Zero Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (11 laps): 1. Jimmy Heavlow; 2. Ronnie Bassett Jr.; 3. Justin Swilling; 4. Austin Hill; 5. Trevor Alspach; 6. Jordan Penninger; 7. Justin Lloyd; 8. Mike Alcaro; 9. Jerry Lambert; 10. Cody Blackburn; 11. Michael Brown; 12. Zachary Alspach; 13. Kyle Plott; 14. Roger Coss; 15. Bailey Freeman; 16. Brock Baldwin; 17. Brecken Snow; 18. Jeffrey Bolen; 19. T.J. Hicks; 20. Michael Cooper; 21. Kyle Pierce; 22. Dennis Kiser; 23. Landon Bullock; 24. Chase Elliott; 25. Sam McAulay; 26. Chad Hackenbracht; 27. Ronnie Milroy; 28. Currie Pierce.

POWERade Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Mason Massey; 2. Kason Plott; 3. Dillon Bassett; 4. Clayton Weatherman; 5. Kyle Weatherman; 6. Cole Timm; 7. Brian Kolb; 8. Gray Gaulding; 9. Brady Boswell; 10. Layne Clifton; 11. Jeffery Abbey; 12. Kacey Otto; 13. Jesse Little; 14. Mason Hudson; 15. Tanner Rumburg; 16. John Holleman IV; 17. Grayson Massey; 18. T.J. Michael; 19. Madison Leitner; 20. Ben Klatt; 21. Daniel Bedford; 22. Tyler Dayton; 23. Jordan Plumber; 24. Ray Beebe; 25. Casey Hillenburg; 26. A.J. Davis; 27. Dillon Spain; 28. Dillon Latour.

Sprite Bandolero Young Guns Feature (20 laps): 1. Chad Finchum; 2. Robert Poole; 3. Justin Thomas; 4. Corey Gordon; 5. Noah Triplett; 6. Matthew Linker; 7. Blake Jones; 8. Tyler Hill; 9. Travis Robinson; 10. Austin Langenstein; 11. Cody Humphreys; 12. Chandler LeVan; 13. Chase Ferguson; 14. Jeremy Burch; 15.Tyler Lester; 16. Luke Demis; 17. Benji Hicks; 18. William Cunningham; 19. Brandon Nelson; 20. Myatt Snider; 21. Will Martin; 22. Gregory Lang; 23. Scott Nagel; 24. Matt Wallace; 25. Timmy Hill.

Vault Legends Car Young Lions Feature: Postponed due to rain.

Cherry Coke Bandolero Outlaws Feature: Postponed due to rain.