Daryn Pittman capitalized on Tyler Walker¿s misfortune to win the 30-lap finale of the Charlotte Outlaw Championship presented by BFI Saturday night at The Dirt Track @ Lowe¿s Motor Speedway.

With a standing-room-only crowd of 15,432 cheering, Walker ran away from the field and had a half-lap advantage when his right rear tire exploded just four laps from the checkered flag. Pittman inherited the point and was never seriously challenged during the final four laps.

¿Tyler definitely had the best car all weekend and he had us covered,¿ said Pittman who collected $12,000 for his sixth Pennzoil World of Outlaws sprint car victory of the season. ¿But it¿s tough out here and we¿ll take a win any way we can get it. It¿s a lot of fun to drive the car when it¿s that good. It means a lot to win here in Charlotte and this is obviously a big win for us.¿

Danny Lasoski fought off the pain from an injured right ankle to bring the No. 20 machine owned by NASCAR Winston Cup point leader Tony Stewart home second.

¿Tony Stewart and all my guys really gave me a great race car,¿ said Lasoski, who suffered the ankle injury during Friday night¿s preliminary program. ¿I¿m real proud of them for not giving up on me. It feels like somebody¿s been hitting me with a baseball bat all night.¿

Joey Saldana moved up from the seventh starting spot to claim third place.

¿When you¿re a low budget team like we are, to be able to come out here and run in the top three is great,¿ Saldana explained. ¿Tonight, we just put our heads down and did it.¿

Johnny Herrera, driving a car owned by Rusty Wallace¿s NASCAR Winston Cup crew chief Billy Wilburn, finished fourth with Craig Dollansky completing the top five.

Walker, who won the 25-lap feature Friday night and started from the pole, ended up 14th after his crew put a new right rear tire on the No. 35 and he restarted at the back of the pack.

Jac Haudenschild, Steve Kinser, Brad Furr and Randy Hannagan topped the eight-lap heat races and Jim Nier was the class of the field in the 12-lap B feature.

Greg Hodnett set fast time for the second consecutive night. The Memphis, Tenn., native circled the four-tenths-mile clay oval in 12.463 seconds to top the 38-car field.

Jamie Kuntz of Davidson, N.C., made it a clean sweep, winning the 12-lap Thunder Roadster feature for the second straight night. Kuntz started outside the front row and was never seriously challenged as he topped the 14-car field. Curt Andrews took second-place honors with John Sossoman third. Former Olympic skier Picabo Street struggled with his Thunder Roadster and finished a disappointing 12th.

The Charlotte Outlaw Championship presented by BFI concluded the season at The Dirt Track. The 2003 campaign begins April 4-5 with the Eckerd 100 for the Advance Auto Parts Modified Super DIRT Series

The results:

Qualifications: 1. Greg Hodnett, 12.463; 2. Joey Saldana, 12.618; 3. Danny Lasoski, 12.763; 4. Johnny Hererra, 12.762; 5. Donny Schatz, 12.763; 6. Mark Kinser, 12.770; 7. Stevie Smith, 12. 813; 8. Ricky Logan, 12.823; 9. Jac Haudenschild, 12.844; 10. Jim Nier, 12.860; 11. Brad Furr, 12.864; 12. Shane Stewart, 12.929; 13. Randy Hannagan, 12.951; 14. Jeremy Campbell, 13.026; 15. Steve Kinser, 13.032; 16. Curt Trainer, 13.062; 17. Kraig Kinser, 13.079; 18. Tom Busch, 13.133; 19. Kurt Winker, 13.170; 20. Kenny Jacobs, 13.215; 21. Dean Jacobs, 13.241; 22. Brian Paulus, 13.273; 23. Bob Bennett, 13.324; 24. Chad Kemenah, 13.328; 25. Blake Feese, 13.351; 26. Jason Johnson, 13.317; 27. Danny Wood, 13.436; 28. Greg Wilson, 13.456; 29. Johnny Bridges, 13.527; 30. Kim Mock, 13.581; 31. Sean Walden, 13.644; 32. Paul May, 14.025; 33. Bruce Robenalt, 14.305.

Guaranteed Starters: Tyler Walker, Craig Dollansky, Tim Shaffer, Daryn Pittman.

First Heat (8 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Ricky Logan, 4. Kraig Kinser; 5. Curt Trainer; 6. Blake Feese; 7. Johnny Bridges; 8. Dean Jacobs; 9. Bruce Robenalt.

Second Heat (8 laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Joey Saldana, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Jason Johnson, 5. Brian Paulus, 6. Jim Nier, 7. Tom Busch, 8. Kim Mock.

Third Heat (8 laps): 1. Brad Furr, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Jeremy Campbell, 5. Danny Wood, 6. Kurt Winker, 7. Bob Bennett, 8. Sean Walden.

Fourth Heat (8 laps): 1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Shane Stewart, 3. Donny Schatz, 4. Johnny Herrera, 5. Greg Wilson, 6. Chad Kemenah, 7. Kenny Jacobs, 8. Paul May.

O¿Reilly Auto Parts Dash (6 laps) : 1. Tyler Walker, 2. Tim Shaffer, 3. Daryn Pittman, 4. Craig Dollansky, 5. Danny Lasoski, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Joey Saldana, 8. Johnny Herrera.

B Feature (12 laps): 1. Jim Nier, 2. Curt Trainer, 3. Tom Busch, 4. Kenny Jacobs, 5. Dean Jacobs, 6. Chad Kemenah, 7. Greg Wilson, 8. Brian Paulus, 9. Kurt Winker, 10. Danny Wood, 11. Kim Mock, 12. Bob Bennett, 13. Bruce Robenalt, 14. Paul May, 15. Johnny Bridges, 16. Sean Walden.

Feature (30 laps): 1. Daryn Pittman, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Joey Saldana, 4. Johnny Herrera, 5. Craig Dollansky, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Steve Kinser, 8. Shane Stewart, 9. Stevie Smith, 10. Brad Furr, 11. Jason Johnson, 12. Jac Haudenschild, 13. Kraig Kinser, 14. Tyler Walker, 15. Kenny Jacobs, 16. Ricky Logan, 17. Randy Hannagan, 18. Tom Busch, 19. Jeremy Campbell, 20. Curt Trainer, 21. Donny Schatz, 22. Mark Kinser, 23. Tim Shaffer, 24. Jim Nier.