Location: Lowe¿s Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

Date: Saturday, May 17, 2003

Time: 9:00 p.m. (EDT)

Sanctioning Body: NASCAR, Daytona Beach, Fla.

Series: NASCAR Winston Cup Series ¿ special non-points event

Companion Races: The Winston Open ¿ NASCAR Winston Cup Series
EasyCare Vehicle Service Contracts 100 ¿ NASCAR Goody¿s Dash Series

Distance: 90 laps, 135 miles (run in three segments of 40 laps, 30 laps and 20 laps). Teams must make a mandatory green-flag, four-tire pit stop at some point during the first segment, and lap No. 40 must be completed on the track. The top-20 finishers from the first segment will advance to the second segment. There will be a 10-minute break following the first segment, at which time teams may change tires and make chassis adjustments without losing track position. Only the top-14 finishers in the second segment will advance to the final segment. There will be a 10-minute break following the second segment, at which time teams may change tires and make chassis adjustments without losing track position. The field will be inverted as determined by fan voting prior to the start of the final segment. All restarts in The Winston will be double file and only green flag laps count in the final segment.

Purse: $3 million (event record)
The Winston winner¿s purse: minimum $1 million
Segment 1 & 2 Bonuses: 1st, $50,000; 2nd $15,000; 3rd, $7,500

Radio/Television: Motor Racing Network (MRN) will broadcast the race live to its affiliate stations beginning at 7:00 p.m. (EDT). Cable channel FX will televise The Winston live. Pre-race coverage begins at 7:00 p.m. (EDT) and will also include coverage of The Winston Open.

2002 Winner: Ryan Newman, ALLTEL Ford

Qualifying: One round of qualifying will be held Friday, May 16, at 8:05 p.m. (EDT). Each driver will run three laps with a mandatory pit stop following either the first or second lap. The total elapsed time will comprise each team¿s qualifying effort and the winning team will earn $50,000.

2002 Pole Sitter: Matt Kenseth, Dewalt Tools Ford, 112.938 seconds, 143.442 mph, total elapsed time of three laps, including a four-tire pit stop

Eligibility List:
(As of May 6)
Ward Burton: 2002 Daytona 500, Daytona Beach, Fla.
Matt Kenseth: 2002 Subway 400, Rockingham, N.C.
Sterling Marlin: 2002 UAW-Daimler Chrysler 400, Las Vegas, Nev.
Tony Stewart: 2002 MBNA America 500, Hampton, Ga.
Kurt Busch: 2002 Food City 500, Bristol, Tenn.
Bobby Labonte: 2002 Virginia 500, Martinsville, Va.
Dale Earnhardt Jr.: 2002 Aaron¿s 499, Talladega, Ala.
Jimmie Johnson: 2002 NAPA 500, Fontana, Calif.
Mark Martin: 2002 Coca-Cola 600, Concord, N.C.
Dale Jarrett: 2002 Pocono 500, Long Pond, Pa.
Ricky Rudd: 2002 Save Mart 350, Sonoma, Calif.
Michael Waltrip: 2002 Pepsi 400, Daytona Beach, Fla.
Kevin Harvick: 2002 Tropicana 400, Joliet, Ill.
Bill Elliott: 2002 Pennsylvania 500, Long Pond, Pa.
Jeff Gordon: 2002 Sharpie 500, Bristol Tenn.
Ryan Newman: 2002 New Hampshire 300, Loudon, N.H.
Jamie McMurray: 2002 UAW-GM Quality 500, Concord, N.C.
Johnny Benson: 2002 Pop Secret 400, Rockingham, N.C.
Ricky Craven: 2003 Carolina Dodge Dealers 400, Darlington, S.C
Joe Nemechek: 2003 Pontiac Excitement 400, Richmond, Va.
Terry Labonte: 1984 & ¿96 NASCAR Winston Cup Champion
Rusty Wallace: 1989 NASCAR Winston Cup Champion
Elliott Sadler: 2002 Save Mart 350, Sonoma, Calif. (Owner)
Winner of The Winston Open

Tickets: Tickets for Lowe¿s Motor Speedway¿s May 17 events, which include The Winston, The Winston Open, the EasyCare Vehicle Service Contracts 100 and Miller Time Live Rock ¿n¿ Racing concert featuring the Goo Goo Dolls, start at just $21 and can be obtained by calling 1-800-455-FANS or online at www.charlottemotorspeedway.com.