NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series title contender Rick Crawford and Legends Car veteran Thomas Van Wingerden were the big winners Tuesday as 170 race cars jammed the pit area for opening night of the 10th annual Summer Shootout Series at Lowe¿s Motor Speedway.

History was also made as Amazing No. 3, a Nubian goat born with a white No. 3 on its right side, became the first animal to serve as grand marshal for a speedway event.

Calling on his many years of short-track experience, Crawford beat truck series rookie Carl Edwards in the NASCAR Celebrity Grudge Match. Crawford topped the first three-lap battle with Edwards recovering to claim the second three-lap race in Winston Cup-style convertibles. The two decided to run the final three laps in the opposite direction, or clockwise, around the frontstretch quarter-mile oval. Edwards led most of the distance with Crawford waiting until the final corner to make the winning pass.

Randy Haigler of Charlotte rode alongside Crawford in the winning mount while Charles Kline of Huntersville, N.C., was Edwards¿ passenger. The two were selected from among fans in attendance at the 2002 Summer Shootout finale.

Van Wingerden of Huntersville, N.C., started eighth in the 15-lap Legends Car Pro division feature and methodically worked his way to the point. He passed Chris Dilbeck for the lead on lap 12 and went on to record the victory. Dilbeck settled for second with Tolliver Smith next across the stripe.

David Sugg held off a last-lap charge by Ryan Zeck to win the 15-lap feature for the Thunder Roadsters. Sugg, a resident of Cornelius, N.C., started fourth in the 20-car field and jumped to an early lead. He appeared to have matters well in hand, but Zeck made a last-lap charge that fell short by less than half-a-car length. Scott Whitaker finished third.

Clay Hair made his first start in the Legends Car Masters division a successful one as the Mt. Pleasant, N.C., resident easily won the 15-lap feature. Hair, runner-up in the Legends Car Pro division championship last year, switched to the division for drivers ages 40 and over and immediately established himself as a title contender. John Sossoman led early but settled for second with Eddie Harwell next under the checkered flag.

Jesse Bunnell of Monroe, N.C., topped the caution-filled Legends Car Semi-Pro feature that was shortened to 12 laps due to time constraints. Louis Hawkins outfought Danny Bopp for the runner-up spot.

Jake Crum, the defending Bandolero Bandits champion, was running third at the white flag but found himself in victory lane after leader Jordan Anderson and second-place runner Hunter Robbins tangled in turn two on the final lap. It was the fourth straight victory for the Statesville, N.C., racer who also won the final three events last season in the division for drivers ages 8 to 11. Corey Lajoie, son of NASCAR veteran Randy Lajoie, claimed second in the 15-lap event with Daniel Hamric third.

Ryan Bowman of Lilburn, Ga., used the bump-and-run technique to win the 15-lap feature for the Bandolero Young Guns. Nicholas Pope took the lead at the green flag and was still in command when Bowman bumped him out of the way in turn three of the final lap. Pope settled for second with Bruce Benson claiming the show position in the division for drivers ages 12 to 16.

Instead of seeing red, competitors in the Outlaws division were seeing Brown as Paul Brown of Rock Hill, S.C., topped the 15-lap run for Bandolero drivers ages 17 and older. Brandon Keene chased Brown under the checkered flag with Jeff Harrel third.

The 10th annual Summer Shootout continues Tuesday night, June 17. In addition to the regular racing divisions, the card includes an Extreme Street Bike Stunt Showdown plus NASCAR Winston Cup veteran Brett Bodine will square off against an up-and-coming NASCAR racer in the Celebrity Grudge Match. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30.

The results:

NASCAR Grudge Match: Rick Crawford over Carl Edwards.

Legends Car Pro Feature (15 laps): 1. Thomas Van Wingerden; 2. Chris Dilbeck; 3. Tolliver Smith; 4. Michael Van Wingerden; 5. Jesse Smith; 6. Beau Slocumb; 7. Sean Brown; 8. Troy Andrews; 9. David Ragan; 10. Richie Steamboat; 11. Cliff Daniels; 12. Ben Stancill; 13. Kyle Grissom; 14. Chris Waters; 15. Todd Laney; 16. Jody Folice; 17. Jimmy Lang; 18. Cary Thompson; 19. Michael Sboro; 20. Josh Waring; 21. Chase Pistone; 22. Joey Logano; 23. Mike Wirth.

Thunder Roadster Feature (15 laps): 1. David Sugg; 2. Ryan Zeck; 3. Scott Whitaker; 4. Kyle Beattie; 5. Tom Van Wingerden; 6. Jim Gresham; 7. Reggie Primus; 8. Mark Miller; 9. Jim Fluharty; 10. Hunt Dyer; 11. Adam Welch; 12. Roger Simon; 13. Brandon Hylton; 14. Mike Gorman; 15. Herman Towe; 16. Ralph Sheheen; 17. Buddy Compton; 18. Sam Crawford; 19. Andrew Rogers; 20. Bob Jarvis.

Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (12 laps): 1. Jesse Bunnell; 2. Louis Hawkins; 3. Danny Bopp; 4. R. Todd Johnson; 5. Tim Snyder; 6. Matt Willingham; 7. Todd Adams; 8. Jamie Hayes; 9. Keith Newcomer; 10. Matt Logan; 11. Billy Tysinger IV; 12. Patrick Conrad; 13. Scott Knox; 14. Tiffany Daniels; 15. Mark Whitley; 16. Bruce Little; 17. Tonya Cordrey; 18. Michael Hanes; 19. Chrissy Wallace; 20. Casey Dohm; 21. Keven Wood; 22. Jeremy Kalina; 23. Todd Spears; 24. John Freeman; 25. Zach Tysinger; 26. Trent Mayo; 27. Andrew Rogers; 28. Scott Naset.

Legends Car Masters Feature (15 laps): 1. Clay Hair, 2. John Sossoman; 3. Eddie Harwell; 4. Randy Spencer; 5. Randy Thornton; 6. Dr. Mark Moskowitz; 7. Phil Sharpe; 8. James Hines; 9. Brian Weiner; 10. Chuck Dohm; 11. John Chapman; 12. Dennis White; 13. Rolfe Schnur; 14. Larry Friddle; 15. Tom Van Wingerden; 16. Bruce Sawicki; 17. Roger Hefner; 18. Dr. Gary Shannon; 19. Chris Carlsen 20. Richard Greene; 21. Freddie Lancaster; 22. Ronnie Laney; 23. Jan Ingram; 24. Mark Cauble; 25. Wayne Whaley; 26. Bobby Pence; 27. George ¿Cotton¿ Spry; 28. Tim Lightfoot.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (15 laps): 1. Paul Brown; 2. Brandon Keene; 3. Jeff Harrel; 4. Darryl Knight; 5. Ryan Jernigan; 6. Thomas Haun; 7. Scott Brown; 8. Jason Haynes; 9. Jay Gould; 10. Allen Stowe; 11. Christopher Morgan; 12. Charles Long Sr.

Bandolero Young Guns Feature (15 laps): 1. Ryan Bowman; 2. Nicholas Pope; 3. Bruce Benson II; 4. Devon Haun; 5. Justin Morton; 6. Tyler Green; 7. Derrick Long; 8. Phillip Gill; 9. Adam Crawford; 10. Drew Calhoun; 11. T.J. Barron; 12. Whitney Wolfe; 13. Jessie Johnson; 14. Marcus Limehouse; 15. Chris Bailey Jr.; 16. Ashleigh Wilkins; 17. Joshua Sisco; 18. Jake Morris; 19. Bret Hylton; 20. Brad Griffin; 21. Jordan Tonelis; 22. Brandon Steadman; 23. Jonathon Stone; 24. Trevor Bayne; 25. Matthew Lassiter; 26. James Long.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (15 laps): 1. Jake Crum; 2. Corey Lajoie; 3. Daniel Hamric; 4. Matthew Godley; 5. Jordan Anderson; 6. Max Gresham; 7. Matt Martin; 8. Cole Miktuk; 9. Matt Bowers; 10. Ryan Glenski; 11. Jordan Paschal; 12. Zachary Stroupe; 13. Brandon McReynolds; 14. Hunter Robbins; 15. Corey Gordon; 16. Landon Bullock; 17. Buck Brown; 18. Noah Clark; 19. Rob Beasley; 20. Kyle Robbins; 21. Gerald White Jr.