Mark Mathis, Fox Charlotte¿s wild and wacky weather man, created his own thunder and lightning while Thomas Van Wingerden raised his batting average to .500 during round six of the 10-week Summer Shootout Series Tuesday night at Lowe¿s Motor Speedway.

Making only his second start behind the wheel of a behemoth School Bus, Mathis showed the style and grace of a seasoned motorsports professional leading the entire 10-lap distance. Often lifting the left-rear tire of his red-white-and-blue bus as he charged through the turns on the quarter-mile oval, Mathis fended off a late-race charge by Dirty Dan the Fan to claim the victory.

Van Wingerden started 12th in the 22-car Legends Car Pro division feature and methodically worked to the front. The Huntersville, N.C., resident passed Jimmy Lang with the white flag waving and went on to record his third victory of the season. Lang settled for second while Josh Waring took the point lead with a third-place finish.

Steve Zacharias, a former asphalt modified racer in Upstate New York who now resides in Concord, N.C., made it two in a row by winning the 20-lap Thunder Roadster feature. Ryan Zeck charged from the seventh-starting spot to take second and moved to within eight of point leader Tom Van Wingerden in the championship chase. Kyle Beattie settled for third, equaling his best finish of the season.

John Freeman of Huntersville, N.C., recorded his inaugural Legends Car Semi-Pro division feature victory in dramatic fashion, slipping around Andrew Rogers during a wild final lap. Rogers was second in the caution-filled race that was cut to just 12 laps due to time constraints. Scott Knox claimed the show money.

After having his victory taken away during post-race technical inspection the previous week, Clay Hair of Mt. Pleasant, N.C., bounced back to record his third triumph of the season in the 20-lap Legends Car Masters division finale. Hair lined up third in the 27-car field for drivers ages 40 and over and led all but the first five laps. Tom Van Wingerden chased Hair to the stripe with George ¿Cotton¿ Spry taking third from early leader Larry Friddle on the last lap.

Jordan Paschal of Mt. Pleasant, N.C., notched his first Bandolero Bandits feature victory in a race that was shortened to just 14 laps due to time constraints. The 11-year-old racer started seventh, assumed command on lap 11 and cruised to the checkered flag. Matt Martin, son of NASCAR Winston Cup veteran Mark Martin, finished second with Corey Lajoie, son of two-time NASCAR Busch Series champion Randy Lajoie, third in the division for drivers ages 8 to 11.

Nicholas Pope continued his domination of the Bandolero Young Guns, winning his fifth consecutive feature and extending his point lead. The 12-year-old driver from Taylorsville, N.C., started from the pole and was never seriously challenged. Adam Crawford, son of NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series driver Rick Crawford, claimed second with Devon Haun third.

Brandon Keene added his name to the list of feature winners in the Bandolero Outlaws division. The Concord, N.C., driver started fourth, took the lead on lap 13 and cruised to victory in the 20-lap event for drivers ages 17 and over. Jay Gould settled for second with point leader Allen Stowe next under the checkered flag.

Round seven of the 10th annual Summer Shootout Series on Tuesday night, July 22, includes ¿The Fast and The Furriest 2.¿ Mascots from several area sports teams and civic organizations will compete in a unique novelty race and the fur is expected to fly. Three divisions of Legends Cars, three classes of Bandoleros and the extremely popular Thunder Roadsters round out the action-packed card.

Adult tickets are just $5 with children 6 to 12 admitted for $3 and those under 6 free. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30. Parking is free. Call 1-800-455-FANS for tickets or information.

The results

School Bus Race Winner: Mark Mathis, Fox Charlotte.

Legends Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Thomas Van Wingerden; 2. Jimmy Lang; 3. Josh Waring; 4. Joey Logano; 5. Cliff Daniels; 6. Wes Burton; 7. Michael Sboro; 8. Troy Andrews; 9. Jeff Jordan; 10. Michael Van Wingerden; 11. David Ragan; 12. Jessie Smith; 13. Daniel Pope; 14. Richie Steamboat; 15. Jody Folice; 16. Chris Waters; 17. Ben Stancill; 18. Mike Wirth; 19. Kyle Grissom; 20. Tolliver Smith; 21. Cary Thompson; 22. Sean Brown.

Thunder Roadster Feature (20 laps): 1. Steve Zacharias; 2. Ryan Zeck; 3. Kyle Beattie; 4. David Sugg; 5. Andrew Rogers; 6. Scott Whitaker; 7. Hunt Dyer; 8. Tom Van Wingerden; 9. Mark Miller; 10. Reggie Primus; 11. Jim Gresham; 12. Bob Jarvis; 13. Ralph Sheheen; 14. Herman Towe; 15. Buddy Compton; 16. Jim Fluharty.

Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (12 laps): 1. John Freeman; 2. Andrew Rogers; 3. Scott Knox; 4. Scott Edgell; 5. Michael Hanes; 6. Tonya Cordrey; 7. Keven Wood; 8. Tiffany Daniels; 9. Patrick Conrad; 10. John Johnston; 11. R. Todd Johnson; 12. Louis Hawkins; 13. John Barilka; 14. Jamie Hayes; 15. Scott Naset; 16. Keith Newcomer; 17. Chuck Eudy; 18. Harrison Moskowitz; 19. Mark Whitley; 20. Tim Snyder; 21. Dustin Rumley; 22. Chrissy Wallace; 23. Matt Willingham; 24. Danny Bopp; 25. Scooter Hillis; 26. Jamie Griffin; 27. Robert Hall; 28. Jesse Bunnell.

Legends Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. Clay Hair; 2. Tom Van Wingerden; 3. George ¿Cotton¿ Spry; 4. Larry Friddle; 5. Jan Ingram; 6. John Smith; 7. Phil Sharpe; 8. John Chapman; 9. Bobby Pence; 10. Eddie Harwell; 11. Rolfe Schnur; 12. Freddie Lancaster; 13. Chuck Dohm; 14. Gary Shannon; 15. Brian Weimer; 16. Ronnie Laney; 17. Randy Spencer; 18. Eddie Caudill; 19. Chris Carlsen; 20. Walter Wyatt; 21. Bill Mathers; 22. Roger Hefner; 23. Tim Lightfoot; 24. John Sossoman; 25. Bruce Sawicki; 26. Wayne Whaley; 27. Dennis White.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Brandon Keene; 2. Jay Gould; 3. Allen Stowe; 4. Jason Haynes; 5. Christopher Morgan; 6. Scott Brown; 7. Jeff Harrel; 8. Ryan Jernigan; 9. Doug Wisl; 10. Thomas Haun; 11. Charles Long Sr.; 12. Joe Suggs.

Bandolero Young Guns Feature (20 laps): 1. Nicholas Pope; 2. Adam Crawford; 3. Devon Haun; 4. Mathew Lassiter; 5. Chris Bailey Jr.; 6. Tyler Green; 7. Ryan Bowman; 8. Drew Calhoun; 9. T.J. Barron; 10. Brandon Steadman; 11. Whitney Wolfe; 12. Ashleigh Wilkins; 13. Brad Griffin; 14. Jake Morris; 15. Jessie Johnson; 16. Bret Hylton; 17. Jonathan Stone; 18. Jordan Tonelis; 19. Bruce Benson II; 20. James Long; 21. Derrick Long; 22. Justin Morton; 23. Bailey Freeman; 24. Jake Palillo.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (14 laps): 1. Jordan Paschal; 2. Matt Martin; 3. Corey Lajoie; 4. Jake Crum; 5. Matt Bowers; 6. Jordan Anderson; 7. Rob Beasley; 8. Ryan Glenski; 9. Zachary Stroupe; 10. Landon Bullock; 11. Corey Gordon; 12. Noah Clark; 13. Brandon McReynolds; 14. Max Gresham; 15. Hunter Robbins; 16. Chad Akins; 17. Mathew Godley; 18. Daniel Hamric; 19. Cole Miktuk.