The Chick-fil-A Cow was literally moooving and Legends Car veteran Clay Hair had his foes standing on end during round seven of the 10th annual Summer Shootout Series Tuesday night at Lowe¿s Motor Speedway.

Driving go-karts provided by Endurance Karting, the Chick-fil-A Cow dominated the annual Mascot Madness race. The big black-and-white cow led every lap as rain pelted the speedway. Dub, the Kannapolis Intimidators¿ mascot, was a soaked second while Lugette, Lug Nut¿s longtime girlfriend, claimed third. Lug Nut had to settle for fourth after spinning on the opening lap. Several additional mascots were on hand, but were unable to participate in the race due to the wet conditions.

Hair of Mt. Pleasant, N.C., romped to his fourth victory in the 20-lap Masters division feature. Hair won his heat race, started from the pole in the finale and was clearly the class of the field for drivers ages 40 and over. He beat George ¿Cotton¿ Spry to the stripe by three seconds with Wayne Whaley claiming the show laurels.

Legends Car Pro division point leader Josh Waring appeared en route to his second feature victory of the season until Cliff Daniels slipped past in the final turn of the 20-lap race. As Waring pushed high on the rain-soaked track, Daniels dove to the inside and the Smithfield, Va., driver went on to his first triumph. Waring ended up second while Michael Van Wingerden crossed the stripe backward in third place.

Mark Whitley of Charlotte, N.C., added his name to the list of Legends Car Semi-Pro division feature winners, topping a wild race that saw Whitley go sliding across the finish line in a torrential downpour. Point leader John Freeman made a last-lap charge in the race that was shortened to just 14 laps due to time constraints but had to settle for second. Scott Edgell was third under the checkered flag.

Ryan Zeck of Harrisburg, N.C., emerged from a bumper-banging battle with David Ragan to win the 20-lap Thunder Roadster feature. The two exchanged the lead several times before Zeck claimed his second victory of the season. Ragan, son of former NASCAR Winston Cup driver Ken Ragan, settled for second with Scott Whitaker third.

Jake Crum extended his point lead in the Bandolero Bandits division, slipping around Corey Lajoie with just two laps remaining to win the 20-lap feature for racers ages 8 to 11. It was the second victory of the season for the Statesville, N.C., youngster who also won on opening night. Lajoie, son of two-time NASCAR Busch Series champion Randy Lajoie, was second after leading the first 18 laps with Jordan Anderson completing the top three.

Twelve-year-old Nicholas Pope continued to dominate the Bandolero Young Guns division, cruising to his fifth straight victory in the 20-lap feature. The Taylorsville, N.C., driver started second, took the lead in turn two on the opening lap and was never headed in the race for drivers ages 12 to 16. Brad Griffin ran second the entire distance with Adam Crawford, son of NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series title contender Rick Crawford, third across the stripe.

Just like their battle in the point standings, Brandon Keene and Allen Stowe, both of Concord, N.C., waged a torrid tussle in the 20-lap Bandolero Outlaws feature. Stowe passed Keene going into turn one on the final lap, but Keene retook the point in turn three and went on to claim his second straight victory. Stowe, who settled for second, now leads Keene by 10 in the championship chase.

One-on-One Spectator Races are on tap during round eight of the 10th annual Summer Shootout Series on Tuesday night, July 29. Donald Bond of Wadesboro, N.C., driving a GMC Syclone pick-up truck, won the July 1 event and will be gunning for a clean summer sweep. Three divisions of Legends Cars, three classes of Bandoleros and the Thunder Roadsters round out the action-packed card.

Adult tickets are just $5 with children 6 to 12 admitted for $3 and those under 6 free. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30. Parking is free. Call 1-800-455-FANS for tickets or information.

The results

Mascot Race: 1. Chick-fil-A Cow (Chick-fil-A); 2. Dub (Kannapolis Intimidators); 3. Lugette (Lowe¿s Motor Speedway); 4. Lug Nut (Lowe¿s Motor Speedway).

Legends Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Cliff Daniels; 2. Josh Waring; 3. Michael Van Wingerden; 4. Richie Steamboat; 5. Beau Slocumb; 6. David Ragan; 7. Mike Wirth; 8. Ben Stancill; 9. Michael Sboro; 10. Troy Andrews; 11. Kyle Grissom; 12. Thomas Van Wingerden; 13. Joey Logano; 14. Jimmy Lang; 15. Jeff Jordan; 16. Kyle Busch.

Thunder Roadster Feature (20 laps): 1. Ryan Zeck; 2. David Ragan; 3. Scott Whitaker; 4. Tom Van Wingerden; 5. Tommy Wrape; 6. Billy Burd; 7. Reggie Primus; 8. Hunt Dyer; 9. Steve Zacharias; 10. Andrew Rogers; 11. David Sugg; 12. Kyle Beattie; 13. Brandon Hylton; 14. Jim Gresham; 15. Bob Jarvis; 16. Mark Miller; 17. Jim Fluharty; 18. Buddy Compton; 19. Herman Towe; 20. Roger Simone; 21. Ralph Sheheen; 22. Ryan McLeod.

Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (14 laps): 1. Mark Whitley; 2. John Freeman; 3. Scott Edgell; 4. Patrick Conrad; 5. Keith Newcomer; 6. Jamie Hayes; 7. Tim Snyder; 8. Jesse Bunnell; 9. Tonya Cordrey; 10. Matt Willingham; 11. John Johnston; 12. Keith Breasbois; 13. David Leiner III; 14. Todd Adams; 15. John Barilka; 16. Scott Knox; 17. Scooter Hillis; 18. Keeton Hanks; 19. R. Todd Johnson; 20. Michael Hanes; 21. Chuck Eudy; 22. Andrew Rogers; 23. Scott Naset; 24. Jamie Griffin; 25. Chrissy Wallace; 26. Danny Bopp; 27. Keven Wood; 28. Louis Hawkins.

Legends Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. Clay Hair; 2. Cotton Spry; 3. Wayne Whaley; 4. Eddie Harwell; 5. Dr. Gary Shannon; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Dennis White; 8. Chuck Dohm; 9. Larry Friddle; 10. Bobby Pence; 11. Phil Sharpe; 12. Randy Spencer; 13. John Sossoman; 14. Ronnie Laney; 15. Tim Lightfoot; 16. Rolfe Schnur; 17. Tom Van Wingerden; 18. Roger Hefner; 19. Eddie Caudill; 20. Bruce Sawicki; 21. Brian Weimer; 22. Freddie Lancaster; 23. Walter Wyatt; 24. Bill Mathers; 25. Dr. Mark Moskowitz; 26. Chris Carlsen; 27. John Chapman.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Brandon Keene; 2. Allen Stowe; 3. Joel Suggs; 4. Jeff Miles; 5. Christopher Morgan; 6. Jeff Harrel; 7. Charles Long Sr.; 8. Scott Brown; 9. William Jay Gould; 10. Jason Haynes; 11. Ryan Jernigan.

Bandolero Young Guns Feature (20 laps): 1. Nicholas Pope; 2. Brad Griffin; 3. Rick Crawford; 4. Bruce Benson II; 5. Ryan Bowman; 6. Mathew Lassiter; 7. Devon Haun; 8. Colin Bullock; 9. Whitney Wolfe; 10.; Brandon Steadman; 11. Chris Bailey Jr.; 12. Tyler Green; 13. Drew Calhoun; 14. Jessie Johnson; 15. James Long; 16. Bret Hylton; 17. Jonathon Stone; 18. Cameron Caputo; 19. Jake Morris; 20. Bailey Freeman; 21. Matthew Stover; 22. Ashleigh Wilkins; 23. Derrick Long.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Jake Crum; 2. Corey Lajoie; 3. Jordan Anderson; 4. Matt Martin; 5. Zachary Stroupe; 6. Brandon McReynolds; 7. Mathew Godley; 8. Matt Bowers; 9. Max Gresham; 10. Cole Miktuk; 11. Ryan Glenski; 12. Noah Clark; 13. Landon Bullock; 14. Mitchell Coble; 15. Rob Beasley; 16. Jordan Paschal; 17. Hunter Robbins; 18. Corey Gordon.