Glenn Donnelly, founder and longtime president of DIRT Motorsports, will be inducted into The Dirt Track Walk of Fame Saturday evening, April 3, at The Dirt Track @ Lowe¿s Motor Speedway. The induction ceremony will take place prior to the Ferris 100 presented by DynoMax, one of the premier events on the 28-race Advance Auto Parts Modified Super DIRT Series schedule.

¿Starting with the idea of bringing rules uniformity and increased sponsorship to modified stock car racing at a trio of Upstate New York dirt tracks, Glenn Donnelly built one of the most successful sanctioning bodies in the motorsports industry,¿ said H.A. ¿Humpy¿ Wheeler, president and general manager of Lowe¿s Motor Speedway. ¿It is only fitting that he is the first sanctioning body official to be inducted into our Walk of Fame.¿

Donnelly¿s auto racing promotional efforts date back to 1971 when he purchased what was then known as Weedsport Speedway, a three-eighths-mile dirt track located 26 miles west of Syracuse. In 1976, Donnelly joined forces with Bob and Donnie Petrocci, co-promoters of nearby Rolling Wheels Raceway, to form Drivers Independent Race Tracks. The fledgling organization sanctioned, organized and promoted modified races at Weedsport, Rolling Wheels and the New York State Fairgrounds.

Under Donnelly¿s direction since day one, DIRT Motorsports has sanctioned more than 12,200 feature races at 66 tracks from Canada to Texas. Its exotic big-block modifieds, state-of-the-art distant cousins of the same modified coupes which formed the early foundation of NASCAR, are familiar to race fans across the nation.

Donnelly joins 18-time World of Outlaws sprint car champion Steve Kinser, DIRT modified veteran Bob McCreadie, longtime sprint car ace Sammy Swindell, late model stock car legend Mike Duvall and the late AMA motorcycle star Will Davis in the Walk of Fame.

The Dirt Track Walk of Fame is patterned after a similar Court of Legends in front of Smith Tower at Lowe¿s Motor Speedway where such legendary motorsports figures as Richard Petty, David Pearson, Darrell Waltrip and Junior Johnson have been honored.

If purchased in advance, reserved adult tickets are $18 for the Ferris 100 presented by DynoMax on Saturday night, April 3, and $15 for the Charlotte Small-Block Championship on Friday night, April 2. Tickets for children 12 and under are just $5 each night. General admission tickets for practice on Thursday night, April 1, are $5 for adults with children admitted free.

Tickets can be purchased online at or by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS.