After having victory slip from his grasp in the closing laps of last year¿s event, Jason Petty of Creedmore, N.C., bounced back to post a convincing victory in the World Karting Association¿s 11th annual Briggs & Stratton 300 Saturday night on the frontstretch quarter-mile oval at Lowe¿s Motor Speedway.

Petty, known in the karting community as ¿The Peoples¿ Champion,¿ started from the pole in the 40-kart field, played pit strategy to perfection and was more than a lap ahead of his closest challenger when the checkered flag was unfurled on go-kart racing¿s most prestigious oval track race.

¿I¿m speechless right now,¿ Petty said in victory circle. ¿We were just trying to stay out of harm¿s way. We kept our head on straight, kept our mind in the game and that¿s what it takes.¿

Petty, who is not related to the legendary Petty racing family, led the opening laps, but had slipped back to fifth by lap 35. He stayed near the front of the pack throughout the middle stages of the race and took the lead for the final time on lap 192.

Petty was never challenged during the final 108 trips around the quarter-mile oval and took home $3,500 plus numerous contingency awards for his evening¿s work.

Kenneth Jones started 10th, stayed in the hunt throughout the 75-mile event and claimed the $1,200 runner-up prize.

¿We had decent pit stops all night and I really want to thank all my guys,¿ said Jones. ¿I would like to congratulate Jason. If I had to finish second to someone, I¿m glad it was Jason.¿

Aaron Musall took home $800 for his third-place run while Travis Jones and Brian Sullivan rounded out the top five.

The race was slowed by numerous caution flags. The most serious incident resulted in the red flag being unfurled on lap 44 when Norman Hines¿ kart flipped in turn four. Hines was transported to NorthEast Medical Center for a precautionary check-up.

Petty completed the distance in 1 hour, 46 minutes and 34.431 seconds for an average speed of 42.224 mph.

The Briggs & Stratton 300 was part of the 11th annual North American Karting Championship which concludes Sunday afternoon with a series of races on the infield road course.

The results:

Showing driver and laps completed: 1. Jason Petty, 300 laps; 2. Kenneth Jones, 299; 3. Aaron Musall, 299; 4. Travis Jones, 298; 5. Brian Sullivan, 297; 6. Bradley Mattlin, 297; 7. Travis Firing, 295; 8. Kerry Parnell, 294; 9. Justin Bonsignore, 294; 10. Kyle Bonsignore, 294; 11. Jace Reynolds, 293; 12. Brent Cornic, 292; 13. Russell Moore, 290; 14. Ryan Wallace, 288; 15. Daniel Veglahn, 287; 16. Jason Horton, 286; 17. Wayne Baker, 285; 18. Bob Baker, 280; 19. Norman Hines, 264; 20. Mitch Hendrix, 264; 21. Blake Haugland, 263; 22. J. Lee Malone, 261; 23. Kenny Foster, 255; 24. Brian Scherrer, 255; 25. Mike Guerity, 237; 26. Sam Beam, 235; 27. Byron McKinney, 232; 28. Joe Hendricks, 218; 29. David Goley, 186; 30. Grayson Brookshire, 158; 31. Dee Paschal, 132; 32. Tim Sullivan, 128; 33. Lindsay Barton, 128; 34. Dan Sox, 123; 35. Michael Burns, 122; 36. Michael Mammana, 121; 37. R.J. Erler, 88; 38. Joseph Moore, 71; 39. Justin Moorefield, 1; 40. Dana Messier, 0.