In 1992, crew chief Larry McReynolds was part of one of the greatest championship battles in NASCAR history. Tuesday night during the season finale of the Hardee's Summer Shootout at Charlotte Motor Speedway, McReynolds will have to endure a similar nail-biting experience as his 14-year-old son, Brandon, attempts to claim the Lucas Oil Bandolero Young Guns title.

Entering the 1992 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series finale at Atlanta Motor Speedway, McReynolds' driver, Davey Allison, was atop the standings and needed only to finish fifth or better to secure the championship. Allison was running in that position on lap 254 of the 328-lap race when Ernie Irvan spun and took him into the wall. Alan Kulwicki went on claim the title with Bill Elliott second and Allison third.

The elder McReynolds is hoping for a different outcome in Tuesday night's race. Brandon McReynolds of Mooresville, N.C., leads the Lucas Oil Bandolero Young Guns standings, but is only seven points ahead of Rock Hill, S.C., resident Cole Miktuk. Defending champion Tyler Green of Concord, N.C., is third, just 29 points back.

Heated championship battles are also being fought in several other divisions, including the Verizon Wireless Legends Car Masters where Brian Wiemer of Cumming, Ga., leads Midland, N.C., veteran Clay Hair by 19 points.

Presented by Stock Car Steel and Aluminum, the finale of the 10-week Hardee's Summer Shootout will include three divisions of Legends Cars, three divisions of Bandoleros and the popular Thunder Roadsters. School Bus racing rounds out the action-packed program as an array of local personalities, including legendary racer Dirty Dan the Fan, Boz the Bumper Basher and Lug Nut, wheel the behemoth creations.

Admission is just $5 for adults. Children 6-12 are admitted for $3 and kids under 6 are free. Tickets are available in advance at the speedway ticket office and at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Parking is free. Contact the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS for information or to purchase tickets.

Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with preliminary action at 5:30 p.m. Feature racing begins at 7:30 p.m. and is scheduled to conclude by 10:15.