It was a red, white and blue night of motorized mayhem Saturday at The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway as Terry Plott of Concord, N.C., drove the No. 76 Patriot CRASHCar to victory in the 20-lap finale of the CRASHCars Tournament of Thrills.

In a race where the objective was to cross the finish line third, Plott claimed the victory as at least seven cars jockeyed and banged for position coming off the final corner. Gene Loden, driving Salvage, ended up second and Paul Sparrow drove the Invader to a third-place finish.

Paul Stender saw his attempt to set a world speed record come to a crashing halt when Port-O-Jet, the world's only jet-powered outhouse, turned over while negotiating Turn 1.

"I thought I was back in my sprint car again," said Stender who raced open-wheeled cars for several years before turning his attention to jet-powered vehicles. "I got into Turn 1 pretty well, hooked a rut and it was all over."

Stender returned later and melted a car with Kamikaze, the jet-powered ATV, and then used Crunch Time, the jet-powered truck, to turn a school bus into a pile of smoldering rubble.

The father-and-son team of Ralph Sperber and Ralph Sperber Jr. of Winston-Salem, N.C., topped the Two-Car Team Chain Race while Charlie Isenhour of Concord, N.C., won the Rollover Contest.

The wild-and-crazy Trailer Race of Destruction saw CRASHCar point leader Kenneth Deese of Monroe, N.C., tow his trailer to victory while Doug Meyer of Concord, N.C., won the Waterless Boat Race towing a ski boat behind the Miss Demeanor machine.

"That was absolutely wild," Deese said after climbing from the No. 3 Big Show entry.

Team Charlotte beat Team Kansas City in a "hall of fame" classic during the Quad Wars finale. Jeff Maloney of Taylorsville, N.C., rode the winning entry.

The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway returns to action Wednesday night, Oct. 12, with the Mopar Sprint Car Nationals. Featuring the traditional sprint cars of the United States Auto Club, the event kicks off UAW-GM Quality 500 Week. Reserved seats are $25 for adults and $10 for children ages 12 and under. For information or to purchase tickets, call 1-800-455-FANS or click here.

The results: CRASHCar Feature (20 laps): 1. Patriot, Terry Plott; 2. Salvage, Gene Loden; 3. Invader, Paul Sparrow; 4. Big Show, Ken Deese; 5. Krashy the Klown, Walter Pecora; 6. Venom, Paul Grimsley; 7. Kill O'Bite, Jake Brown; 8. Area 51, Jeremy Troiano; 9. Miss Demeanor, Jennifer Petree; 10. Tony the Tiger; Tony Springer; 11. Ruby Rhino, Dave Hutchinson; 12. Land Shark, Bobby Wallace; 13. Crusher, David McEachern; 14. Redneck Medic, Brian Spivey; 15. Full Throttle, Marty Williams; 16. No Insurance, Larry Henderson; 17. Junkyard Dawg, Stephen Runion; 18. Trouble, Kristi Springer; 19. Crash Test Dummy, Dale Drye; 20. White Boy, Jerry White; 21. Mr. Big Shot, Jim Cook; 22. Road Hawg Rebel, Randy Spivey; 23. Road Rage, Kirby Allen; 24. Fast Ball, Jeff Blackwelder; 25. Cherry Bomb; Matt Fernandez; 26. High Voltage, James Crider; 27. Fire Ball, Patrick Blackwelder; 28. Vigilante, Rusty Drye; 29. Rimer Rocket, Chris James; 30. T-Wrecks, George "Cotton" Spry. -30-