Defending race winner and USAC National Sprint Car Series point leader Levi Jones of Olney, Ill., has filed the first entry for the Oct. 12 Mopar Sprint Car Nationals at The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway.

NASCAR NEXTEL Cup stars Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart and Ryan Newman are among those whose success in the Indiana-based USAC Valvoline National Sprint Car Series helped catapult them to national stardom.

The Mopar Sprint Car Nationals on Wednesday night, Oct. 12, marks the third consecutive year USAC's traditional sprint cars have visited the lightning-fast four-tenths-mile oval and Jones' victory last year was his first in the series.

This season, the 23-year-old driver of 2B Racing's Lucas Oil-sponsored sprint car has two feature victories and is locked in a torrid title fight with defending series champion Jay Drake of Val Verde, Calif., and 1999 titlist Dave Darland of Lincoln, Ind.

Drake drives the No. 21 Mopar sprint car fielded by Tony Stewart Racing while Darland pilots the No. 11 Walker/Guiducci Racing entry.

In addition to the USAC sprint cars, the action-packed schedule also includes a full slate of racing for the steel-head late models of the Dixie Thunder Series.

The Mopar Sprint Car Nationals is part of UAW-GM Quality 500 week which culminates with round five of the 10-race Chase for the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup on Saturday night, Oct. 15, at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Tickets for the Mopar Sprint Car Nationals are $25 for adults and $10 for children 12 and under and can be purchased online here or by calling 1-800-455-FANS.