Veteran late model racer Billy Moyer is known as "Mr. Smooth" and the Batesville, Ark., resident was just that Wednesday night at The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway as he charged to victory in the 50-lap finale of the Jani-King Southern Showdown presented by Ferris Commercial Mowers.

Moyer started third in the 29-car field, took the lead on lap 20 and was never seriously challenged over the final 30 laps. It was Moyer's second Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series triumph of the season and added $10,000 to his bank account.

"I think starting up front had a lot to do with it. We drew lucky up there and that was some of the work done for us," Moyer said following his initial victory at the four-tenths-mile clay oval. "It's a great crowd tonight and a great field of cars. Everything worked out good for us."

Shannon Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., started alongside Moyer in fourth and came home second, banking $5,000, while series point leader Earl Pearson Jr., of Jacksonville, Fla., sliced forward from the 12th starting spot to finish third.

Early leader Mike Balzano settled for fourth with Rick Eckert rounding out the top five.

The 50-lap feature was slowed by five caution flags. The most serious incident came on lap nine when Larry Blankenship slowed and was hit from behind by Jackie Boggs. No injuries resulted, but both drivers were finished for the evening.

Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, Donnie Moran, Vic Hill, Pearson Jr., Babb and Eckert topped the 10-lap heat races as 67 late models filled the pit area. Chris Madden, Garrett Durrett and Michael England worked their way into the main event by winning the trio of 10-lap last chance races.

The sky opened just minutes after the late model feature and the CRASHCar finale was rained out.

The Dirt Track @ Charlotte Motor Speedway will wrap up its season Nov. 3-4 with the Domino's Pizza World Short-Track Championships. A $52,000 purse will be up for grabs in the event, which is expected to attract many of the Southeast's top short-track racers.

The steel-head late models of the United Southern Late Model Series headline the two-day program with the winged sprint cars of the Heintz Performance American Sprint Car Series also on the card. The crate models of the Fastrak Racing Series, IMCA modifieds, four-cylinder stock cars and CRASHCars round out the action-packed program.

Tickets or pit passes can be obtained online at or by calling the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS.

The results:

Lucas Oil Late Models

First Heat (10 laps): 1. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth; 2. Brad Neat; 3. Billy Moyer; 4. Chris Madden; 5. Furman Parton; 6. Chuck Harper; 7. Ed Gibbons; 8. Ed Basey; 9. Ricky Arms; 10. Doug Sanders; 11. Mike Duvall; 12. Tim McCreadie.

Second Heat (10 laps): 1. Donnie Moran; 2. Josh Richards; 3. Larry Blankenship; 4. Jeep Van Wormer; 5. Steve Casebolt; 6. Greggy Oliver; 7. Scott James; 8. Josh McGuire; 9. Ken Schrader; 10. Matt Miller; 11. Tracy Tapley.

Third Heat (10 laps): 1. Vic Hill; 2. Dan Stone; 3. Garrett Durrett; 4. Petey Ivey; 5. Ricky Weeks; 6. G.R. Smith; 7. Shane Tankersley; 8. D.J. Miller; 9. Scott Shirey; 10. Bill Bray; 11. James Tesch Jr.

Fourth Heat (10 laps): 1. Earl Pearson Jr.; 2. Damon Eller; 3. Steve Francis; 4. Stacy Holmes; 5. Jimmy Owens; 6. Ray Cook; 7. Richard Jarvis Jr.; 8. Jordan Bland; 9. Troy Eads; 10. Phil Gann; 11. Mike Benedum.

Fifth Heat (10 laps): 1. Shannon Babb; 2. Mike Marlar; 3. Billy Hicks; 4. Jimmy McCormick; 5. Michael England; 6. Dennis "Rambo" Franklin; 7. Robbie Bailey; 8. Brian Ledbetter; 9. Greg Roberson; 10. Freddy Smith; 11. Jonathan Davenport.

Sixth Heat (10 laps): 1. Rick Eckert; 2. Mike Balzano; 3. Jackie Boggs; 4. Scott Bloomquist; 5. Dick Schlitz; 6. Tim Dohm; 7. Gerald Mintz; 8. Clint Smith; 9. Jeff Smith; 10. Steve Shaver; 11. Brian Nutall.

First Last Chance Race (10 laps): 1. Chris Madden; 2. Chuck Harper; 3. Jeep Van Wormer; 4. Furman Parton; 5. Ricky Arms; 6. Mike Duvall; 7. Ed Gibbons; 8. Doug Sanders; 9. Matt Miller; 10. Steve Casebolt; 11. Greggy Oliver; 12. Ed Basey; 13. Scott James; 14. Josh McGuire; 15. Ken Schrader; 16. Tim McCreadie; 17. Tracy Tapley.

Second Last Chance Race (10 laps): 1. Garrett Durrett; 2. Ricky Weeks; 3. Jimmy Owens; 4. G.R. Smith; 5. Ray Cook; 6. Stacy Holmes; 7. Shane Tankersley; 8. D.J. Miller; 9. Richard Jarvis Jr.; 10. Mike Benedum; 11. Bill Bray; 12. Scott Shirey; 13. Jordan Bland; 14. Troy Eads; 15. Phil Gann; 16. James Tesch Jr.

Third Last Chance Race (10 laps): 1. Michael England; 2. Dennis Franklin; 3. Jonathan Davenport; 4. Tim Dohm; 5. Jimmy McCormick; 6. Jeff Smith; 7. Gerald Mintz; 8. Brian Ledbetter; 9. Robby Bailey; 10. Freddy Smith; 11. Dick Schlitz; 12. Brian Nutall; 13. Scott Bloomquist; 14. Clint Smith; 15. Steve Shaver; 16. Greg Roberson.

Jani-King Southern Showdown Feature (50 laps): 1. Billy Moyer, 2. Shannon Babb; 3. Earl Pearson Jr.; 4. Mike Balzano; 5. Rick Eckert; 6. Donnie Moran; 7. Steve Francis; 8. Damon Eller; 9. Billy Hicks; 10. Scott James; 11. Vic Hill; 12. Garrett Durrett; 13. Dennis Franklin; 14. Chuck Harper; 15. Matt Miller; 16. Jonathan Davenport; 17. Brad Neat; 18. Petey Ivey; 19. Jimmy Owens; 20. Mike Marlar; 21. Jeep Van Wormer; 22. Jackie Boggs; 23. Larry Blankenship; 24. Dan Stone; 25. Ricky Weeks; 26. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth; 27. Josh Richards; 28. Michael England; 29. Chris Madden.