It's officially summer and the racing got even hotter at Charlotte Motor Speedway Tuesday as wild crashes and a back flip highlighted round three of the Summer Shootout Series. Daniel Hemric, Scott Hensley and Matthew Linker were among the night's feature winners.

Hemric, of Kannapolis, N.C., made contact with Scott Knox as he took the lead with two laps remaining in the Bath Fitters Legends Car Pro feature. Hemric then cruised to the checkered flag to claim his fifth career Summer Shootout Series win. Upon exiting his car, Hemric performed a crowd-pleasing back flip before accepting his trophy.

The contact between the two sent Knox's car into a spin causing him to fall to the sixth position.

Tyler Green worked his way through the field from his 11th-place starting position to finish second while Will Prance finished third.

Starting in the fourth position, Hensley of Olive Branch, Miss., took the lead on Lap 5 and held on to claim his first victory of the season in the Young Lions division.

The feature saw several cautions that forced the race to be shortened to just 11 laps. An incident on Lap 9 set up a two-lap shootout to the finish. Hensley held off Blake Jones by a nose while a fierce wreck occurred in Turn 4 as the cars battled to the checkered flag.

The win was Hensley's third in the Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Jones finished second with Travis Brayden following closely behind.

Linker of Mt. Pleasant, N.C., lit up his tires doing donuts for the crowd after he won the Bandolero Young Guns/Outlaws feature that began with a wild crash in Turn 1 on the second lap.

Linker got his second Summer Shootout victory of the 2009 season but not before an intense battle with Justin Carroll. The two raced nose to tail for most of the 20-lap feature and were side by side coming to the stripe as Linker took the checkered flag.

Carroll settled for second and Annabeth Barnes moved through the field to claim third.

Other feature winners include Hoyt Demis of Archdale, N.C., in the Legends Car Masters division; Jeff Bolen of Lexington, S.C., in the Briggs Collision Legends Car Semi-Pro feature; and Kyle Weatherman of Wentsville, Mo., in the Bandolero Bandits division.

There will be fireworks on and off the track Tuesday night, June 30 when the 16th annual Summer Shootout Series celebrates Independence Day with Harrisburg Fireworks Night.

In addition to a full slate of Legends Car and Bandolero racing, a crazy CRASHCar Trailer Race of Destruction will be part of the action. The fireworks extravaganza will follow the racing program at approximately 10:15 p.m. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30. 

The results:

Bath Fitter Legends Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. Tyler Green; 3. Will Prance; 4. Steven Ross; 5. Zac Kittle; 6. Scott Knox; 7. Justin Lloyd; 8. Brandon Thomson; 9. John Freeman; 10. Austin Hill; 11. Currie Pierce; 12. Taylor Hull; 13. Steven Cantrell; 14. Samuel McAulay; 15. Bayley Currey; 16. Jimmy Heavlow; 17. Kyle Beattie; 18. Michael Van Wingerden; 19. Trey Eidson; 20. Brandon Lynn; 21. Andrew Smith; 22. Dustin Ash; 23. Kyle Grissom; 24. Brian Ouimette; 25. Justin Swilling; 26. Ronnie Bassett; 27. Derek Forhilch; 28. John Ellenburg.

Briggs Collision Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Jeff Bolen; 2. R.S. Senter; 3. Andrew Carlsen; 4. Tyler Kivett; 5. Hunter Bledsoe; 6. Kenzie Ruston; 7. Brandon McKenzie; 8. Jerry Lambert; 9. Dennis Kiser; 10. Zach Weaver; 11. Robert Kuczmarski; 12. Kyle Pierce; 13. Kodi Sunley; 14. Brett Coon; 15. Bailey Freeman; 16. Duke Furr; 17. Houston McCoy; 18. Gregory Lang.

Legends Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. Hoyt Demis; 2. Clay Hair; 3. John Sossoman; 4. Tom Van Wingerden; 5. Dennis White; 6. Charles Kiser; 7. Jan Ingram; 8. Gary Shannon; 9. Chip Ferguson; 10. David Denham; 11. Eddie Harwell; 12. Bobby Pence; 13. John Davis; 14. Todd Johnson; 15. Bruce Silver; 16. Jackie Ryan; 17. Todd Adams; 18. Kevin Aube; 19. Carlos Moore; 20. Phil Sharpe; 21. Jamie Smith; 22. Dave Winston; 23. Glen Aikenhead; 24. Jimmy Gurley; 25. Larry Friddle.

Legends Car Young Lions Feature (11 laps): 1. Scott Hensley; 2. Blake Jones; 3. Travis Braden; 4. Dale Dodge Jr.; 5. Dusty Summers; 6. Jake Morris; 7. Chad Finchum; 8. William Allen; 9. Kyle Plott; 10. Nicholas Drake; 11. Cody Humphreys; 12. Justin Thomas; 13. Josh Morris; 14. Tyler Lester; 15. Austin McDaniel; 16. George Blaney; 17. Justin Grimes; 18. Matt Wallace; 19. Jake Knight; 20. Zachary Hausler; 21. Corey Gordon; 22. Hayden Reeves; 23. Harrison Rhodes; 24. Dillon Bassett; 25. Evan Swilling; 26. Noah Triplett; 27. William Cunningham; 28. Timmy Hill.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (14 laps): 1. Kyle Weatherman; 2. Dalton Sargeant; 3. Logan Sargeant; 4. Kodie Conner; 5. Carson Ferguson; 6. Clayton Weatherman; 7. Ray Beebe; 8. Brandon Bassett; 9. Gray Gaulding; 10. Austin Cindric; 11. Dalton Hill; 12. Garrett Biggers; 13. Kason Plott; 14. Cole Timm; 15. John Holleman; 16. Jon Meeks; 17. Austin Green; 18. T.J. Michael; 19. Paxton Parker; 20. Cole Custer; 21. A.J. Davis; 22. Jordan Plummer; 23. Tyler Dayton; 24. Macy Causey; 25. Trey Smith; 26. Hayden Humphrey; 27. Layton Sullivan; 28. Lucas Hedrick.

Bandolero Young Guns/Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Matthew Linker; 2. Justin Carroll; 3. Annabeth Barnes; 4. Luke Demis; 5. Austin Langenstein; 6. Evan Bell; 7. Coty Hartson; 8. Heather Lynn; 9. Chris Morgan; 10. Tyler Hill; 11. Dillon Spain; 12. Andrew Brown; 13. Reid Wilson; 14; Dillon Latour; 15. Ben Klatt; 16. Myatt Snider; 17. Brandon DeBrakeleer; 18. Joshua Plummer; 19. Adam Nelson; 20. Scott Beaver; 21. Craig Biryla; 22. Kayla Marshall; 23. Brandon Gordon; 24. Austin Mckee; 25. Spencer Boyd.