Fireworks on the track and in the sky thrilled a spectacular crowd during round four of the Summer Shootout Series on Harrisburg Fireworks Night at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Feature winners Scott Knox, Dennis Kiser and Ray Beebe brought as many "ooohs" and "aaahs" from the fans with their intense racing and last-lap passes as the aerial fireworks display at the conclusion of the night.

In the Bath Fitter Legends Car Pro division feature, a six-car pileup along the frontstretch forced a lengthy red flag that shortened the event to only five laps due to time constraints. However, the finish was nothing short of spectacular as Knox, of Cornelius, N.C., overtook Ronnie Basset in a dash to the finish.

After leading the first three laps, Basset restarted from the final caution with Knox tucked on his bumper. When the two entered Turn 3 on the final lap, Basset slid just high enough to give Knox room to pull alongside.

The two raced side-by-side down the front straightaway with Knox pulling ahead by a nose at the finish to capture the 12th win of his Summer Shootout Series career.

Basset settled for second with Will Prance crossing the line in third.

In another race littered with caution flags, the class of the field proved to be hometown boy Kiser, of Concord, N.C.

Kiser assumed the point on lap seven after a side-by-side battle with Zach Weaver. Once in front, Kiser held onto the lead until lap 13 where Andrew Carlsen took command. Carlsen’s lead didn’t last long as Kiser regained the top position one lap later and led the remainder of the race unchallenged.

Kyle Pierce came home second, while Carlsen finished third.

The win is Kiser’s second of the season and third overall in the Briggs Collision Semi-Pro division.

The Bandolero Bandits feature was only 14 laps, but that didn’t stop it from being one of the most thrilling shows of the season as Beebe, of Fort Mill, S.C., and Kyle Weatherman of Wentzville, Mo., dualed to a photo-finish.

Beebe started fifth but took the lead on lap five after battling side-by-side with John Holleman. Beebe cruised until Weatherman slipped passed him on lap 10.

The two young drivers switched the lead numerous times and traded paint all the way to the finish line where Beebe clipped Weatherman by only .096 seconds.

Beebe celebrated his second win of the season in the division for drivers ages 8 to 11 while Weatherman scored second. Gray Gaulding finished third.

Other feature winners include John Sossoman, of New London, N.C., in the Legends Car Masters division; Justin Grimes, of North Wilkesboro, N.C., in the Legends Car Young Lions feature; Evan Bell, of Buford, Ga., in the Bandolero Young Guns/Outlaws division; and Rusty Drye, of Rockwell, N.C., piloting the Vigilante machine in the CRASHCars.

The Summer Shootout Series will reach the half-way point Tuesday night, July 7, as Lowe’s Motor Speedway presents the “Media Mayhem” School Bus Challenge during round five of the 10-week series. Local media personalities will be among those scheduled to battle in the enormous 13-ton vehicles.

In addition to the School Bus race, a full slate of Legends Car and Bandolero racing is on tap. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30. For more information, contact the Lowe’s Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS.


Bath Fitter Legends Car Pro Feature (5 laps): 1. Scott Knox; 2. Ronnie Bassett; 3. Will Prance; 4. Steven Ross; 5. John Freeman; 6. Austin Hill; 7. Michael Van Wingerden; 8. Daniel Hemric; 9. Currie Pierce; 10. Josh Williams; 11. Andrew Smith; 12. Justin Lloyd; 13. Steven Cantrell; 14. Trey Eidson; 15. Samuel McAulay; 16. John Hickler; 17. Justin Swilling; 18. Taylor Hull; 19. Bayley Currey; 20. Matthew Stover; 21. Brandon Thomson; 22. Jimmy Heavlow; 23. Brian Ouimette; 24. Zac Kittle; 25. Adam Gay; 26. Tyler Green; 27. Kyle Grissom; 28. Jesse Bunnell.

Briggs Collision Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (18 laps): 1. Dennis Kiser; 2. Kyle Pierce; 3. Andrew Carlsen; 4. Hunter Bledsoe; 5. Zach Weaver; 6. Kodi Sunley; 7. R.S. Senter; 8. Jeff Bolen; 9. Gregory Lang; 10. Kenzie Ruston; 11. Duke Furr; 12. Bailey Freeman; 13. Tyler Kivett; 14. Zach Zearfoss; 15. Jason Austin; 16. Brett Coon; 17. Robert Kuczmarski; 18. Jerry Lambert; 19. Houston McCoy; 20. Brandon McKenzie.

Legends Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. John Sossoman; 2. Clay Hair; 3. Hoyt Demis; 4. Charles Kiser; 5. Jan Ingram; 6. Tom Van Wingerden; 7. Todd Johnson; 8. Chip Ferguson; 9. John Davis; 10. Gary Shannon; 11. Dennis White; 12. Bruce Silver; 13. Jimmy Gurley; 14. Robert Skinger; 15. Christian Chapman; 16. Todd Adams; 17. Glen Aikenhead; 18. Roger Hefner; 19. Jackie Ryan; 20. Eddie Harwell; 21. Clayton Austin; 22. Phil Thompson; 23. Kevin Aube; 24. Brad Green; 25. Carlos Moore; 26. Jamie Smith; 27. Larry Friddle; 28. Phil Sharpe; 29. David Denham.

Legends Car Young Lions Feature (10 laps): 1. Justin Grimes; 2. Scott Hensley; 3. Harrison Rhodes; 4. Travis Braden; 5. Chad Finchum; 6. Kyle Plott; 7. Hayden Reeves; 8. Tyler Lester; 9. Corey Gordon; 10. Timmy Hill; 11. Dusty Summers; 12. Nicholas Drake; 13. Austin McDaniel; 14. Jake Morris; 15. Bryan Kolb; 16. Sean Shalvoy; 17. Jesse Little; 18. Josh Morris; 19. Jake Knight; 20. Jordan Stillwell; 21. Blake Jones; 22. Dale Dodge Jr.; 23. Cody Humphreys; 24. Joey Herques; 25. Dillon Bassett; 26. William Allen; 27. Noah Triplett; 28. Zachary Hausler.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (14 laps): 1. Ray Beebe; 2. Kyle Weatherman; 3. Gray Gaulding; 4. Clayton Weatherman; 5. Dalton Hill; 6. Kason Plott; 7. John Holleman; 8. A.J. Davis; 9. Cole Custer; 10. T.J. Michael; 11. Logan Sargeant; 12. Cole Timm; 13. Garrett Biggers; 14. Lucas Hendrick; 15. Jon Meeks; 16. Brenn Allen; 17. Austin Cindric; 18. Jeffrey Stanton; 19. John “Matt” Murphy; 20. Jordan Plummer; 21. Paxton Parker; 22. Tyler Dayton; 23. Dalton Sargeant; 24. Carson Ferguson; 25. Garrett Sargeant; 26. Brandon Bassett; 27. Kodie Conner; 28. Austin Green.

Bandolero Young Guns/Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Evan Bell; 2. Annabeth Barnes; 3. Luke Demis; 4. Justin Carroll; 5. Reid Wilson; 6. Andrew Brown; 7. Dillon Spain; 8. Tyler Hill; 9. Ben Klatt; 10. Scott Beaver; 11. Austin Langenstein; 12. Brandon DeBrakeleer; 13. Heather Lynn; 14. Joshua Plummer; 15. Dillon Latour; 16. Craig Biryla; 17. Kayla Marshall; 18. Matthew Linker; 19. Myatt Snider; 20. Chris Morgan; 21. Coty Hartson; 22. Zachary Dunn; 23. Ryan Mackintosh.

CRASHCar Feature (8 laps): 1. Rusty Drye; 2. Kirby Allen; 3. Kenneth Deese; 4. Matt Drye; 5. Jeremy Troiano; 6. Jerry White; 7. Jason Campbell