Burt Myers, driver of the No. 1 Ford, took home the victory in the inaugural NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, the UNOH Southern Slam 150, on Thursday night.

Tim Brown finished second, while Zach Brewer finished third. John Smith brought his car home in the fourth spot and Daniel Hemric, winner of the Legends Million, finished fifth in his second start in a NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race.

“This was a race we were looking forward to,” said Myers. “I was glad it was the last race of the season that would decide the championship.”

With the win, Myers also won the 2010 NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship in one of the closest points battles in series history. He came into the night fourth in the standings.  Myers is also the 2010 track champion at Bowman Gray Stadium.

Tickets for Friday’s Dollar General 300 and Saturday’s Bank of America 500 are still available and can be purchased online at www.charlottemotorspeedway.com or by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267). The Bank of America Fan 4 Pack includes tickets, hot dogs and Coca-Cola drinks starting at just $39.75 per person.

For updates on October race activities, connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at www.twitter.com/CLTMotorSpdwy or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/charlottemotorspeedway.

Unofficial Race Results:

1. Burt Myers; 2. Tim Brown; 3. Zach Brewer; 4. John Smith; 5. Daniel Hemric; 6. L.W. Miller; 7. Frank Fleming; 8. Johnny Sutton; 9. Jonny Kay Kievman; 10. Thomas Stinson; 11. Brandon Hire; 12. Gene Pack; 13. Brad Robbins; 14. Mike Norman; 15. Bryan Dauzat; 16. James Civali; 17. Jason Myers; 18. Andy Seuss; 19. Gary Putnam.