The crowd never experienced a dull moment Tuesday during Round Five of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The on-track battles heated up, causing plenty of drama between competitors as they reached the halfway point of the season. Daniel Hemric, Austin Green and Spencer Boyd were among the night’s feature winners.

Kannapolis, N.C., native, Hemric got his first win of the 2012 season in the Quaker Steak and Lube Pro feature.

Tyler Green jumped to the lead as the field went to green, but polesitter Matt Pappa reclaimed the point position on the backstretch. A caution on lap 5 would close the field back up, however Pappa maintained the lead on the restart. By lap 10, Green was back on Pappa’s bumper, knocking him as they went into Turn 3 and taking away the lead as Hemric followed behind to claim the second spot. Pappa was forced back to third.

The top three cars were nose-to-tail on lap 15 as Hemric made a move to the inside, taking the lead away from Green and putting distance on the field. A caution on lap 18 for a multi-car pileup involving Darrell Wallace, Jr., the point leader going into the night, would give Green and Pappa the last opportunity to take the lead from Hemric. The two couldn’t catch Hemric as he pulled away on the restart to take the win. Green settled for second and Pappa took third in the race that had a total of four cautions.

Austin Green, of Concord, N.C., held off the pack in the Bandolero Bandits feature. Green started fifth and took the lead on the lap 1 restart after a caution involving Hunter Richards and Kodie Conner.

By lap 2 Green already had a challenger as Cason Werner was on his bumper. The two swapped the lead multiple times throughout the race. It all came down to lap 19 when Green and Werner went into Turn 2 side-by-side. Werner, who was on the inside, went for the lead, but Green didn’t budge and Werner spun out.

Green drove on to capture his fourth win of the season, stretching out his points lead. Dawson Cram finished second and Kodie Conner crossed the line in third.

It was survival of the fittest in the NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro feature race as several cautions would take out a bulk of the competition and shorten the race to just 19 laps. Boyd, of Concord, N.C., was able to navigate through the wreckage to take the checkers and claim his second win of the year as the race ended under its fifth and final caution. Joey Mucciacciaro finished second and Ryan Mackintosh followed in third.

Pete “Rocket Man Junior” Sullivan, of Raleigh, N.C., took the win in the highly entertaining lawn mower feature event. Nine would start the race; only six would finish. In the closing laps any of the top four lawn mowers had a chance at victory, but it was Sullivan who came out on top to get the trophy. Jason “Racin’ Jason” Brown finished second and Kevin Ferguson took third.

Other winners of the night included Andy Hogan, of Decatur, Texas, in the Legend Car Young Lions feature, Jon Craig, of Charlotte, N.C., in the Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters feature, Tyler Lester, of Dallas, N.C., in the Bandolero Outlaws feature and DJ Canipe, of Fallston, N.C., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits feature.

The Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, July 24, with Round Six and the inaugural Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series Olympics. In addition to Legend Car and Bandolero racing, kids can sign up in the POWERADE Play Zone to participate in one of three challenges including tug of war, an egg toss and a dizzy bat tire roll challenge. The contests will take place in the infield grass of the frontstretch quarter-mile oval. Next Tuesday is also Summer Camp and Scouts Night. Young fans are encouraged to wear their summer camp shirt or scout uniform to gain free admission.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with opening ceremonies at 7 p.m. Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. The first 1,000 fans through the gates get a free water bottle courtesy of Jack in the Box.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at or become a Facebook fan at

The unofficial Round Five results:

Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. Tyler Green; 3. Matt Pappa; 4. Justin Swilling; 5. Sean Rayhall; 6. Gray Gaulding; 7. Kyle Plott; 8. Trey Edison; 9. Kyle Weatherman; 10. Austin Hill; 11. Gregory Lang; 12. Darrell Wallace, Jr.; 13. Evan Swilling; 14. Justin Carroll; 15. Jake Cole; 16. Dennis Kiser; 17. Baiden Heskett.

Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. Jon Craig; 2. Scott Whitaker; 3. Tom Pistone; 4. Brian Weimer; 5. Buddy Goudy; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Bruce Silver; 8. Chris Coker; 9. John Farguson; 10. Doug Kimble; 11. Darren Sanoum; 12. Kevin Aube; 13. Todd Bolin.

NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (19 laps): 1. Spencer Boyd; 2. Joey Mucciacciaro; 3. Ryan Mackintosh; 4. Amber Colvin; 5. Austin Reed; 6. Tyler Goodwin; 7. Tyler Hill 8. Myatt Snider; 9. Austin Landenstein; 10. Dylan Smith; 11. Drew Sciranko; 12. Joe Ryan Osborne; 13. Garrett Smithley; 14. Billy Webb; 15. Kevin Donahue; 16. Erik Nash; 17. Austin Allen; 18. Jordan Stillwell; 19. Zack Skolnick; 20. Adam Burton; 21. Cody Ware; 22. Kevin Ellison; 23. Ford Martin; 24. Jake Spillers; 25. David Garbo Jr. 

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (15 laps): 1. Andy Hogan; 2. Payton Ryan; 3. Chase Dowling; 4. Trey Jarrell; 5. Riley Halverson; 6. Ryan Shattuck; 7. Riley Thornton; 8. Joey Padgett; 9. Jared Irvan; 10. Kason Plott; 11. Carson Ferguson; 12. Jacob Schneider; 13. Kaz Grala; 14. Dylan Faggart; 15. Tyler Audie; 16. Doug Barnes; 17. Madeline Crane; 18. Kyle Donahue; 19. Reid Wilson; 20. Connor Pyle; 21. Matt Craig; 22. Trent Barnes; 23. Clayton Weatherman; 24. Brayton Haws; 25. Austin Cindric; 26. Steven Johns; 27. Joshua Plummer; 28. Tyler Janocha.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (10 laps): 1. Bandolero Outlaws Round Feature (10 laps): 1. Tyler Lester; 2. Layton Sullivan; 3. Seth Werner; 4. Ashley Caldwell; 5. Craig Biryla; 6. Teigan Deluca; 7. Jacob Brumagin; 8. Eric Brown; 9. Daniel Bedford; 10. Jacob Heafner; 11. Ronnie Goins; 12. Scott Joy; 13. Hannah Bell; 14. Jordan Plummer; 15. Alex Reece; 16. Jordan Locklear; 17. Nate Tretow; 18. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 19. Stefan Parsons; 20. Tal Davidson; 21. John Holleman; 22. Dylan Smith; 23. Tyler Farris; 24. Nicholas Ceraolo.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Austin Green; 2. Dawson Cram; 3. Kodie Conner; 4. Tyson Goudy; 5. Banks Johnson; 6. Enzo Fittipaldi; 7. Jack Fread; 8. Austin Janocha; 9. Cason Werner; 10. Hunter Richards; 11. Austin Powell; 12. Nick Craig; 13. Zachary Dabbs; 14. Sam Audie.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. DJ Canipe; 2. Elizabeth Montgomery; 3. Brayden Mander; 4. Brayde Miranda; 5. Sierra Brandt; 6. Grayson Bunrick; 7. Casey Kirwin; 8. Richie Kuty.