Under beautiful skies, the racing action was red hot at Round 2 of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series presented by HearUSA. Daniel Hemric, William Byron and Dawson Cram each took home a trophy. Fans were also treated to a special X Games-style exhibition to promote Charlotte's X Games bid, as well as an impressive school bus slobberknocker.

Greg Liddle, of Mount Pleasant High School, captured the win on the second night of principal school bus races after knocking James Carroll's bus over on its side on lap 8.

Drew Fitzgerald, of Wolf Meadow Elementary lead for much of the race, but rammed into the lapped bus of Chuck Borders, knocking Fitzgerald's radiator out and disabling his bus. Liddle claimed the victory, Brian Patterson, of Carl A. Furr Elementary, finished second, Borders, of Pitts School Road Elementary, came home third, Tripp Aldredge, of Harris Road Middle School, finished fourth, Tim Farrar of Northwest Cabarrus Middle School came home in fifth, Fitzgerald ended up sixth and Carroll, of Hickory Ridge Middle School, finished last.

After a thrilling last-lap battle for the lead in the Legend Car Pro division feature, Hemric, of Kannapolis, N.C., celebrated the win with a back flip. Hemric started fourth after the field was inverted, while Evan Swilling jumped out to an early lead.

Swilling gave up the lead to Jordan Black on lap 3, and the two swapped back and forth for several laps as Tyler Green and Hemric raced in third and fourth. Green nudged Swilling out of second on lap 24. During a late race caution, Hemric chose the outside lane for the restart and jumped out ahead of Black.

On the final lap, Green charged to the lead from third, but Hemric plunged past him in Turn 4 to take the victory. Green finished second, followed by Black, Joey Paggett and Justin Swilling to round out the top five.

Racing was tight from start to finish in Legend Car Young Lions feature but Charlotte-native Byron, prevailed in the end. Stevie Johns Jr. led the field to the green but was quickly contested by Byron. After a first-lap crash including Tripp Gerrald III and Stefan Parsons, Johns Jr. retook the lead on the restart.

After a four-lap battle for the top spot, Byron finally overtook Johns Jr. and went on to lead the rest of the race and earn his first Jack in the Box Summer Shootout win. With only two cautions total, Johns Jr. took home second place with Jared Irvan in third, Connor Pyle in fourth, and Michael Torres capping off the top five.

In a caution-filled race, Cram of Mooresville, N.C., emerged with a victory in the Bandolero Bandit feature race. Cram started in third place, but was a constant contender for the win. Cram took the lead on lap 3 after Chandler Smith, last night's Bandolero Bandit winner, ran his car into the wall on the frontstretch. Smith, who started on the pole, was forced to leave the race. After 15 laps and six cautions, Cram came out on top with Enzo Fittipaldi in second, followed by Kamera McDonald, Hayden Humphrey and Ryleigh Lemonds.


Other winners included Kevin Foisy, of Ottawa, Ont., Canada, in the Security Force Legend Car Masters division; Riley Halverson, of Edgerton, Wis., in the Legend Car Semi-Pro division; John Holleman, of Winston-Salem, N.C., in the Bandolero Outlaws division and Kayla Lyons, of Rock Hill, S.C., in the Beginner Bandits.

The 20th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, June 18, with Mascot Mania. In addition to the regular racing divisions, fans can see area mascots, including Lug Nut, go head-to-head in specially prepared go-karts.

Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with preliminary action starting at 5:10 p.m. Opening ceremonies are at 6:45 p.m. and feature races are scheduled to conclude by approximately 10 p.m.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit www.charlottemotorspeedway.com.

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at www.twitter.com/CLTMotorSpdwy or become a Facebook fan at www.facebook.com/charlottemotorspeedway.

The unofficial results:

Legend Car Pro Feature (30 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. Tyler Green; 3. Jordan Black; 4. Joey Paggett; 5. Justin Swilling; 6. Ryan Shattuck; 7. Kaz Grala; 8. Clayton Weatherman; 9. Kason Plott; 10. Dakota Baggette; 11. Gregory Lang; 12. Reid Wilson; 13. Kyle Beattie; 14. Tyler Lester; 15. TJ Michael; 16. Kory Abbott; 17. Evan Swilling; 18. Zane Smith.

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (30 laps): 1. Kevin Foisy; 2. Tom Pistone; 3. Scott Whitaker; 4. Rodney Tharp; 5. John Craig; 6. Eddie Harwell; 7. Bruce Silver; 8. Chip Ferguson; 9. Shawn Geisel; 10. Jamie Laine; 11. Jan Ingram; 12. Jamie Smith; 13. Robby Faggart; 14. Dean Bonessi; 15. Carl Cormier; 16. Mark Borchetta.

Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (30 laps): 1. Riley Halverson; 2. Austin Langenstein; 3. Joe Ryan Osborne; 4. Jay Coen; 5. Riley Thornton; 6. Joshua Brimecombe; 7. Luke Demis; 8. Billy Webb; 9. Joshua Turner; 10. Adam Welch; 11. Ryan Mackintosh; 12. Jacob Burkhalter; 13. Jordan Stillwell; 14. Craig Biryla; 15. Spencer Gallagher; 16. Devon Amos; 17. Joshua Plummer; 18. Ethan McMillon; 19. Robby Lyons; 20. Tyler Truex; 21. Tyler Hanberry; 22. Sheldon Crouse; 23. Hayden Reeves; 24. Brian Saunders; 25. Dylan Barbosa; 26. Enrique Contreras.  

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. William Byron; 2. Stevie Johns Jr.; 3. Jared Irvan; 4. Connor Pyle; 5. Michael Torres; 6. Stefan Parsons; 7. Tripp Gerrald III; 8. Trent Barnes; 9. Dillon Faggart; 10. Doug Barnes; 11. Seth Werner; 12. Matt Craig; 13. AJ Davis; 14. Jordan Mander; 15. Jeffrey Stanton; 16. Payton Ryan; 17. Joey Azzata.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. John Holleman; 2. Austin Green; 3. Alton Clark; 4. Jordan Plummer; 5. Alex Reece; 6. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 7. Chase Purdy; 8. Nicholas Ceraolo; 9. Hannah Bell; 10. Jack Fread; 11. Sprout Royal; 12. Eric Brown; 13. Austin Powell; 14. Ryan Pierce; 15. Nate Tretow; 16. Jacob Heafner; 17. Ashley Caldwell; 18. Banks Johnson; 19. Scott Joy; 20. Matthew Davey.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (15 laps): 1. Dawson Cram; 2. Enzo Fittipaldi; 3. Kamera McDonald; 4. Hayden Humphrey; 5. Ryleigh Lemonds; 6. Austin Saunders; 7. Noah Ewing; 8. D.J. Canipe; 9. Daniel Wilk; 10. Cason Werner; 11. Justin Taylor; 12. Richard Kuty; 13. Liz Montgomery; 14. Braydn Mander; 15. Zachary Dabbs; 16. Brayde Miranda; 17. Chandler Smith.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Kayla Lyons; 2. Matthew Eades; 3. Joshua Kossek; 4. Hunter Jarrett; 5. William Robusto; 6. Nick MacMillon; 7. Isabella Robusto.