A stellar crowd packed the stands on Tuesday night for the opening round of the 19th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series to witness  local principals battle in a school bus race on the frontstretch quarter-mile oval of Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Darin “Rowdy” Roberts, principal at Carl A. Furr Elementary School in Concord, N.C., came from fifth to first on the last lap to claim the victory over Lug Nut the world’s fastest mascot, in one of the best school bus races in the history of the Summer Shootout Series.

“I got lucky. I was just a survivor out there,” said Roberts. “I had a lot of fun out there, but it was ugly. It was a lot of fun to do it with these guys. These guys are all friends. We were just out there having a good time.”

It looked like Greg Liddle of Harold E. Winkler Middle School would get the win, but contact with Chuck Borders, from Pitts School Road Elementary School, coming out of the final turn, ruined his chances.

Lug Nut finished second; Borders finished third; Jim Carroll, from Hickory Ridge Middle School, finished fourth; Tim Farrar, from Northwest Middle School came in fifth; Adam Auerbach, from Wolf Meadow Elementary School, finished sixth; Greg Liddle, from Harold E. Winkler Middle School, finished seventh; and James Williams, from Harris Road Middle School followed in last place.

In Bandolero racing action, Austin Green, of Concord, N.C., took the victory in the Bandits division. Green, son of former NASCAR Nationwide Series champion David Green, took the lead on lap 4 and never looked back in a race that saw a total of five cautions. This was Green’s first win in the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series. Cason Werner finished second with Kodie Conner coming in at third.

Other winners of the night included Sam Audie, of Orlando, Fla., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits feature, Tyler Lester, of Dallas, N.C., in the Bandolero Outlaws feature and Trey Jarrell, from Martinsville, Va., in the Legend Car Young Lions feature.

The Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters, Quaker Steak & Lube Legend Car Pro and NOS Energy Semi-Pro feature races were postponed until next Tuesday due to inclement weather. The three divisions will run 15-lap features prior to next week’s scheduled races.

The 19th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, June 19, with Team Spirit Night and Mascot Mania presented by Old Navy. In addition to the regular racing divisions, fans can see area mascots, including Lug Nut, compete head-to-head in go karts. The first 1,000 fans through the gates get free taco coupons provided by Jack in the Box.

Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with preliminary action starting at 5:10 p.m. Opening ceremonies are at 6:45 p.m. and feature races are scheduled to conclude by approximately 10 p.m.

The third annual Legends Big Money 100, the biggest grassroots racing event of the year, will return to Charlotte Motor Speedway, July 2-3. Competitor registration for the event is still open online at www.charlottemotorspeedway.com. Tickets for the event are $10 for adults per day and children 13 and under get in free.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series or Legends Big Money 100, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit www.charlottemotorspeedway.com.

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at www.twitter.com/CLTMotorSpdwy or become a Facebook fan at www.facebook.com/charlottemotorspeedway.

The unofficial results:

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (18 laps): 1. Trey Jarrell; 2. Riley Thornton; 3. Andy Hogan; 4. Chase Dowling; 5. Reid Wilson; 6. Brayton Haws; 7. Riley Halverson; 8. Walker Yates; 9. Jarred Irvan; 10. Ryan Black; 11. Austin Blakenship; 12. Steven Johns; 13. Payton Ryan; 14. Kason Plott; 15. Madeline Crane; 16. Jacob Schneider; 17. Clayton Weatherman; 18. Doug Barnes; 19. Tyler Audie; 20. Conner Pyle; 21. Ryan Shattuck; 22. Kaz Grala; 23. Joey Padgett; 24. 89; 25. Austin Cindric; 26. Kyle Donahue; 27. Tyler Janocha; 28. Dylan Faggart.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1.Tyler Lester; 2. Dakota Ratcliff; 3. Stefan Parson; 4. Seth Werner; 5. Layton Sullivan; 6. Jacob Heafner; 7. Jonnie Varga; 8. Dylan Smith; 9. Craig Biryla; 10. Ashley Caldwell; 11. Jordan Locklear; 12. Tyler Farris; 13. Daniel Bedford; 14. Teigan Deluca; 15. Jensen Jorgensen; 16. John Kuczmarski; 17. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 18. Jordan Plummer; 19. Alex Reece; 20. Nicholas Cirvalo; 21. Eric Brown; 22. Scott Joy; 23. Hannah Bell; 24. Tal Davidson; 25. Ronnie Goins; 26. Taylor Jorgenson; 27. Jacob Brumagin.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Austin Green; 2. Cason Werner; 3. Kodie Conner; 4. Zachary Dabbs; 5. Jack Fread; 6. Kamera McDonald; 7. Nick Craig; 8. Banks Johnson; 9. Hunter Richards; 10. Enzo Fittipaldi; 11. Dawson Cram; 12. Carson Ware; 13. Austin Powell.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Sam Audie; 2. Ashton Higgins; 3. Richie Kuty; 4. Grayson Bunrick; 5. DJ Canipe; 6.Kasey Kirwin; 7. Elizabeth Montgomery; 8. Brayden Mander. DQ: Austin Janocha