Double, double, toil and trouble was the theme for Double Points Night in Round Seven of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Daniel Hemric, Kaz Grala and Austin Green had the right magic as they each scored victories in their respective divisions Tuesday evening.

In Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Pro action, Hemric, of Kannapolis, N.C., refused to be the bridesmaid as he fought for the lead throughout the 20-lap race. Getting his second feature win of the season, Hemric celebrated with his signature backflip.

Starting the race in third, Hemric took the point position on lap 5 from Dennis Kiser. Six laps later Matt Pappa took over the lead with a pass on the inside, shuffling Hemric back to third. A minor collision with Steven Cantrell moved Hemric to the fourth position, but he was able to work his way back towards the front. On the lap 19 restart, Hemric found himself in second and barreled past Pappa on the inside of Turn 1 to recapture the lead and cruise to the finish.

Evan Swilling came across the line second and Pappa followed in third.

Grala, of Westborough, Mass., started on the pole and went on to dominate the Legend Car Young Lions feature.

The race took a strange turn when a multi-car accident on lap 2 red-flagged the field after Riley Thornton’s car caught on fire. This was the first of many cautions in the race, which was shortened to just 10 laps and included a short break after the field had a hard time completing a successful restart.

Grala remained out front through all the chaos to get his first win of the season. Payton Ryan held off a hard-charging Chase Dowling to take second. 

In the Bandolero Bandits feature, Green, of Concord, N.C., kept up his win streak, getting his sixth victory of the season.

Green started fifth and made his way to the front of the pack, taking the lead from polesitter Zachary Dabbs on lap 7 and not looking back. The battle for second came down to Cason Werner and Kodie Conner. The two fought until the end for the runner-up spot, but on the final restart Werner would pull ahead for the position.

Other winners of the night included Jon Craig, of Davidson, N.C., in the Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters feature, Tyler Hill, of Port Tobacco, Md., in the NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro feature, Dakota Ratcliff, of Cornelius, N.C., in the Bandolero Outlaws feature and Liz Montgomery, of Charlotte, N.C., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits feature.

The 19th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, Aug. 7, with First Responders Night and the “Guns n’ Hoses” school bus race. In addition to the regular racing divisions, fans can watch as area police and firefighters compete in the final school bus slobberknocker of the Summer Shootout Series season. First responders can gain free admission by showing their police, firefighter or EMS IDs.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with opening ceremonies at 7 p.m. Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. The first 1,000 fans through the gates get a free water bottle courtesy of Jack in the Box.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at or become a Facebook fan at

The unofficial Round Seven results:

Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. Evan Swilling; 3. Matt Pappa; 4. Gregory Lang; 5. Kyle Weatherman; 6. Tyler Green; 7. Sean Rayhall; 8. Kyle Plott; 9. Justin Swilling; 10. Darrell Wallace Jr.; 11. Steven Cantrell; 12. Trey Edison; 13. Gray Gaulding; 14. Austin Hill; 15. Jake Cole; 16. Dennis Kiser.

Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. John Craig; 2. Bruce Silver; 3. Carl Cormier; 4. Rodney Tharp; 5. Tom Pistone; 6. Chris Coker; 7. Brian Weimer; 8. Scott Whitaker; 9 Jan Ingram; 10. John Farguson; 11 Darren Sansum; 12. Kevin Aube; 13. Shawn Geisel; 14. Todd Bolin; 15. Mark Moskowitz; 16. Jamie Smith; 17. Mark Green; 18. Dan Keaton.

NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (13 laps): 1. Tyler Hill; 2. David Garbo Jr.; 3. Joey Mucciacciaro; 4. Myatt Snider; 5. Spencer Boyd; 6. Dylan Smith; 7. Erik Nash; 8. Billy Webb; 9. Kevin Donahue; 10. Ford Martin; 11. Austin Reed; 12. Ryan Mackintosh; 13. Jessica Cann; 14. Tyler Goodwin; 15. Jack Spillers; 16. Jordan Stillwell; 17. Drew Sciranko; 18. Austin Langenstein; 19. Cody Ware; 20. Garrett Smithley; 21. Jay Coen; 22. Adam Burton; 23. Joe Ryan Osborne; 24. Justin Bolton.

Legend Car Young Lions (10 laps): 1. Kaz Grala; 2. Payton Ryan; 3. Chase Dowling; 4. Kason Plott; 5. Brayton Haws; 6. Steven Johns; 7. Dillon Faggart; 8. Riley Halverson; 9. Joey Padgett; 10. Reid Wilson; 11. Connor Pyle; 12. Jarred Irvan; 13. Austin Cindric; 14. AJ Davis; 15. Tyler Janocha; 16. Jacob Schneider; 17. Trent Barnes; 18. Tyler Audie; 19. Ryan Shattuck; 20. Joshua Plummer; 21. Carson Ferguson; 22. Clayton Weatherman; 23. Trey Jarrell; 24. Kyle Donahue; 25. Walker Yates; 26. Riley Thornton; 27. Doug Barnes; 28. Madeline Crane.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Dakota Ratcliff; 2. Stefan Parsons; 3. Layton Sullivan; 4. John Holleman; 5. Daniel Bedford; 6. Ashley Caldwell; 7. Tyler Farris; 8. Craig Biryla; 9. Dylan Smith; 10. Scott Joy; 11. Seth Werner; 12. Jordan Plummer; 13. Tyler Lester; 14. Nicholas Ceraolo; 15. Alex Reece; 16. Nate Tretow; 17. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 18. Jordan Locklear; 19. Teigan Deluca; 20. Eric Brown; 21. Hannah Bell; 22. Tal Davidson; 23. Ronnie Goins; 24. Jacob Heafner; 25. John Kuczmarski.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Austin Green; 2. Cason Werner; 3. Kodie Conner; 4. Austin Powell; 5. Dawson Cram; 6. Enzo Fittipaldi; 7. Austin Janocha; 8. Banks Johnson; 9. Jack Fread; 10. DJ Canipe; 11. Tyce Church; 12. Hunter Richards; 13. Zachary Dabbs.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Liz Montgomery; 2. Daniel Wilk; 3. Hayden Humphrey; 4. Sierra Brandt; 5. Grayson Bunrick; 6. Brayde Miranda; 7. Casey Kirwan; 8. Joe Redmond; 9. Richie Kuty.