Veteran Legend Car racer Doug Stevens, of Griffin, Ga., captured the pole for tomorrow’s prestigious Legends Big Money 100 A-Feature at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Boasting a total purse of $100,000, the Legends Big Money 100 is the biggest grassroots racing event in the country.

Stevens won the pole position as a result of his heat race victory and his top speed in Monday’s qualifying session. If he wins the 100-lap feature race tomorrow, he’ll claim the $25,000 first-place prize.

“It’s pretty exciting. I was on the pole for the first one, the million dollar race,” said Stevens. “I had a good race and had some bad luck at the end. I finished second. Hopefully this year we can start on the pole again and bring home the win.”

Two years ago, Stevens sat on the pole for the inaugural big money event at the speedway and led most of the race, only to lose it to Kannapolis, N.C., native Daniel Hemric, with 11 laps to go.

The top-20 positions were determined by combined points earned from each driver’s heat race finish and qualifying time. Austin Hill will start second, last year’s polesitter Steven Cantrell will start third, Darrell Wallace, Jr. will start fourth and Sam McAulay will round out the top five.

A total of seven Legends Big Money 100 division heat races were completed Monday to set the top-20 starting spots in Tuesday’s A-Feature. The remainder of the field will be set by Tuesday’s B-Features.

In other on-track action Monday night, five heat races were run in the Legend Car Semi-Pro/Young Lions division and two in the Legend Car Masters division. Like the Legends Big Money 100, the top-20 starting spots in Tuesday’s A-Feature races for each division were determined from combined points earned from each driver’s heat race finish and qualifying time. The remaining spots in each A-Main will be set by Tuesday’s B-Feature races.

Trey Jarrell, of Martinsville, Va., was the fastest qualifier and the winner of his heat race, earning him the pole position in the Legend Car Semi-Pro/Young Lions division for the A-Feature on Tuesday.

Kaz Grala, Brayton Haws, Chase Dowling and Reid Wilson clinched the rest of the top-five starting positions for the Legend Car Semi-Pro/Young Lion A-Feature.

Owensboro, Ky., native, Jeff Green, won his heat race in the Legend Car Masters division and was also fastest in qualifying, putting him on the pole.

Tom Pistone, Ira Luaghty, Chris Rodgers and Mark Green complete the top-five starting spots in the Legend Car Masters A-Feature.

In the Bandolero divisions, Austin Green claimed the pole in the Bandits feature and Tyler Lester will start first in the Outlaws feature race. Both were fastest in qualifying and won their respective heat races.

Tomorrow the Legends Big Money 100 continues with a full day of racing. Gates open at 9:30 a.m. with feature races starting at noon. The day will include a full slate of Legend Car and Bandolero action, concluding with the 100-lap Legends Big Money 100 A-Feature.

Popular radio personalities Ace and TJ and their band Charity Case will perform a pre-race concert at 6 p.m. while drivers participate in an autograph session on the frontstretch. Opening ceremonies for the Legends Big Money 100 A-Feature are set for 7:30 p.m.

After the checkers wave on the racing action on Tuesday night, the speedway will host the area’s first Fourth of July fireworks extravaganza.

Tuesday’s tickets for the Legends Big Money 100 are just $10 for adults and children ages 13 and under are free.

For additional information or tickets to the Legends Big Money 100, contact the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

For live updates during the Legends Big Money 100, follow hashtag #BigMoney100 on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #BigMoney100 in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at or become a Facebook fan at


Unofficial results:

Big Money 100 A-Feature Top-20 Starting Lineup: 1. Doug Stevens; 2. Austin Hill; 3. Steven Cantrell; 4. Darrell Wallace, Jr.; 5. Sam McAulay; 6. Brayton Haws; 7. Trey Jarrell; 8. Derek Shumaker; 9. Daniel Hemric; 10. Taylor Hull; 11. Tyler Green; 12. Reid Wilson; 13. Mason Massey; 14. Joey Mucciacciaro; 15. Connor Pyle; 16. Ryan Shattuck; 17. Justin Swilling; 18. Gregory Lang; 19. Kyle Plott; 20. Tyler Goodwin.

Bandolero Bandits Heat 1 (10 laps): 1. Austin Green; 2. Jeff Dunfee III; 3. Byson Goudy; 4. Connor Okrzesik; 5. Dalon Moore; 6. Austin Powerll; 7. Ivan Gudmestad.

Bandolero Bandits Heat 2 (10 laps): 1. Zachary Dabbs; 2. Dawson Cram; 3. Chandler Smith; 4. Sam Audie; 5.Noah Weaver; 6.Chaz Mansey.

Bandolero Outlaws Heat 1 (10 laps): 1.Tyler Lester; 2. Dakota Ratcliff; 3. Jacob Heafner; 4.Jonnie Varga; 5. Jensen Jorgenson; 6. Sprout Royal; 7. Alex Reece; 8.Clyde Tucker; 9. Trent Barnes.

Bandolero Outlaws Heat 2 (10 laps): 1. Seth Werner; 2. Stefan Parsons; 3. Taylor Jorgenson; 4. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 5. Jordan Locklear; 6. Hannah Bell; 7. Shawn Hooven.

Legend Car Semi Pro/Young Lions Heat 1 (12 laps): 1. Trey Jarrell; 2. Andy Hogan; 3. Connor Pyle; 4. Joey Mucciacciaro; 5. Nicholas Lascoula; 6. Tyler Goodwin; 7. Madeline Crane; 8. Trevor Collins; 9. Doug Barnes Jr.

Legend Car Semi Pro/Young Lions Heat 2 (12 laps): 1. Kaz Grala; 2. Jordan Black; 3. Ryan Shattuck; 4. Seth Adams; 5. Joey Padgett; 6. Myatt Snider; 7. Clayton Green; 8. Zack King; 9. Erik Nash.

Legend Car Semi Pro/Young Lions Heat 3 (12 laps): 1. Brayton Haws; 2. Spencer Boyd; 3. Kason Plott; 4. Austin Langenstein; 5. Austin Cindric; 6. Dillon Faggart; 7. Brandon Debrakeleer; 8. Tyler Audie; 9. Jeffrey Stanton.

Legend Car Semi Pro/Young Lions Heat 4 (12 laps): 1. Chase Dowling; 2. Josh Brimecombe; 3. Jared Irvan; 4. Clayton Weatherman; 5. Dylan Smith; 6. Chase Fitzgerald; 7. Austin Reed; 8. David Hudson.

Legend Car Semi Pro/Young Lions Heat 5 (12 laps): 1. Reid Wilson; 2. Payton Ryan; 3. Garrett Smithley; 4. Anthony Cataldi; 5. Tye Mihocko; 6. Grant Winchester; 7. Jordan Stillwell; 8. Ryan Hammar.

Legend Car Masters Heat 1 (12 laps): 1. Jeff Green; 2. Tom Pistone; 3. Chris Rogers; 4. Bruce Silver; 5. Eddie Harwell; 6.  Buddy Goudy; 7. Jan Ingram; 8. Chris Freeland; 9. Carl Cormier; 10. Casey Nash.

Legend Car Masters Heat 2 (12 laps): 1. Ira Laughy; 2. Mark Green; 3. Jack Dossey, Jr.; 4. Scott Anderson; 5. Kevin Foisey; 6. Tom Sherman; 7. Phillip Young; 8. Ron Mander; 9. Jamie Laine; 10. Todd Bolin.

Big Money 100 Heat 1 (12 laps): 1. Doug Stevens; 2. Tyler Green; 3. Michael Dabney, Jr.; 4. Ryan Shattuck; 5. Tye Mihocko; 6. Tyler Audie; 7. Christopher Freeland; 8. Jake Cole; 9. CJ Hulsey; 10. Garrett Smithley.

Big Money 100 Heat 2 (12 laps): 1. Austin Hill; 2. Reid Wilson; 3. Taylor Hull; 4. Tyler Goodwin; 5. Seth Adams; 6. Nicholas Lascoula; 7. Tyler Hill; 8. Tyler Sjoman; 9. Dillon Faggart; 10. Spencer Taylor.

Big Money 100 Heat 3 (12 laps): 1. Matt Pappa, 2. Connor Pyle; 3. Sam McAulay; 4. Kyle Beattie; 5. Devin McLeod; 6. Nick Pistone; 7. Doug Barnes; 8. Clayton Green; 9. Andy Hogan; 10. Evan Swilling.

Big Money 100 Heat 4 (12 laps): 1. Darrell Wallace, Jr.; 2. Justin Swilling; 3. Trey Jarrell; 4. Chase Dowling; 5. Sean Rayhall; 6. Brandon Debrakeleer; 7. Payton Ryan; 8. Myatt Snider; 9. Ronny Freeland; 10. Ryan Hammar.

Big Money 100 Heat 5 (12 laps): 1. Steven Cantrell; 2. Daniel Hemric; 3. Spencer Boyd; 4. Kaz Grala; 5. Alex Pacheco; 6. Jared Irvan; 7. Kason Plott; 8. Braiden Heskett; Zack King; 10. Jeffrey Stanton.

Big Money 100 Heat 6 (12 laps): 1. Brayton Haws; 2. Kyle Weatherman; 3. Derek Shumaker; 4. Dakota Baggette; 5. Kory Abbott; 6. TJ Michael; 7. Chase Fitzgerald; 8. Dustin Sword; 9. Brady Boswell.

Big Money 100 Heat 7 (12 laps): 1. Mason Massey; 2. Kyle Plott; 3. Gregory Lang; 4. Joey Mucciacciaro; 5. Nathan Wilson; 6. Ryan Lawler; 7. Christopher Freeland; 8. Jack Dossey, Jr.; 9. Austin Reed.