Friday night, all the action was at The Dirt Track at Charlotte as the World of Outlaws sprint cars took to the track for the Circle K NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown. Kasey Kahne Racing’s Joey Saldana took the win in a eventful 30-lap shootout.

Kraig Kinser started on the pole for the sprint car A-Main after winning the 6-lap dash. As they took the green flag, Sammy Swindell took the lead going into Turn 1, pulling away to a half-second lead until a caution came out on lap 7.

Saldana, who was running in second as the caution came out, took advantage of the restart, taking the lead from Swindell in the first turn. Saldana remained out front until lap 22, when Steve Kinser took the lead and put some distance on the field. Two laps later, Kinser would fall off the pace as a result of a flat left rear tire, allowing Saldana to reclaim the lead and take the win.

“We struggled with our car all night and we've been struggling for about a month, so (tonight) is really gratifying,” said Saldana. “Just a great effort by the whole Great Clips No. 9 and this is an awesome place to win at and especially live on SPEED, this is awesome.” 

This was Saldana’s third win at The Dirt Track at Charlotte and his third win of the season.

Donny Schatz finished second in the Circle K NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown followed by Craig Dollansky. Kraig Kinser and Cody Darrah rounded out the top five. The 30-lap race had six cautions.

NASCAR drivers and World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series team owners Kasey Kahne and Tony Stewart both raced the Outlaw Showdown and ran in the top 10 for most of the race. Kahne finished seventh while Stewart finished 19th after mechanical issues.

The three eight-lap sprint car heat races were won by Saldana, Kraig Kinser and Ed Lynch Jr. Last year’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Stewart won the B-Main.

In the NDRA crate late model A-Main, Mt. Holly, N.C., native Chris Ferguson got his first victory at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. Ron Parker led for most of the race after taking the lead away from pole-sitter Ferguson. The two battled side-by-side and Ferguson took the lead with only 5 laps to go on his way to getting the victory.

“I can't say enough about my crew. There's not one over here that's over the age of 21 on my crew tonight. Us young guys really (caught) up tonight and ran with the old guys,” said Ferguson. “We've (run) in about five or six races this year and we should've won five or six of them, but we only won one. It feels good to get this one.”

The race was marred by two cautions and a red flag on lap 2, which resulted from a crash involving Brad Smith barrel rolling down the frontstretch.

Tickets for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway can be purchased online at or by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267).

Connect with The Dirt Track at Charlotte by following on Twitter or becoming a fan of The Dirt Track at Charlotte’s Facebook page.


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars:

First Heat (8 laps): 1. Joey Saldana; 2. Kerry Madsen; 3. Steve Kinser; 4. Cap Henry; 5. Lucas Wolfe; 6. Greg Wilson; 7. Chris Myers; 8. Eric Riggins; 9. Brad Wickam; 10. Tony Stewart.

Second Heat (8 laps): 1. Kraig Kinser; 2. Donny Schatz; 3. Brad Sweet; 4. Jason Sides; 5. Kasey Kahne; 6. Craig Dollansky; 7. Bill Rose; 8. Garrett Dollansky; 9. Robby Boswell; 10. Mark Cole.

Third Heat (8 laps): 1. Ed Lynch Jr.; 2. Sammy Swindell; 3. Chad Kemenah; 4. Danny Holtgraver; 5. Matt Linder; 6. Rick Fraley; 7. Lance Moss; 8. Paul McMahan; 9. Cody Darrah.

Dash (6 laps): 1. Kraig Kinser; 2. Sammy Swindell; 3. Ed Lynch Jr.; 4. Joey Saldana; 5. Brad Sweet; 6. Steve Kinser; 7. Kasey Kahne; 8. Kerry Madsen; 9. Donny Schatz; 10. Lucas Wolfe.

B-Main (12 laps): 1. Tony Stewart; 2. Cody Darrah; 3. Bill Rose; 4. Chris Myers; 5. Paul McMahan; 6. Eric Riggins; 7. Brad Wickam; 8. Robby Boswell; 9. Lance Moss; 10. Garrett Dollansky.

A-Main (30 laps): 1. Joey Saldana; 2. Donny Schatz; 3. Craig Dollansky; 4. Kraig Kinser; 5. Cody Darrah; 6. Brad Sweet; 7. Kasey Kahne; 8. Jason Sides; 9. Kerry Madsen; 10. Chad Kemenah; 11. Cap Henry; 12. Ed Lynch Jr.; 13. Steve Kinser; 14. Greg Wilson; 15. Danny Holtgraver; 16. Bill Rose; 17. Eric Riggins; 18. Rick Fraley; 19. Tony Stewart; 20. Sammy Swindell; 21. Paul McMahan; 22. Lucas Wolfe; 23. Matt Linder; 24. Chris Myers.

NDRA Crate Late Models:

B-Main 1 (8 laps): 1. Rambo Franklin; 2. Jimmy Schiltz; 3. Jeff Smith; 4. Anthony Sanders; 5. Jeff Graves; 6. Chris Cheek; 7. Chris Hargett; 8. Justin Hudspeth; 9. Joel Bray; 10. Travis Steele; 11. Donnie Austin; 12. Ryan Atkins; 13. Kenny Ramsey; 14. Brandy Baker. 

B-Main 2 (8 laps): 1. Bob Robertson; 2. Timbo Mangum; 3. Mitchell Coble; 4. Corey Gordon; 5. Jonathan Edwards; 6. Steven Blanton; 7. Gib Gibbons; 8. Matthew Nance; 9. Dale Dodge; 10. Seth Key; 11. Landon Mitchell; 12. Greg Barker; 13. Troy Brady.

A-Main (25 laps): 1. Chris Ferguson; 2. Ron Parker; 3. Rambo Franklin; 4. Dan Breuer; 5. Jeff Smith; 6. Matt Long; 7. Bob Robertson; 8. Greg Clark; 9. Timbo Mangum; 10. Corey Gordon; 11. Anthony Sanders; 12. Jimmy Schiltz; 13. Steve Cooke; 14. Mitchell Coble; 15. Jonathan Edwards; 16. Jeff Graves; 17. Chris Cheek; 18. Michael Brown; 19. Gib Gibbons; 20. Steve Banal; 21. Kent Peckham; 22. Steven Blanton; 23. Brad Smith; 24. Donnie Austin.