The first of two nights of Traxxas TORC Series racing is in the books at The Dirt Track at Charlotte as Ricky Johnson, CJ Greaves, Andrew Caddell and Mitchell DeJong each took home wins after a night of tough off-road racing.

The biggest race of the night, the PRO 4 feature, was won by Johnson, of El Cajon, Calif. Johnson started in the fourth position, but quickly moved into third behind leader Scott Douglas and second place Adrian Cenni. The top three stayed together until a couple of quick moves by Johnson on lap 6 landed him in the top spot. Johnson took control of the rest of the race as many trucks had issues, including last year’s event winner Johnny Greaves and the No. 11 of Cenni.

Douglas finished second and Mike Jenkins, the president of Traxxas, finished third.

“You know, I’ve got to thank my whole crew,” said Johnson. “We had a good night, I'm gonna take it, we were able to get in front and move away. Scott is a hell of a competitor, he's getting his truck sorted out, Mike Jenkins is always right there so you can never count him out and then Johnny, he had a problem there at the end. I really want to congratulate tonight's winners.”

CJ Greaves claimed the victory in his first career PRO 2 race. Greaves ran in the top three for most of the night, but it looked like the No. 1 car of Bryce Menzies would win the race until he spun in the second turn on lap 17. The incident allowed Greaves to take the lead and eventually win the race. The No. 4 of Jeff Kincaid finished second and Menzies fought back to finish third.

“I don't even know what to say,” said Greaves, of Abrams, Wis. “My team put so much work into it. They built this truck new and we got to test it once and then brought it here. We had a lot of problems early in the week and they got it all figured out and here we are up top and I can't give enough thanks to them.”

The victory made 16-year-old Greaves the youngest driver ever to win a PRO 2 race.

In the PRO Light class, Caddell, of Graham, Wash., started in the fifth position but quickly moved through the field to take the top spot on lap 4. As he pulled away from the field the battle began for the rest of the top five positions with drivers going three wide several times attempting to claim the runner-up position. Caddell cruised to the win as Brad Lovell and CJ Greaves finished second and third.

“I knew the team was going to bring me a great truck this year like they did all year last year and you know, it was just up to me out there,” said Caddell. “They gave me the best equipment out there.”

Fourteen-year-old DeJong, from Temecula, Calif., won the Super Buggy race in a commanding fashion, taking the lead on lap 4 and never looking back. Andy Zipperer finished second and John Frana followed behind in third.

“I'm so happy. It was a little rough out there, on the start,” said DeJong. “I just took my time and made my way through and ended up on the podium.”

DeJong is the youngest driver to ever race in the Super Buggy Class and this was his first start in a TORC Series Super Buggy race.

Traxxas TORC Series racing continues tomorrow night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. Gates open at 3 p.m. with opening ceremonies scheduled for 6 p.m. Tickets for the Traxxas TORC Series event are just $20 for adults and free for kids 13 and under. To purchase tickets visit

Connect with The Dirt Track at Charlotte by following on Twitter at or by becoming a fan of The Dirt Track at Charlotte Facebook page.

Unofficial Results:

Super Buggy: 1. Mitchell DeJong; 2. Andy Zipperer; 3. John Frana; 4. Bob Klaus; 5. Steve Krieman; 6. Jeff Sleegers; 7. Jerry Weaver; 8. Michael Hester.

PRO Light: 1. Andrew Caddell; 2. Brad Lovell; 3. CJ Greaves; 4. Luke Johnson; 5. Keegan Kincaid; 6. Shawn Morris; 7. Ross Hoek; 8. Josh Hintz/Mitch Dorr; 9. Randy Eller; 10. Nick Baumgarter; 11. Matt Gerald/Jason Janusz; 12. Jeff Sleegers.

PRO 2: 1. CJ Greaves; 2. Jeff Kincaid; 3. Bryce Menzies; 4. Chad Hord; 5. Andrew Caddell; 6. Mike Oberg; 7. Mike Jenkins; 8. Jamie Grosser; 9. Steve Barlow; 10. Dan Schlieper.

PRO 4: 1. Ricky Johnson; 2. Scott Douglas; 3. Mike Jenkins; 4. Johnny Greaves; 5. Mark Jenkins; 6. Adrian Cenni.