It was a crazy night at the Circle K NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown as Paul McMahan, driver of the No. 83 for Roth Motorsports with Kasey Kahne Racing, claimed his first win at The Dirt Track at Charlotte on Saturday night.

After inclement weather postponed Friday night’s World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series race to Saturday, McMahan started second beside Sammy Swindell in the 24-car field. Swindell quickly drove away from the pack and looked as though he would claim victory, until he bumped into the lap car of Travis Philo on Lap 14. McMahan took advantage of the incident, sliding into first place. After completing the pass, McMahan had no competition as he took the checkered flag in the 30-lap event.

"Everything went our way at the end of the race," said McMahan. "This is a great race track to win at. I gave one away here years ago, but we got us a win early this year. Hopefully it's a sign of more wins to come in 2011."

The victory was McMahan’s ninth career World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series win and first of the 2011 season. McMahan came into the Circle K NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown seventh in points with four top fives and nine top tens. This is his ninth career World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series win.

Twenty-time World of Outlaws champion Steve Kinser came home in the second position with Donny Schatz, Jason Meyers and Lucas Wolfe rounding out the top five.

Two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart competed in the Circle K NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown and finished in the tenth position after starting 16th.

The race was slowed by five cautions, including a nasty wreck at the start, resulting in the sprint car of Matt Linder ending up on its roof.

The three, eight-lap sprint car heat races were won by Cody Darrah, Steve Kinser and Swindell.

Ron Parker, of Lawndale, N.C., cruised to a victory in the 25-lap NDRA Crate Late Model feature event after starting on the pole. Parker looked like he might have been in trouble when he spun out the No. 5 of Chase McCormick on Lap 14, but nothing could stop him as he crossed the finish line in front of runner-up Jimmy Schiltz and third-place Zack Mitchell.

Tickets for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway can be purchased online at or by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267). Fans can purchase two frontstretch tickets with the best views of the world’s largest HDTV for just $99.

Connect with The Dirt Track at Charlotte by following on Twitter or becoming a fan of The Dirt Track at Charlotte’s Facebook page.

World of Outlaws Sprint Cars
First Heat (8 laps): 1. Cody Darrah; 2. Joey Saldana; 3. Paul McMahan; 4. Brooke Tatnell; 5. Bill Rose; 6. Kraig Kinser; 7. Brad Sweet; 8. Jason Sides; 9. Mark Cole.
Did Not Start: Rick Fraley.

Second Heat (8 laps): 1. Steve Kinser; 2. Donny Schatz; 3. Kerry Madsen; 4. Chad Kemenah; 5. Craig Dollansky; 6. Jessica Zemken; 7. Brandon McLain; 8. Travis Philo; 9. Ben Gregg.

Third Heat (8 laps): 1. Sammy Swindell; 2. Lucas Wolfe; 3. Jason Meyers; 4. Kevin Swindell; 5. Tony Stewart; 6. Matt Linder; 7. Ed Lynch Jr.; 8. Brad Wickham; 9. Brandon Rekow.

Crane Cams Dash (6 laps): 1. Sammy Swindell; 2. Steve Kinser; 3. Paul McMahan; 4. Jason Meyers; 5. Bill Rose; 6. Cody Darrah; 7. Chad Kemenah; 8. Joey Saldana; 9. Donny Schatz; 10. Lucas Wolfe.

Last Chance Showdown (12 laps): 1. Jason Sides; 2. Brad Sweet; 3. Ed Lynch Jr.; 4. Travis Philo; 5. Brad Wickham; 6. Brandon McLain; 7. Mark Cole; 8. Brandon Rekow.

Feature (30 laps): 1. Paul McMahan; 2. Steve Kinser; 3. Donny Schatz; 4. Jason Meyers; 5. Lucas Wolfe; 6. Craig Dollansky; 7. Kerry Madsen; 8. Chad Kemenah; 9. Jason Sides; 10. Tony Stewart; 11. Joey Saldana; 12. Bill Rose; 13. Jessica Zemken; 14. Kraig Kinser; 15. Travis Philo; 16. Sammy Swindell; 17. Brooke Tatnell; 18. Brad Sweet; 19. Kevin Swindell; 20. Brandon McLain; 21. Cody Darrah; 22. Brad Wickham; 23. Matt Linder; 24. Ed Lynch Jr.

NDRA Crate Late Models
B-Feature #1: 1. Ryan Atkins; 2. Pat Lindsay; 3. Steve Banal; 4. Travis Blackwell; 5. Billy Thompson; 6. Greg Clark; 7. Ken Rominger Jr.; 8. Roddey Bolin; 9. Todd Davis; 10. Bryan Nance; 11. Edward Gibbons; 12. Steve Hendren; 13. Colby Fischlein.

B-Feature #2: 1. Dennis Franklin; 2. Chase McCormick; 3. Greg Barker; 4. Chris Cheek; 5. Danny Brewer; 6. Travis Steele; 7. Ronnie Mosley; 8. John Uhrin; 9. Charles Daugherty; 10. Richard Clew; 11. Seth Key; 12. Kenny Barnes.

Feature (25 laps): 1. Ron Parker; 2. Jimmy Schiltz; 3. Zack Mitchell; 4. Matt Long; 5. Anthony Sanders; 6. Donnie Austin; 7. Steve Hendren; 8. Danny Brewer; 9. Steve Banal; 10. Travis Blackwell; 11. Billy Thompson; 12. Chris Cheek; 13. Ken Rominger Jr.; 14. Pat Lindsay; 15. Travis Steele; 16. Kent Peckham; 17. Greg Clark; 18. Jay Sessions; 19. Chase McCormick; 20. Greg Barker; 21. Larry Blankship; 22. Tim Christie; 23. Dennis Franklin; 24. Ryan Atkins.