History-makers will witness history in the making at zMAX Dragway when the gold medal-winning four-man U.S. bobsled team will serve as Honorary Grand Marshals for the inaugural NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, March 25-28.

As Honorary Grand Marshals, the crew of the famous Night Train bobsled will be honored during pre-race festivities with a commemorative plaque, participate in a question and answer session during opening ceremonies and experience 32,000 horsepower first hand as they stand on the starting line for the first four-wide-pass during Sunday's eliminations.

"It's an honor to be named Grand Marshal for this event," said Steven Holcomb, pilot of the gold medal winning bobsled. "The support of the racing community has been instrumental in our success and it's great to have this opportunity. Now I get to cheer for some of our biggest advocates that have supported us over the last few years. They've earned this gold medal too."

The team, led by driver, Holcomb, and consisting of pushers Steve Mesler, Justin Olsen and Curt Tomasevicz, made history as they piloted the Night Train to a gold medal at the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, British Columbia. The victory marks the first time in 62 years the U.S. has won an Olympic gold medal in bobsled competition.

The Night Train entered the 2010 Olympic Games favored to win, but the journey back to Olympic gold began long ago. After watching the 1992 Winter Olympics and learning that the Americans' lack of performance was in part due to the second-hand European equipment they were using, NASCAR legend Geoff Bodine partnered with Chassis Dynamics to form the Bo-Dyn Bobsled Project. Their goal was to reinvent the U.S. sleds using racing technology and to provide the bobsled teams with American-made machines.

The Bo-Dyn Bobsled Project has attracted major interest from the motorsports community. NHRA drag racers Morgan Lucas, Jeg Coughlin Jr., Shawn Langdon and Melanie Troxel are major supporters of the project through the Geoff Bodine Bobsled Challenge, which raises funds to build state-of-the art bobsleds, including the Night Train sled the team used to win the Olympic gold.

The bobsled challenge attracts drivers from NHRA and NASCAR and puts them head-to-head in a charity event held each January in Lake Placid, N.Y. This year Melanie Troxel edged out Jeg Coughlin to take the gold in the Olympic Style race, while NASCAR driver Joey Logano was victorious in the NHRA vs. NASCAR portion of the event.

In addition to their Honorary Grand Marshal duties, the four-man team will have an autograph session during zMAX Fan Fest located in the pavilion behind the John Force Grandstand and adjacent to the staging lanes.

"I am so excited to be honored in this way by the racing community," said Steve Mesler. "The NHRA has been such a key supporter of the Bo-Dyn project so I can't wait to get down to zMAX Dragway and share the medal with the entire racing world. This will be my first NHRA event and I can't wait to see these athletes compete."

Single-day tickets for the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals start at only $25 and can be obtained by calling the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS or shopping online. Convenient, interest-free payment plan options and affordable multi-day ticket packages are available. Connect with zMAX Dragway and stay up to speed with all the happenings at the Bellagio of drag strips on Facebook at www.facebook.com/zmaxdragway.