Once again, Pennzoil is taking its role in the Pennzoil UltraTM Victory Challenge to the ultimate level by allowing one lucky fan the chance to ride shotgun with Kevin Harvick during the 2010 event. The third annual Pennzoil UltraTM Victory Challenge is set for May 22, 2010, at Charlotte Motor Speedway as part of the Sprint All-Star Race pre-event festivities.

The Pennzoil UltraTM Victory Challenge is NASCAR's version of a "slam dunk contest," with the sport's top talent showing off their post-win burnout celebration abilities in classic NASCAR tire-smoking-donut style.  

One fan who enters the Pennzoil online sweepstakes will be randomly selected to ride "shotgun" during the Pennzoil UltraTM Victory Challenge with Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 29 Pennzoil Ultra Chevrolet, 2009 Pennzoil Victory Challenge winner and 2007 NASCAR Sprint All-Star champion.  The Pennzoil UltraTM Victory Challenge "Ride Shotgun Sweepstakes" online promotion runs from April 1st - May 5th. Fans can register online and get complete sweepstakes rules.

"Victory burnouts remind us of the exhilaration drivers can feel when their car's engine is running clean with Pennzoil UltraTM", said Debbie Van Schalkwyk, Pennzoil Global Brand Manager. "It takes a clean-running engine to make it to Victory Lane, and that is why Pennzoil UltraTM is proud to be the title sponsor of this great event.   Nothing keeps your engine closer to factory clean than Pennzoil UltraTM."

The makers of Pennzoil® motor oils announced the launch of Pennzoil UltraTM in March 2010.  This new, ultra-class motor oil became a reality after years of collaboration between the Pennzoil® brand team and Shell Lubricants' global technology team to formulate a motor oil that helps to keep engines as close to factory clean as possible.  The advanced proprietary synthetic formula of Pennzoil UltraTM motor oil with Hyper Cleansing TechnologyTM far exceeds most car manufacturers' most stringent standards for cleanliness and protection--nothing keeps an engine closer to factory clean. Plus, Pennzoil UltraTM not only helps prevent sludge and other deposits, but also cleans up existing sludge. And no leading synthetic motor oil provides better wear protection than Pennzoil UltraTM.

The Pennzoil UltraTM Victory Challenge has become a star-studded event with celebrity judges, the biggest names in NASCAR competing, and interactive fan involvement.  Celebrity judges and drivers will be announced in the weeks leading up to the event.

Seven drivers will compete in the Victory Challenge, in stock cars identically prepared by the NASCAR Racing Experience.  Similar to 2009, judges will score the drivers' creativity in a 30-second freestyle burnout.  This year, however, drivers can also gain bonus points by knocking down strategically placed obstacles.  Drivers will start from turn four and will trigger the 30-second "Pennzoil UltraTM Countdown Clock" as they cross the starting line.  The driver with the most points, including the creativity score from the judges and any bonus points, will be declared the winner, with $10,000 awarded to his or her charity of choice.  

"The Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge is such a cool event," said Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 29 Shell Pennzoil Chevrolet and winner of the 2009 Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge.  "It's awesome that Pennzoil found a way to put together a unique event that is fun and entertaining for both the fans and the drivers.  It gives drivers a whole different level to compete on, and what could be better than having bragging rights for the best burnout?

"This year, the No. 29 has Pennzoil Ultra both on the paint scheme and under the hood for the Sprint All-Star Race.  We won with Ultra under the hood the first time we ran it in the Budweiser Shootout earlier this year and we'll also be running Ultra under the hood for the Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge, so hopefully we can smoke the competition once again."

The Pennzoil UltraTM Victory Challenge will be televised live on Saturday, May 22 at 6:15 p.m. ET during SPEED's pre-race coverage prior to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Showdown and NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star Race.