Two-time defending World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion Josh Richards led all 50 laps, capturing his fourth feature win at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, Wednesday night, in the World of Outlaws Late Model Showdown.

The Shinnston, W. Va., native, started second behind pole-sitter Tyler Reddick, but quickly took the lead away on lap one and never looked back as he ran away with the win. Jared Landers rapidly moved up through the field, battling back and forth with Steve Shaver for the second position but lost his right rear wheel on lap 37, taking him out of out of the race.

Rick Eckert, the current series points leader, started the race in fourth but fell back to fifth for most of the race. The veteran was able to capitalize on Landers’ misfortune and moved up to finish fourth, maintaining the points lead. Shaver finished second and Clint Smith crossed the line in third.

“I just want to thank all the fans that came out tonight,” said Richards. “I know it's raining out. I gotta thank the guys from Roush-Yates. This win goes to my uncle Roger. He passed away last week and that was really tough, so this win definitely goes to him. It was a lot of fun.”

The win was Richard’s ninth of the season, tying a series record set by Scott Bloomquist in 2004. The victory puts him only 14 points behind Eckert in the championship standings.

“Rick's done a heck of a job all year. They've been really competitive and really good all year. We've hit a lot of bumps on the road, but it's still been a phenomenal year for us, so whatever happens it's been a great year.”

The NDRA Modz “Road Show” 30-lap feature has been rescheduled to Thursday, Nov. 3, due to weather. The event will be held in conjunction with the first day of the World of Outlaws World Finals. Fans can bring in their ticket stub from the Late Model Showdown and get a discount on their Thursday ticket.

Tickets for Friday’s Dollar General 300 Miles of Courage and Saturday’s Bank of America 500 are still available and can be purchased online at or by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267).

Connect with The Dirt Track at Charlotte and stay up to speed on all the action at the clay oval on Facebook at and by following on Twitter at

The unofficial results:

World of Outlaws Late Models

Qualifying Results: 1. Josh Richards; 2. Tyler Reddick; 3. Steve Shaver; 4. Jared Landers; 5. Rick Eckert; 6. Austin Hubbard; 7. Chub Frank; 8. Dennis Franklin; 9. Chris Madden; 10. Shane Clanton; 11. Austin Dillon; 12. Clint Smith; 13. Chip Brindle; 14. Tim McCreadie; 15. Pat Doar; 16. Donald Bradsher; 17 Dale McDowell; 18. Darrell Lanigan; 19. John Lobb; 20. Ty Dillon; 21. Tim Fuller; 22. Vic Coffey; 23. Ron Davies; 24. Dane Burns; 25. Kyle Pierce; 26. Ross Bailes.

First Heat (10 laps): 1. Josh Richards; 2. Jared Landers; 3. Shane Clanton; 4. Chub Frank; 5. Chip Brindle; 6. Donald Bradsher; 7. Vic Coffey; 8. John Lobb; 9. Kyle Pierce.

Second Heat (10 laps): 1. Tyler Reddick; 2. Rick Eckert; 3. Dennis Franklin; 4. Dale McDowell; 5. Tim McCreadie; 6. Ron Davies; 7. Ty Dillon; 8. Austin Dillon.

Third Heat (10 laps): 1. Steve Shaver; 2. Austin Hubbard; 3. Chris Madden; 4. Clint Smith; 5. Pat Doar; 6. Tim Fuller; 7. Dane Burns; 8. Darrell Lanigan; 9. Jonathan Davenport.

Last Chance Qualifier (12 laps): 1. Vic Coffey; 2. Ty Dillon; 3. John Lobb; 4. Austin Dillon; 5. Jonathan Daventport; 6. Dane Burns; 7. Kyle Pierce; 8. Darrell Lanigan; 9. Ross Bailes.

Feature (50 laps): 1. Josh Richards; 2. Steve Shaver; 3. Clint Smith; 4. Rick Eckert; 5. Tyler Reddick; 6. Shane Clanton; 7. Chub Frank; 8. Chris Madden; 9. Austin Hubbard; 10. Tim Fuller; 11. Ron Davies; 12. Tim McCreadie; 13. Darrell Lanigan; 14. Dennis Franklin; 15. Jared Landers; 16. Chip Brindle; 17. Austin Dillon; 18. Ty Dillon; 19. John Lobb; 20. Vic Coffey; 21. Pat Doar; 22. Dale McDowell; 23. Donald Bradsher; 24. Kyle Pierce.

National Dirt Racing Association Modz Series

Qualifying Results: 1. Nick Stroupe; 2. Derrick Ramey; 3. Ken Schrader; 4. Manuel Johnson; 5. Danny Bohn; 6. Bryan Ayers; 7. Craig Robinson; 8. Taylor Cook; 9. Gary Brooks; 10. Mack Coxe; 11. Wayne Gray Jr.; 12. Chris Dunlap; 13. Ricky Bohan; 14. Troy Loomis; 15. Roger Moser; 16. Jacob Hauser; 17. Bobby Measmer Jr.; 18. Terry Worley; 19. Shawn Martin; 20. Austin Langenstein; 21. Brent Glaseter; 22. Micheal Yanke; 23. James Henry; 24. Robert Miller; 25. James McCreary.

Last Chance Qualifier # 1 (10 laps): 1. Ricky Bohan; 2. Wayne Gray Jr.; 3. Roger Moser; 4. Bobby Measmer Jr.; 5. Shawn Martin; 6. Brent Glaseter; 7. Craig Brown; 8. James Henry; 9. James McCreary.

Last Chance Qualifier # 2 (10 laps): 1. Kyle Strickler; 2. Troy Loomis; 3. Terry Worley; 4. Jacob Hauser; 5. Michael Yanke; 6. Robert Miller; 7. Austin Langenstein; 8. Chris Dunlap.