Four-time consecutive World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion Donny Schatz took home his fourth win at The Dirt Track at Charlotte with a victory in Saturday night’s Circle K NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown.

After inclement weather postponed Friday night’s race to Saturday, Schatz started second on the outside of the front row in the 24-car field and quickly took the lead on Lap 1. Schatz remained in the point position for all but one lap of the 30-lap feature as he and Kasey Kahne Racing’s Joey Saldana traded positions in Turn 4 on Lap 26. Schatz regained the top spot going into the backstretch and never looked back leading the remaining four laps en route to his victory at the four-tenths-mile clay oval, taking home the $12,000 top prize.

“He got by us and spoiled our night here last year when he won the race,” Schatz said of Saldana. “But it feels awesome to get to Victory Lane in Charlotte. It’s only our second win this year but I’ll take what I can and it feels awesome.”

The win was Tony Stewart Racing’s second of the season with Schatz who started racing for Stewart full-time in 2008.

“Tony Stewart Racing gave me the opportunity to continue my championship streak with a core group of people,” said Schatz. “I hope that we can go down to the end of the year and be fighting neck and neck for the championship.”

Saldana came home in the second position, and Lucas Wolfe, Steve Kinser and Danny Lasoski rounded out the top five.

The race was slowed by two cautions as Tim Perry and Ed Lynch Jr. got together on Lap 10 and Sammy Swindell slowed on Lap 15 due to a flat right rear tire.

The eight-lap sprint car heat races were won by Steve Kinser, Chad Kemenah and Sammy Swindell. Saldana won the Crane Cams Dash to earn the pole position for the feature.

Tickets for Sunday’s 51st running of the Coca-Cola 600 are still available and Friends and Family four-pack tickets start at just $39.75 per person. For more information visit or call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS.

Connect with The Dirt Track at Charlotte by following on Twitter or becoming a fan of The Dirt Track at Charlotte’s Facebook page.

The results:

World of Outlaws Sprint Cars

First Heat (8 laps): 1. Steve Kinser; 2. Donny Schatz; 3. Jason Meyers; 4. Jac Haudenschild; 5. Kraig Kinser; 6. Ben Gregg; 7. Jeff Taylor.

Did not start: Sam Hafertepe Jr.

Second Heat (8 laps): 1. Chad Kemenah; 2. Lucas Wolfe; 3. Danny Lasoski; 4. Toni Lutar; 5. Craig Dollansky; 6. Erin Crocker; 7. Brian Ellenberger; 8. Tim Perry.

Third Heat (8 laps): 1. Sammy Swindell; 2. Joey Saldana; 3. Jason Sides; 4. Paul McMahan; 5. Ed Lynch Jr.; 6. Matt Linder; 7. Jack Helget; 8. Bob Howard.

Crane Cams Dash (6 laps): 1. Joey Saldana; 2. Donny Schatz; 3. Chad Kemenah; 4. Danny Lasoski; 5. Paul McMahan; 6. Lucas Wolfe; 7. Steve Kinser; 8. Sammy Swindell; 9. Jason Meyers; 10. Toni Lutar.

Feature (30 laps): 1. Donny Schatz; 2. Joey Saldana; 3. Lucas Wolfe; 4. Steve Kinser; 5. Danny Lasoski; 6. Jason Sides; 7. Paul McMahan; 8. Craig Dollansky; 9. Jason Meyers; 10. Jac Haudenschild; 11. Sam Hafertepe Jr.; 12. Ben Gregg; 13. Kraig Kinser; 14. Sammy Swindell; 15. Chad Kemenah; 16. Erin Crocker; 17. Brian Ellenberger; 18. Toni Lutar; 19. Matt Linder; 20. Jeff Taylor; 21. Ed Lynch Jr.; 22. Bob Howard; 23. Jack Helget

Did not finish: Tim Perry