A quick summer storm Tuesday afternoon couldn't stop the action at Round Three of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series. Sir Purr, of the Carolina Panthers, ran away with the win in the Mascot Mania go-kart race and Daniel Hemric picked up his second win in a row in the Legends Car Pro division, while Ryan Mackintosh won the Legends Car Semi-Pro race.

Dodge balls and fur were flying, Mario Kart-style, when the mascots took the track. Monkey Joe, of Monkey Joe's Party and Play Center, led the field to the green but Sir Purr quickly overtook him. As the field tried to chase down Sir Purr, caution flew for a spin by Tim E. Gator of the Kannapolis Intimidators.

After the caution, the field was inverted to intensify the mascot racing action. The battle raged early between Lug Nut, Chubby Checker, of the Charlotte Checkers, and Monkey Joe, but Sir Purr surpassed them all and went on to score the win. The final finishing order at the line was Sir Purr; followed by Lug Nut; Chubby Checker; Monkey Joe; Bristol Motor Speedway's Run; Lugette; Bump, also of Bristol Motor Speedway; the Charlotte Bobcats' Rufus Lynx; and Tim E. Gator rounding out the field.

In the Legend Car Pro division, Zane Smith led the field to the green, but it was soon a three-wide battle for the lead with Hemric and Joey Padgett. Smith maintained the lead until lap 4, when Padgett climbed to the front of the field. The caution flag flew on lap 5, as Ryan Shattuck spun in turn four.

On the restart Evan Swilling captured the point position. Swilling would lead until Tyler Green took over on lap 10. Green led until lap 22, when he had a mechanical issue and had to pull off the track, relinquishing the lead to Hemric. Hemric, of Kannapolis, N.C., remained in the lead the rest of the way in a race that had a total of six cautions. Evan Swilling finished second, followed by Kaz Grala, Justin Swilling and Clayton Weatherman.

In the Legend Car Semi-Pro division, Mackintosh, of Kannapolis, N.C., pulled away with his second victory in the 2013 Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series.

Mackintosh started the race in fourth place, with Matt Wallace leading the pack.

After taking the lead on a lap 2 restart, Mackintosh maintained the point position throughout most of the race. Even though racing was halted for a total of eight cautions, Mackintosh managed to stay out of the on-track mashups and pulled away from the rest of the field. The race ended on lap 17 after the engine of Austin Langenstein's car blew up on the frontstretch.

Crossing the finish line second was Josh Turner, followed by Jacob Schneider. Jay Coen and Riley Thornton also made the top five.

Other winners included Tom Pistone, of Mooresville, N.C.; in the Security Force Legend Car Masters division; Connor Pyle, of Concord, N.C., in the Legend Car Young Lions division; and Kayla Lyons, of Rock Hill, S.C., in the Beginner Bandits. The Bandolero Bandit and Bandolero Outlaw features were postponed to next week, June 25, due to wet track conditions.

The 20th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, June 25, with Media Mayhem bus racing. In addition to the regular racing divisions, fans can see local TV and radio personalities go head-to-head in 13-ton school buses for a spectacular school bus slobberknocker.

Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with preliminary action starting at 5:10 p.m. Opening ceremonies are at 6:45 p.m. and feature races are scheduled to conclude by approximately 10 p.m.

Racing will be televised on the Fox Sports South network, with a recap show airing each Monday following the event at 6 p.m. and a re-air on the following Saturday. Fans should check their local listings for more information.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit www.charlottemotorspeedway.com.

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at www.twitter.com/CLTMotorSpdwy or become a Facebook fan at www.facebook.com/charlottemotorspeedway.

The unofficial results:

Legend Car Pro Feature (30 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. Evan Swilling; 3. Kaz Grala; 4. Justin Swilling; 5. Clayton Weatherman; 6. Joey Padgett; 7. Steven Cantrell; 8. Zane Smith; 9. Ryan Shattuck; 10. Jordan Black; 11. Tyler Lester; 12. Kason Plott; 13. Gregory Lang; 14. Tyler Green; 15. T.J. Michael.

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (30 laps): 1. Tom Pistone; 2. Robby Faggart; 3. Bruce Silver; 4. Jan Ingram; 5. John Craig; 6. Rodney Tharp; 7. Shawn Geisel; 8. Scott Whitaker; 9. Eddie Harwell; 10. Chip Ferguson; 11. Carl Cormier; 12. Jody Folice; 13. Jamie Smith.

Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (17 laps): 1. Ryan Mackintosh; 2. Joshua Turner; 3. Jacob Schneider; 4. Jay Coen; 5. Riley Thornton; 6. Jordan Stillwell; 7. Hayden Reeves; 8. Joe Ryan Osborne; 9. Craig Biryla, 10. Adam Welch; 11. Matt Wallace; 12. Tyler Truex; 13. Joshua Plummer; 14. Austin Reed; 15. Joshua Brimecombe; 16. Riley Halverson; 17. Luke Demis; 18. Devon Amos; 19. Austin Langenstein; 20. Dylan Barbosa; 21. Tyler Hanberry; 22. Enrique Contreras; 23. Bronson Butcher; 24. Ethan McMillon; 25. Shelden Crouse.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Connor Pyle; 2. Michael Torres; 3. Jared Irvan; 4. Stevie Johns Jr. 5. Matt Craig; 6. Dillion Faggart; 7. Tripp Gerrald III; 8. Payton Ryan; 9. Carson Ferguson; 10. Doug Barnes; 11. William Byron; 12. A.J. Davis; 13. Seth Werner; 14. Jordan Mander; 15. Stefan Parsons; 16. Trent Barnes.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Kayla Lyons; 2. Nick MacMillon; 3. Isabella Robusto; 4. Matthew Eades; 5. Joshua Kossek; 6. William Robusto.