It was a spectacular Champion’s Night at the 19th Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series as NASCAR driver Kyle Busch and NHRA driver Doug Herbert waved the green flag on the final round of the prestigious Legend Car and Bandolero series, Tuesday. Tyler Green, Tyler Hill, Layton Sullivan and Austin Green were among the season champions at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Steven Cantrell, of Concord, N.C., brought home the Round 10 victory in the Quaker Steak and Lube Legends Car Pro division feature.

Cantrell started on the outside of the front row, but fell back to fourth shortly after the green flag waved. Matt Pappa charged from the second row to take the lead on the first lap, until Tyler Green muscled past on lap 5. Cantrell made his way into second place by lap 6, then began to pressure Green. Green held him off until lap 16, when Cantrell slid past to take the lead. Two laps later, the race was red flagged when Pappa lost his engine in Turn 3. Cantrell led the field the rest of the way, Green finished second and Gray Gaulding picked up third.

Green had a 15-point lead heading into the feature race over Justin Swilling and clinched his second Pro division championship.

NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro points leader Tyler Hill, of Port Tobacco, Md., had a 53-point advantage leading into the final round of the Summer Shootout and avoided trouble to claim a sixth place finish in Round 10 and the season title.

Hill led six laps midway through the 20-lap feature before Ryan Mackintosh, of Kannapolis, N.C., took the top spot for the final 10 laps and took the checkered flag.

Amber Colvin, coming off a victory in Round Nine, finished behind Mackintosh, with Joey Mucciacciaro following behind in third.

Layton Sullivan, of Gaffney, S.C., entered the evening just 12 points ahead of Tyler Lester leading into the final Bandolero Outlaws feature of the year.

The two stayed close together for most of the night, remaining near the front of the pack. On the restart after a lap 15 caution, Seth Werner, Dylan Smith and Sullivan battled for the lead, going three wide on the backstretch and into Turn 3. Smith and Werner got together and Sullivan took advantage, pulling away with the lead out of Turn 4. Once Sullivan was out front, no one could stop him as he drove on for the win. Tyler Farris finished second and Lester took third.

Sullivan’s victory allowed him to secure his first career Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series Bandolero Outlaws championship.

It was a familiar finish in the Bandolero Bandits feature, with Austin Green, of Concord, N.C., claiming his ninth win in 10 races at this year’s Summer Shootout Series and taking home his first series championship.

In other feature action, John Sossoman, of New London, N.C., scored his first victory of the season in the Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters division while Brian Weimer, of Cumming, Ga., clinched the division championship. In the Legend Car Young Lions division, Trey Jarrell, of Martinsville, Va., claimed his second victory of the season, while Chase Dowling, of Roxbury, Conn., clinched his first Summer Shootout Series championship title. Ryleigh Lemonds, of York County, Va., claimed her first career Summer Shootout Series Beginner Bandits victory. The Beginner Bandits do not race for points, so no champion was crowned in that division.

Championship point standings are unofficial pending post-race inspection and point tabulation by race officials.

The night also featured a 25-lap showdown of Bowman Gray Stadium Stocks beating and banging around the frontstretch quarter-mile oval.

Andrew Durham pulled away in the early going, leading five laps before an eight-car pileup brought out the caution and bunched the field back together. On the restart, Kenny Bost pulled to the front of the field. After Tyler Burke spun on Lap 17, the top five drivers in the field were inverted for an eight-lap shootout to the checkered. Chris Lawing led the field to the green flag, but was passed two laps later by Jimmy Absher.

Absher, of Rural Hall, N.C., who started the race at the back of the pack, held on for the win, with Durham and Lawing rounding out the top three.

While the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series has come to a close, racing continues with the O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Nationals Sept. 14-16 at zMAX Dragway and the Bank of America 500 Oct. 13 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Tickets for all fall events are available by calling 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visiting

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at or become a Facebook fan at

Unofficial Round 10 Results:

Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Steven Cantrell; 2. Tyler Green; 3. Gray Gaulding; 4. Daniel Hemric; 5. CJ Hulsey; 6. Justin  Swilling; 7. Brian Ouimette; 8. Matt Pappa.

Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. John Sossoman; 2. Carl Cormier; 3. Jamie Smith; 4. Brian Weimer; 5. Todd Bolin; 6. Kevin Aube; 7. Chris Coker; 8. Shawn Geisel; 9. Mark Moskowitz; 10. Jeff Green; 11. Tom Pistone; 12. Mark Green; 13. Bruce Silver; 14. Eddie Harwell; 15. John Farguson; 16. Jon Craig.

NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Ryan Mackintosh; 2. Amber Colvin; 3. Joey Mucciacciaro; 4. Myatt Snider; 5. Joe Ryan Osborne; 6. Tyler Hill; 7. Adam Burton; 8. Spencer Boyd; 9. Dylan Smith; 10. Austin Reed; 11. Julia Landauer; 12. Jake Weidie; 13. RS Senter; 14. Austin Langenstein; 15. Tyler Goodwin; 16. Jake Spillers; 17. David Garbo Jr.; 18. Cody Ware.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Trey Jarrell; 2. Ryan Payton; 3. Brayton Haws; 4. Kaz Grala; 5. Carson Ferguson; 6. Conner Pyle; 7. Chase Dowling; 8. Reid Wilson; 9. Joey Padgett; 10. Doug Barnes; 11. Riley Halverson; 12. Walker Yates; 13. Jacob Schneider; 14. Jared Irvan; 15. Aidan Landauer; 16. Dylan Faggart; 17. Joshua Plummer; 18. Trent Barnes; 19. Brenden Queen; 20. Ryan Shattuck; 21. AJ Davis; 22. Austin Cindric; 23. Jordan Mander.

Bandoleros Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Layton Sullivan; 2. Tyler Farris; 3. Tyler Lester; 4. Nicholas Ceraolo; 5. Jordan Locklear; 6. Ashley Caldwell; 7. Eric Brown; 8. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 9. Seth Werner; 10. Nate Tretow; 11. Teigan Deluca; 12. Dylan Smith; 13. Jordan Plummer; 14. Jacob Heafner; 15. Craig Biryla; 16. Alex Reece; 17. Stefan Parsons; 18. Sprout Royal; 19. Daniel Bedford; 20. Scott Joy; 21. Tal Davidson; 22. Dakota Ratcliff; 23. John Kuczmarski; 24. Hannah Bell.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Austin Green; 2. John “Matt” Murphy; 3. Cason Werner; 4. Kodie Conner; 5. Dawson Cram; 6. Austin Powell; 7. Banks Johnson; 8. Enzo Fittipaldi; 9. Carson Ware; 10. DJ Canipe; 11. Liz Montgomery; 12. Jack Fread; 13. Zachary Dabbs; 14. Nick Craig.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 Laps): 1. Ryleigh Lemonds; 2. Brayden Mander; 3. Casey Kirwan; 4. Sierra Brandt; 5. Richie Kuty; 6. Brayde Miranda; 7. Grayson Bunrick.