Racing was fierce under an almost full moon at Round Eight of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series presented by IKEA. Gregory Lang, Joe Ryan Osborne and Cason Werner took home wins, among others.

In the First Responders School Bus Slobberknocker, the EMS beat out local police and fire departments. Scott Honeycutt, of Cabarrus County EMS, edged Jeremy Brown out of the lead on the last lap of the race. Brown, of the Kannapolis Fire Department, was ahead of the pack for much of the race.

It did not look like his lead would be contested until the last lap. Honeycutt and Jennifer Hyatt, of the Kannapolis Police Department, were not worried about maintaining safety when they attempted to flip Brown over in Turn 1. Brown tried to regain the lead but was forced to take second place.

Tyler Green started from the pole in the Legends Car Pro division. The first challenge to his lead was on lap 14, when Daniel Hemric closed the gap after starting in fourth. They battled side-by-side for the lead for several laps, until a caution flew for Steven Cantrell, who spun in Turn 2 on lap 21. On lap 23, Evan Swilling and Lang brought out the yellow flag. After several more cautions and a single-file restart, Lang moved to the front and claimed his second career Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series victory. Hemric finished second, Joey Padgett finished third, Cantrell in fourth and Evan Swilling in fifth.

The field was set for the Semi-Pro division on double points night when Adam Welch led the field to the green flag. With a rocky start to the race because of several big wrecks within the first few laps, points leader Ryan Mackintosh took the lead on lap 9. Mackintosh pulled away from the field but Osborne, of Kannapolis, N.C., methodically tracked him down lap after lap. Osborne overtook Mackintosh on lap 22 and never looked back, to take his third win of the season in the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series. He was followed by Jay Coen in second, Luke Demis in third, Sheldon Crouse in fourth, and Bronson Butcher rounding out the top five.

The Bandolero Bandits points leader, Werner took his third win of the season. Werner, of Iron Station, N.C., started fourth after the invert and pushed his way to the lead on lap 18.

For much of the race, it looked as though Dawson Cram would take the win after securing the top spot on the second lap. Werner and Zachary Dabbs were left to battle for second throughout the feature. However, it was Werner who took the second spot after each of the two cautions and eventually the win.

Werner's victory left Cram to take the second spot. Dabbs finished in third, with Daniel Wilk and Justin Taylor rounding out the top five.

Other winners included Stefan Parsons, of Cornelius, N.C., in the Legend Car Young Lions division; Tom Pistone, of Mooresville, N.C., in the Security Force Legend Car Masters division; Jacob Brumagin, of Ismo, S.C., in the Bandolero Outlaws; and Hunter Jarrett, of Easley, S.C., in the Beginner Bandits.

The 20th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Monday, July 29, with bus racing and the AutoFair car cruise and on Tuesday, July 30, with Champion's Night, fireworks and Bowman Gray Stadium Stocks, in addition to regular Legend Car and Bandolero racing divisions.

Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with preliminary action starting at 5:10 p.m.

Opening ceremonies are at 6:45 p.m. and feature races are scheduled to conclude by approximately 10 p.m.

Racing will be televised on the Fox Sports South network, with a recap show airing each Monday following the event at 6 p.m. and a re-air on the following Saturday. Fans should check their local listings for more information.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at or become a Facebook fan at

The unofficial results:

Legend Car Pro Feature (30 Laps): 1. Gregory Lang; 2. Daniel Hemric; 3. Joey Padgett; 4. Steven Cantrell; 5. Evan Swilling; 6. Ryan Shattuck; 7. Jordan Black; 8. Tyler Green; 9. Reid Wilson; 10. Justin Swilling; 11. Zane Smith; 12. Kaz Grala; 13. Kason Plott; 14. Clayton Weatherman; 15. Tyler Lester; 16. Mackena Bell.

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (30 laps) 1. Tom Pistone; 2. Carl Cormier; 3. Scott Whitaker; 4. Robby Faggart; 5. Rodney Tharp; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Jody Folice; 8. Shawn Geisel; 9. Eddie Harwell; 10. Bruce Silver; 11. Jamie Smith; 12. John Craig; 13. Chip Ferguson; 14. David Fulk; 15. Carlos Moore.

Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (30 laps) 1. Joe Ryan Osborne; 2. Jay Coen; 3. Luke Demis; 4. Sheldon Crouse; 5. Bronson Butcher; 6. Riley Halverson; 7. Billy Webb; 8. Joe Gregory; 9. JoJo Helberg; 10. Adam Wlech; 11. Joshua Plummer; 12. Tyler Hanberry; 13. Craig Biryla; 14. Ryan Mackintosh; 15. Joshua Turner; 16. Matt Wallace; 17. Dylan Barbosa; 18. Austin Langenstein; 19. Ethan McMillon; 20. Devon Amos; 21. Jordan Stillwell.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (21 Laps): 1. Stefan Parsons; 2. Dillon Faggart; 3. William Byron; 4. Jared Irvan; 5. Stevie Johns Jr.; 6. Brayton Haws; 7. Michael Torres; 8. Seth Werner; 9. Matt Craig; 10. Tripp Gerrald III; 11. AJ Davis; 12. Michael Womack; 13. Doug Barnes; 14. Trent Barnes; 15. Alex Murray; 16. Connor Pyle; 17. Austin Cindric; 18. Carson Ferguson.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (15 laps) 1. Jacob Brumagin; 2. Nate Tretow; 3. Tal Davidson; 4. Chase Purdy; 5. Jacob Heafner; 6. Alex Reece; 7. Nicholas Ceraolo; 8. Jordan Plummer; 9. Eric Brown; 10. Scott Joy; 11. Austin Green; 12. Sprout Royal; 13. Hannah Bell; 14. Banks Johnson; 15. John Holleman; 16. Daniel Bedford; 17. Casey Kirwan; 18. Ashley Caldwell; 19. Matthew Davey; 20. Jack Fread; 21. Ivan Gudmestad; 22. Dakota Ratcliff; 23. Kayla Lyons; 24. Miguel Cesar; 25. Austin Powell.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 Laps): 1. Cason Werner; 2. Dawson Cram; 3. Zachary Dabbs; 4. Daniel Wilk; 5. Justin Taylor; 6. Kamera McDonald; 7. DJ Canipe; 8. Ryleigh Lemonds; 9. Hayden Humprey; 10. Liz Montgomery; 11. Noah Ewing; 12. Richard Kuty; 13. Brayde Miranda; 14. Grayson Bundrick; 15. Blake Cisneros; 16. Enzo Fittipaldi; 17. Braydn Mander.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (15 laps) 1. Hunter Jarrett; 2. Trevor Rizzo; 3. Joshua Kossek; 4. Isabella Robusto; 5. William Robusto; 6. Carson Kvapil; 7. Henry Broadbent; 8. Matthew Eades.