Round Four of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series featured wet and wild racing, fantastic photo finishes and plenty of wrecks on the frontstretch quarter-mile at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Austin Hill, Brayton Haws and Tyler Lester were among Tuesday night’s feature race winners.

For the second round in a row, any one of top five cars had a chance to win in the closing laps of the Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Pro feature. In the end it was Hill, of Winston, Ga., who came out on top to take the checkers in the 20-lap race.

Hill started on the outside pole but had the lead going into Turn 1 and put a gap on the field. By lap 8, Dennis Kiser closed in, bringing Tyler Green with him. Kiser wanted to go for the lead, but Green wouldn’t let him as the two battled for second, allowing Hill to stay out front. Within a few laps, Sean Rayhall, Daniel Hemric and Gray Gaulding threw their hats into the fight for the runner-up position.

On lap 13, Darrell Wallace, Jr. spun in Turn 2, bringing out the only caution of the race. The fierce competition continued as all fought to track down Hill. Hemric made multiple attempts, trying moves to the inside and outside, even putting moves on Hill’s bumper, but couldn’t make anything hold. Hemric’s final attempt sent his own car into the grass as Hill cruised on for the win. Rayhall and Gaulding raced side-by-side for second, but Rayhall would ultimately take the position.

It was Haws by a nose in the Legend Car Young Lion division feature race. Haws, of Youngsville, N.C., beat Andy Hogan across the line by just a fraction of a second following a green-white-checkered finish. Hogan led every lap of the feature until the final restart when he and Haws raced side-by-side until Haws pulled ahead in the final corner to steal his first win at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The race, run on a slightly damp track, was marred by only three cautions. Reid Wilson rounded out the top three.

In the Bandolero Outlaw feature, Lester of Dallas, N.C., took the win after the race was shortened to just 18 laps due to rain.

Starting in the sixth position, Lester quickly worked his way through the field to take the lead from Jacob Heafner on lap 8 as the two were coming out of Turn 3. Lester pulled away from the field, leaving Heafner to battle with Seth Werner for second place. Werner was able to come out ahead of Heafner to take the runner-up position as Lester claimed the easy victory.

In the Faster Pastor school bus race, Andrew Brown, with Hawthorne Lane United Methodist Church in Charlotte, N.C., took the win.

Brian Hancock, with Franklin Baptist Church in Salisbury, N.C., led the race until a caution for a flat tire on the bus of Evan Alberton, with Central Church of God in Charlotte, came out.

The field was inverted on the restart, putting Buddy Compton with Sons of Thunder Ministry on the pole. In the end, Brown battled to get the win. Hancock finished second and Compton crossed the line in the third.

Rounding out the finishing order was Jeffery Rushing, with Westford United Methodist Church in Concord; Alan Wright, with JoyFM; Lonnie Clouse, with Motor Racing Outreach; Jonathan Blankenship, with Laurel
Baptist Church in Charlotte; and Albertyn.

Other winners of the night included David Garbo, Jr., of Stonington, Conn., in the NOS Energy Semi-Pro feature, Tom Pistone, of Mooresville, N.C., in the Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters feature, Austin Green, of Concord, N.C., in the Bandolero Bandits feature and Hayden Humphrey, of Cornelius, N.C., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits feature.

The 19th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, July 17, with lawn mower racing. In addition to the regular racing divisions, fans can see some country’s best lawn mower racers compete on the frontstretch quarter-mile oval. Plus, it’s 70s and 80s Night. Fans are encouraged to wear their favorite gear from either decade. The first 1,000 fans through the gates get a free Frisbee courtesy of Jack in the Box.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with opening ceremonies at 7 p.m. Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series or Legends Big Money 100, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at or become a Facebook fan at

The unofficial Round Four results:

Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Pro Round Feature (20 laps): 1. Austin Hill; 2. Sean Rayhall; 3. Gray Gaulding; 4. Tyler Green; 5. Kyle Plott; 6. Jake Cole; 7. Matt Pappa; 8. Gregory Lang; 9. Daniel Hemric; 10. Kyle Weatherman; 11. Dennis Kiser; 12. Darrell Wallace Jr.; 13. Trey Eidson; 14. Justin Swilling. 

Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters Round Feature (20 laps): 1. Tom Pistone; 2. Brian Weimer; 3. Eddie Harwell; 4. Jan Ingram; 5. Jamie Smith; 6. John Ferguson; 7. Carl Cormier; 8. Bruce Silver; 9. Scott Whitaker; 10. Chris Coker; 11. Todd Bolin.

NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (15 laps): 1. David Garbo Jr; 2. Tyler Hill; 3. Spencer Boyd; 4. Jake Spillers; 5. Joey Mucciacciaro; 6. Joe Ryan Osborne; 7. Garrett Smithley; 8. RS Senter; 9. Adam Burton; 10. Austin Langenstein; 11. Erik Nash; 12. Amber Colvin; 13.  Ryan Mackintosh; 14. Kevin Donahue; 15. Tyler Goodwin; 16. Dylan Smith; 17. Kevin Ellison; 18. Shawn Geisel; 19. Cody Ware; 20. Billy Webb; 21. Austin Allen; 22. Austin Reed; 23. Drew Sciranko; 24. Myatt Snider; 25. Zack Skolnick; 26. Jordan Stillwell.

Legend Car Young Lions Round Feature (21 laps): 1. Brayton Haws; 2. Andy Hogan; 3. Reid Wilson; 4. Austin Cindric; 5. Jared Irvan; 6. Riley Thornton; 7. Kason Plott; 8. Aiden Landauer; 9. Doug Barnes; 10. Joey Padgett; 11. Madeline Crane; 12. Clayton Weatherman; 13. Ryan Shattuck; 14. Trey Jarrell II; 15. Kaz Grala; 16. Tyler Janocha; 17. Steven Johns; 18. Chase Dowling; 19. Conner Pyle; 20. Payton Ryan; 21. Jeffrey Stanton; 22. Joshua Plummer; 23. Tyler Audie; 24. Riley Halverson; 25. Jacob Schneider; 26. Kyle Donahue; 27. AJ Davis.

Bandolero Outlaws Round Feature (17 laps): 1. Tyler Lester; 2. Seth Werner; 3. Jacob Heafner; 4. Stefan Parsons; 5. Dylan Smith; 6. Layton Sullivan; 7. Dakota Ratcliff; 8. Alex Reece; 9. Craig Biryla; 10. Ashley Caldwell; 11.Tyler Farris; 12. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 13. John Kuczmarski; 14. Jordan Locklear; 15. Teigan Deluca; 16. Jonnie Varga; 17. Hannah Bell; 18. Scott Joy; 19. Eric Brown; 20. Jordan Plummer; 21. Nicholas Ceraolo; 22. Tal Davidson.

Bandolero Bandits Round Feature (20 laps): 1. Austin Green; 2. Kodie Conner; 3. Austin Powell; 4. Cason Werner; 5. Zachary Dabbs; 6. Dawson Cram; 7. Banks Johnson; 8. Hunter Richards; 9. Enzo Fittipaldi; 10. Austin Jonocah; 11. Sam Audie; 12. Jack Fread.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Round Feature (20 laps): 1. Hayden Humphrey; 2. Elizabeth Montgomery; 3. DJ Canipe; 4. Derrik Wilk; 5. Brayden Mander; 6. Kasey Kirwin; 7. Richie Kuty; 8. Brayde Miranda; 9. Grayson Bunrick.