STEWART HONORED – NASCAR Sprint Cup Series defending champion Tony Stewart is an avid outdoorsman who loves to hunt and fish. Saturday at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Bass Pro Shops founder Johnny Morris and National Wild Turkey Federation CEO George Thornton recognized his commitment to the outdoors with a seven-foot-tall brass-and-wood statue. Stewart will pilot a special National Wild Turkey Foundation paint scheme in tonight’s NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race.

It was also announced that Stewart will serve as the official spokesperson for National Hunting and Fishing Day on Sept. 29.

“I can’t think of anybody better prepared or with more spirit in his heart to be the spokesman for the National Hunting and Fishing Day,” Thornton said. “Tony walks the talk, lives the life and is a good steward of his land, and we’re proud to be associated with him.”

For Stewart, who owns a farm in his hometown of Columbus, Ind., and hosts an annual youth hunt on his property, being associated with Bass Pro Shops and the National Wild Turkey Federation has been a blessing.

“Without Johnny, I probably never would have owned the land that I have,” Stewart said. “As much as we love racing, you have to balance it with something that’s a little slower pace at times. And I’ve been fishing with him, not sure it’s any slower pace because we’re so competitive with each other. But to be an ambassador like this, with our passion for the outdoors, it’s just an honor to represent National Hunting and Fishing Day and the National Wild Turkey Federation. I’m probably more nervous about this than I have been about anything in a long time just because it’s something that’s close to my heart too.”

WORLDWIDE APPEAL – Charlotte Motor Speedway will become a world destination over the next 8 days, hosting race fans from all 50 states, eight countries and more than 3,500 cities worldwide.

TOP 5 FOR SPRINT FAN VOTE - As voting neared completion for tonight’s NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, over 2.34 million votes had been registered. The top five drivers receiving votes (in alphabetical order) were A.J. Allmendinger, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Bobby Labonte, Joey Logano and Martin Truex Jr.