NATIONWIDE PRACTICE RECAP: Joey Logano topped the NASCAR Nationwide Series speed charts Wednesday at Charlotte Motor Speedway, posting a fast lap of 30.295 seconds (178.247 mph). Rookie Alex Bowman, who grabbed the pole last month at Texas, was second with a lap of 30.325 seconds (178.071 mph). Kyle Busch was third at 30.360 seconds (177.866 mph).

LEGENDS RACE NOTABLES: Racing's up-and-coming stars will take center stage tonight, as the country's best Legend Car car drivers will hit the track immediately after LiftMaster Pole Night at Charlotte Motor Speedway for the first Legends All-Star event.

The Legend Car racers started their week with practice and qualifying on the frontstrech quarter-mile oval Tuesday, with Tyler Green taking the top spot. Green, the son of NASCAR driver Mark Green and nephew of Nationwide Series champions David and Jeff Green, turned a lap around the short track in 17.097 seconds. He was followed by Doug Stevens, a five-time Pro Series champion at Atlanta Motor Speedway's Thursday Thunder Series, who had a lap of 17.138 seconds. Kaz Grala, a 14-year-old driver from Boston, was third with 17.153 seconds.

The top 20 qualifiers from Tuesday are locked in, while the remaining 25 drivers will compete in a hooligan race for the chance to race in the night's big event. The top 10 finishers will transfer to the main event, a 40-lap finale featuring a $10,000 purse, with $2,500 to the winner. The winner will also be introduced on stage during Sunday's Coca-Cola 600 pre-race events. 

CARDINALE WINS SPIRIT AWARD: The National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) announced that the late Sonoma Raceway Vice President of Media Relations, John Cardinale, had been named the first quarter recipient for its Spirit Award.

Cardinale passed away March 21 after a two-year battle with gastric cancer, but he never lost his enthusiasm, dedication or optimism, all trademarks of a man well respected and greatly missed in the NASCAR and Speedway Motorsports Inc. family.

The NMPA Spirit Award, presented annually since 1992, recognizes character and achievement in the face of adversity, as well as sportsmanship ad contributions to motorsports. At the end of the year, an overall recipient from the four quarterly winners is selected by the NMPA membership.