Stage 1 = 100 Laps

      Stage 2 = 100 Laps/200 Laps

            Stage 3 = 100 Laps/300 Laps

                  Stage 4 = 100 Laps/400 Laps

Stage Racing, Explained:

NASCAR utilizes an enhanced competition format for its trio of national series – the NASCAR Cup Series, the NASCAR Xfinity Series and the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

The format includes:

  • Races consist of multiple stages, with championship implications in each stage.
  • A green-and-white checkered flag is waved following the end of Stages 1 and 2 (and Stage 3 for the Coca-Cola 600) – and the caution flag is unfurled once the top-10 cars or trucks have crossed the start-finish line.
  • The top-10 finishers of the first two stages (three for the Coca-Cola 600) are awarded additional points. Following both Stage 1 and Stage 2 (and Stage 3 for the Coca-Cola 600), points are awarded on a descending scale, with the stage winner receiving 10 points, second receiving 9 points, and so on.
  • The Final Stage produces the race results and awards points across the field with the race winner earning 40 points. Second-place receives 35, third-place 34, fourth-place 33, and so on.
  • Each stage winner earns one playoff point to be used during the postseason, and the race winner receives 5 playoff points.