The Door’s Wide Open: Kyle Busch, an eight-time winner of the North Carolina Education Lottery 200, is not scheduled to participate in this year’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Busch’s absence substantially increases the probability of the race having a new winner as veterans Matt Crafton (2008 & 2016) and Johnny Sauter (2018) are the only current Truck Series regulars who have visited Victory Lane at the storied 1.5-mile superspeedway.

However, that new winner could be one of Busch’s drivers, as Kyle Busch Motorsports will field Toyota Tundras for John Hunter Nemechek, Chandler Smith and Drew Dollar.

Two for Three: GMS Racing, the Statesville, North Carolina-based NASCAR Camping World Truck Series team owned by Allegiant Air Chairman/CEO Maury Gallagher, has won two of the last three editions of the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Johnny Sauter drove a GMS entry to victory in 2018 and Chase Elliott wheeled the No. 24 GMS Racing Chevrolet Silverado as he charged from the 26th starting spot to win here a year ago.

GMS Racing is expected to field trucks for defending series champion Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, Chase Purdy, Tyler Ankrum and Raphael Lessard.

Fifth Entry for ThorSport: Ty Majeski, a Wisconsin short-track sensation who won the 2019 General Tire 150 ARCA Menards Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, is scheduled to drive the No. 66 Toyota Tundra fielded by ThorSport Racing in the North Carolina Education Lottery 200.

Majeski, 28, ran 15 Truck Series races last season for Niece Motorsports, recording a trio of top-10 finishes. He ended up 22nd in the 2020 edition of the North Carolina Education Lottery 200.

ThorSport Racing, which is headquartered in Sandusky, Ohio, will also field trucks for Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton, Christian Eckes and Ben Rhodes.