A photo finish and a smoke-billowing burnout contest thrilled the crowd in Tuesday's seventh round of the Bojangles' Summer Shootout at Charlotte Motor Speedway. On First Responders Night presented by Disconnect and Drive, a burnout contest among two members of area police  - Cabarrus County Sheriff Van Shaw and Maj. Bobby Ledwell from the Concord Police Department - set the stage for a first-place battle in the Boston Reid Real Estate Pro division feature that kept fans on their feet as the laps wound down.

Davis Rochester dropped the hammer on the field on Tuesday night. Rochester's No. 97 Legend Car asserted its dominance in the early going of the 25-lap feature and appeared to have the victory in hand before a caution with one lap to go bunched up the field and gave points leader Carson Ferguson one final shot at Rochester.

He took the shot. Ferguson slotted in behind Rochester entering Turn 1 but couldn't complete the pass through Turn 2. As the leaders entered Turn 3, Ferguson dove to the inside and dueled side-by-side with Rochester coming to the finish line, but Rochester held on for his first win of the season by a razor-thin 0.036 seconds.

"I knew (Ferguson) was going to push me hard into Turn 1," Rochester said after the race. "I drove it in way too deep and he kind of got to my inside. I knew he was coming at me again in 3 so I sort of braced myself.

"I was trying to hold on and hopefully not go more than one groove up. It was great racing. I'm glad he didn't just send me. He raced me clean."

Mark Green wired the field in the Twenty-Six Acres Brewing Company Masters division feature, keeping a hard-charging title rival Robby Faggart behind him for the balance of the 25-lap race. Faggart tracked down Green in the final circuits, but Green's dwindling advantage was more strategy than circumstance.

"You only have to beat them by half a foot, so I was just trying to keep the pace and take care of the car for the last few laps," Green said.

Janson Marchbanks bagged his second consecutive PMG Young Lions triumph after Zack Miracle's last-turn bid for victory fell 0.241 seconds short at the line.

"Farbo Motorsports does a great job setting this thing up and getting it to turn through the corner," Marchbanks said. "It doesn't get any better than that."

Braden Rogers collected a hotly contested VP Racing Fuels Semi-Pro feature after a wild battle for the win among Rogers, points leader Jason Alder and fellow championship contender Gracie Trotter. With one lap to go, Rogers nudged Alder and got beside him entering Turn 1 - but Trotter dove to the inside of both cars and appeared to have the best shot at victory.

Instead, Trotter's car made contact with Rogers', sending Trotter's red-and-white No. 11 flipping. Trotter was unhurt. U.S. Legend Cars officials named Rogers the winner ahead of Alder.

"This is my favorite win, beating the best out there," Rogers said. "I can't thank my family, Farbo Motorsports, everyone watching me, enough for their support. I just hope it opens the door for me for a late model, a truck, anything."

Farm Bureau Bandolero Outlaws points leader Garin Mash stalked Cameron Murray over the final three laps of Tuesday's feature, but Mash couldn't find a way past Murray's blue-and-DayGlo-red No. 04 Bandolero.

"I just had to hit my marks, make sure everything was right and come out on top," Murray said. "It's awesome to finally get a win. I've been racing here for three years."

Luke Morey was sent to the rear of the field in the final two laps of the the K1 RaceGear Bandolero Bandits feature after contact with Layton Harrison while the two battled for the lead. Truett Miranda restarted up front and held on in the final circuits to snare his first victory of the season.

"I was shocked," Miranda said after he inherited the lead under unexpected circumstances. "I just had to hold the inside line and floor it."

Payton Johnson claimed Tuesday night's Beginner Bandolero feature ahead of Jonathan Pedano.

Next Tuesday's Bojangles' Summer Shootout on July 23 presented by iFLY features a thrilling Faster Pastor school bus slobberknocker on the frontstretch quarter-mile.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with opening ceremonies scheduled for 6:15 p.m.

Tickets, which cost only $8 for adults and are FREE for kids 13 and under, can be purchased at the gate or in advance by calling 800-455-FANS or online at www.charlottemotorspeedway.com/tickets.

Follow all the thrilling Bojangles' Summer Shootout action using the hashtags #LetsBoRacing, #WeCreateLegends and #MyTrackMyRoots. Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram or get all the latest news and information with the Charlotte Motor Speedway mobile app.


Unofficial Results:

Boston Reid Real Estate Pro (25 Laps): 1. Davis Rochester; 2. Carson Ferguson; 3. Daniel Wilk; 4. Joey Padgett; 5. Ryan Mackintosh; 6. Caleb Heady; 7. Bubba Wallace; 8. Reid Wilson; 9. Vince Midas; 10. Harrison Halder; 11. Bryson Ruff; 12. Daniel Silvestri; 13. Gus Dean; 14. Jason Simmons; 15. Hudson Halder

Twenty-Six Acres Brewing Company Masters (25 Laps): 1. Mark Green; 2. Robby Faggart; 3. Tom Pistone; 4. Todd Midas; 5. Carl Cormier; 6. Dwayne Holder; 7. Jan Ingram; 8. Craig Bruce; 9. Jon Craig; 10. Danny Cisson; 11. Charles Parker; 12. Jeff Knight

PMG Young Lions (25 Laps): 1. Janson Marchbanks; 2. Zack Miracle; 3. Landon Rapp; 4. Jaiden Reyna; 5. Sam Butler; 6. Austin Macdonald; 7. Tommy Good; 8. Kade Brown; 9. Jake Bollman; 10. Conner Jones; 11. Jake Waltman; 12. William Cox; 13. Jason Chapman; 14. Ethan Norfleet; 15. Christina Pedano; 16. Lacy Kuehl; 17. David Sullivan; 18. Molly Lindner; 19. Tyler Chapman

VP Racing Fuel Semi-Pro (24 Laps): 1. Braden Rogers; 2. Jason Alder; 3. Di Canipe; 4. Landen Lewis; 5. Isabella Robusto; 6. Craig Biryla; 7. Nick Craig; 8. Blake Lothian; 9. Justin Gareis; 10. Austin Saunders; 11. Dacin Roberson; 12. Toni Breidinger; 13. Carson Poindexter; 14. Daniel Knight; 15. Garrett Lowe; 16. William Robusto; 17. Joshua Plummer; 18. Hayden Swank; 19. Jordan Plummer; 20. Gracie Trotter; 21. Adam Welch; 22. Rajah Caruth; 23. Cutter Love; 24. Cole Dockery; 25. Justin Laduke; 26. Justice Calabro

Farm Bureau Bandolero Outlaws (20 Laps): 1. Cameron Murray; 2. Garin Mash; 3. Jadyn Daniels; 4. Parker Eatmon; 5. Trevor Wester; 6. Zac Fowler; 7. Sean Abell; 8. Connor Yonchuk; 9. Carson Ramsey; 10. Skyler Chaney; 11. Natasha Elder; 12. Fran Pedano; 13. Carter Russo; 14. Madison Miracle; 15. Santiago Hill; 16. Logan Clark; 17. Wyatt Philyaw; 18. Whitney Meggs

K1 RaceGear Bandolero Bandits (20 Laps): 1. Truett Miranda; 2. Jacob Bradley; 3. Tristan McKee; 4. Kaleb Bradley; 5. Layton Harrison; 6. Aiden Garcia; 7. Alex Meggs; 8. Luke Morey; 9. Bobby Elder; 10. Nate Honeycutt; 11. Lucas Vera; 12. Kenton Case; 13. Hank Hall

Beginner Bandolero A-Main (15 laps): 1. Payton Johnson; 2. Jonathan Pedano; 3. Chris Kuhn; 4. Colt Johnson; 5. Finn Buckley; 6. Julianna Case; 7. Hunter Jordan; 8. Cal Dejarnett; 9. Seth Helms; 10. Ava Grace Tobias; 11. Alison Johnson; 12. Natalie Richard